We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect”
Review of Kite Hill Yurts

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kite Hill Yurts
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

I wanted a short break for my family of 4. I had been wanting to go away camping for a while, but since my Wife did not want to go camping, I thought hiring a yurt would be a good compromise. We found Kite Hill Yurts on google, and I was immediately impressed by the time they had taken over their web site and the booking process.

There are two yurts on the site. Ours was excellently kitted out with everything you need. Each yurt has a separate hut for cooking and dining, and an outside compost toilet. There is a shared cabin with microwave, honesty shop and shower/washroom facilities. Everything was absolutely immaculate.

For those who have watched too many episodes of 3 in a bed, the compost toilets are brilliant. You do not need to worry about anything. They are far higher standard than most traditional camp site toilets I have been to.

The situation of the site is very secluded indeed, with plenty of space for walks. You can let your children run free and explore without any fear at all. All in all, I would give this top marks. The family owners have a vision of an ecological place to relax, where you are close to nature. They have achived that with some degree of style and character.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
20
15
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

I am a reluctant camper who hadn't been anywhere near a tent/campervan etc for over a decade, but since I now have a little boy who has been getting into the idea of camping recently (thanks, Shirley Hughes and 'Alfie'!), I thought yurts and glamping might be a good way to test the waters, and had been looking for a good time to stay at Kite Hill Yurts. I follow them on Facebook and when there was a late deal we decided to go for it!

So, as a family of complete novice campers, the fact that we found the experience extremely easy and not only enjoyable but wonderfully relaxing, is testament to how well-considered and beautifully designed the site is. However, I think it would have a lot to interest much more experienced campers too, as it offers an usually quiet site (with just two yurts) and a lot of intriguing and inspiring details, such as the sedum roof covered kitchen and dining area (one per yurt) and the information about the history of yurts and the owners' forest garden plans and development - we had never heard of this and when we got home started looking up more about the movement, which is fascinating.

The yurt (Curlew) we stayed in was beautifully carved and decorated, and extremely comfortable and warm. It felt incredibly peaceful and snug, yet opening the door in the morning we were immediately in the middle of the breathtaking Wye valley countryside, with an absolutely amazing view, which you could enjoy while eating at the picnic table or inside the dining area.

The whole site is, as I've said, very well thought-out, with a comfortable shower and toilet facilities, a small shop and books/games/maps to borrow. The materials used for all the building were natural and therefore the entire site is lovely to look at and feels in keeping with the natural surroundings.

Even with all these advantages, I think it is the fact that the owners are so welcoming and clearly committed to the land which made this experience so special. We felt as if we were made truly at home while we were there and I have rarely (never?) felt so relaxed on a weekend break.

All in all, a wonderful introduction to glamping which has made me more confident to glamp and even camp in the future - as well as wanting to return to Kite Hill Yurts itself!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deaineira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

Affordable for glamping and it was worth every penny. Me and my boyfriend had a perfect, peaceful stay and could not recommend it enough! The owners were lovely and welcoming, and the site is very child-friendly. It had clean and appropriate facilities for glamping. The site embodied a way of making you feel 'out there' with nature and had every positive quirk of camping, yet you still felt as if you were at home. 5 stars all round. We will definitely be returning!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brioney B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We had a lovely sunny weekend staying in Skylark for two nights. We enjoyed the hospitality of the family who provided us with beautiful surroundings, immaculately presented facilities with unsurpassed attention to detail. We cooked on the bbq, had lots of family time and play in the extensive grounds and most significantly we had a family and musical photo shoot with Dominic; some of our photos now appear on www.dominiclemoinephotography.co.uk. It was a fantastic experience and we would highly recommend a photo shoot alongside a stay.
We will return again soon as it was a memorable weekend experience; the sheer expanse of moonlit sky alone in the middle of the night was a moment that will stay with us for a long time. Thank you Kate, Dominic and Etienne x

Room Tip: Two private traditional yurts in extensive peaceful surroundings with breathtaking views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Catherine e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

From the welcoming arrival to the helpful goodbye a perfect getaway for any occasion.
We have now stayed in both yurts and can confirm both is as beautiful as the other. The facilities are serious 5 star material and the love and time invested by the owners is evident throughout. A must for any "outdoorsy" folk. We will be back again soon.

Room Tip: Curlew for romantic and Skylark for family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob123454321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Just back from a weekend stay at Kite Hill and cannot rate this place highly enough, simply fantastic in every way and surpassed our expectations ten fold! The location is simply stunning. The yurts are beautiful and furnishing and décor equally so. The facilities are second to none and you have everything you need to be self sufficient here. The owners, Dominic and Kate are just lovely, so friendly, warm, helpful and welcoming. And little Etienne the most adorable little boy. You guys are doing a great job up there in the Welsh hills! For those wanting a peaceful and tranquil weekend in beautiful Wales, I cannot recommend Kite Hill enough. I will definitely be back in the future.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aet1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcestershire, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 20 May 2014 via mobile

What an amazing place, a warm friendly welcome, stunning scenery, peace and quiet and incredibly relaxing. The yurts themselves cozy, well equipped and beautiful. Everything was well thought out and the little touches were the icing on the cake. Would recommend to anyone.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Smile2301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FeanorFromArda, Owner at Kite Hill Yurts, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Hi,

Thank you so much for your review! We're very happy to know how much you liked the yurts.

Kind regards,

Dominic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Builth Wells hotels
5.1 mi away
Pwllgwilym B&B and Barn Holiday Cottages
3.5 mi away
Caer Beris Manor Hotel
Caer Beris Manor Hotel
#1 of 3 in Builth Wells
787 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rhedyn Guesthouse
Rhedyn Guesthouse
#1 of 1 in Cilmeri
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Cedars Guest House
Cedars Guest House
#2 of 3 in Builth Wells
56 reviews
3.4 mi away
Bronwye Guest House
Bronwye Guest House
#3 of 15 in Builth Wells
112 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Everlook Guest House and B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kite Hill Yurts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kite Hill Yurts

Property: Kite Hill Yurts
Address: Old Bedw Near Erwood, Builth Wells LD2 3LQ, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Builth Wells
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Builth Wells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful hillside yurts in Mid Wales. Enjoy the luxury of our small, two-yurts site, surrounded by some of the most beautiful views in Britain.Hovering above the Wye Valley, situated on the long distance Wye Valley Walk and adjoining a 5000 acre moorland it is the perfect getaway for walkers, wildlife enthusiasts and those who enjoy the great outdoors. Each yurt sleeps up to 5. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kite Hill Yurts Builth Wells, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing