We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent food and lovely atmosphere” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Drawing Room

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Builth Wells
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Drawing Room
Ranked #6 of 15 Builth Wells B&B and Inns
UK
Level Contributor
74 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Excellent food and lovely atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013

We stayed at the Drawing Room just after Christmas, via a brilliant offer on Iescape.

We were warmly welcomed on arrival and given tea and cakes by the beautiful log fire. The room we stayed in (Oliver) has a fantastic roll top bath and very comfortable double bed.

The restaurant has a very impressive wine list, considering there is only 4 tables, and the food was everyone has said on this website, was just excellent. Top quality food and presentation. We enjoyed every single course - even the bread was absolutely divine! There's no kettle / tea in the room so make sure you ask for a cup before you leave the dining room at night,. Breakfast is also fantastic - try the homemade museli - it's delicious.

So why four stars and not five? On our first night, we were lucky enough to be the only guests and diners and found the peace and tranquility we very much needed and had hoped for. On the second night, the room next door (Phoebe) was occupied and we found out the sound proofing to be literally non-existant. We could hear every word and movement from the next door - tv, talking etc. If you have considerate neighbours, it shouldn't be a problem. Ours, talking loudly at 3.30am, weren't considerate. I know that rude neighbours aren't the fault of the hosts at all but sleep quality was not great to say the least, and that's fundamentally what we needed from our stay. Had we paid full rate for the room, we would have been very disappointed with the second night.

We would highly recommend the food and atmosphere at the Drawing Room and wouldn't hesitate to recommend a meal there.

Room Tip: Oliver has a roll top bath, however, the sound proofing with the next room (Phoebe) is non-existant...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pontypool1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    17
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
2
87
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rossett, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013

The trip from North Wales on a Friday night was an exhilarating one. The road climbs out of Newtown and is really fun drive and we were so excited about the thought of amazing food and drinks!
Upon arrival Melanie was the perfect host and showed us to our room to freshen up before dinner. Over a leisurely drink we struggled with choice on the menu! Crab salad for both to start followed by lamb for him and duck for me. All perfect. Drinks by the fire after dessert. Excellent.
Otto, our room, was very pleasant with everything we needed and we enjoyed a peaceful night's sleep to prepare ourselves for breakfast! Again, plenty of choice and all delicious.
After a busy day of exploring the Elan Valley we returned to a half bottle of Champagne whilst we readied ourselves for dinner. Colin's food is well-sourced, beautifully presented and delicious, whilst Melanie's service is comforting and perfectly timed.
The Drawing Room is a total gem for relaxation, excellent food and spot-on service. We can't wait to return.

Room Tip: Otto has a short bath with hand held shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mattag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2013

I booked a night for my fiance & I as a little treat & some much needed r&r. I found the drawing room was just what we needed!The rooms are exactly as advertised, the location is so peaceful & the decor was perfect, country-british home chic at its finest. The entire ambiance was calm and lovely. Melanie was a lovely host & very warming, she also had a vogue archive of dreams (she told me that she had some dating back from the 80's). The food was lovely, we're both great foodies but I did find my main meal very large, but perfectly cooked & presented. I wish we could have stayed two nights. I'd highly recommend a stay here to anyone!

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank zara h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013

Lovely small hotel with an excellent restaurant. I was travelling on my own and wouldn't hesitate to recommend this beautiful hotel. The evening meal was delicious and breakfast equally great. My room was very cosy with great quality fixtures and fittings. Melanie and Colin were very friendly and made me feel very comfortable. This is a wonderful oasis to recharge your batteries just a pity I was there less than 24 hrs - nevertheless less lovely. Thank you

Room Tip: Oliver - wonderful bath!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diane F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

The best break. We went for a Babymoon and even though a long drive from Surrey, once we arrived we received such a warm welcome from Melanie and instantly relaxed.
Amazing food, I would say better than some Michelin starred places we've eaten in and the cosiest dining room with great wines.
The service was so warm and friendly and the room Oliver had the most gorgeous bubble bath!
Def want to go back.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KirstyChristie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2013

Wow! Beautiful house and marvelous food. Melanie was a wonderful host and was very helpful and knowledgeable when we enquired about going out for the day. Melanie and Colin have a wonderful eye for decoration. Our evening meals were delightful. We enjoyed sitting by the log fire whilst waiting for our dinner to be prepared.
Melanie suggested that we should drive through the Elan Valley ( to see the Dams) on our day trip to Aberystwyth, very worthwhile! Do try the steam train that runs between Devil's Bridge and Aberystwyth.

Room Tip: We stayed in the beautifully appointed Oliver room. I made the mistake of not asking about a shower...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jlo250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
129 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2013

We stayed in The Drawing Room two nights. The first thing I must mention that you must realise that you have to eat in the restaurant every night, that is the condition of having a room, some sites may not make this clear when you are booking it, such as the one we used, however, the mistake was handled very professionally and nicely by Melanie.
What a wonderful concept and business model. It comes with some rules however, such the opening times but that is not an issue as you go to Wales to be out and about during the day. We really did not realise that we had to come down half an hour prior to the booked time until I read here, however, nothing was said nor was there any attitude towards us. If anything we found Melanie and Colin very friendly and charming indeed. One has to appreciate that this is not a B&B and understand the concept.
Our room was wonderful, the attention to detail, the quality of furnishings and fixtures and the fantastic shower made all the difference. Our neighbour was a very loud snorer and we could hear him from our room but even that did not spoil a very restful and comfortable night.
The main feature is of course the food in The Drawing Room. I could go on for pages and pages describing the food and praising it with hundreds of wonderful words but that will be boring, so I will use three words tasty, beautiful and stunning. Both breakfast and dinner were prepared using clearly the top quality local produce, executed to a very high standard and I could not praise it enough. Excellent choice of international wines. An outstanding dining experience. If I have to add a constructive criticism I would say that the 10% service charge is rather unnecessary or at least it can been included in the price of the dinner, that was the one and only similarity to a main stream hotel or restaurant, otherwise The Drawing Room is a unique and a special experience. One that we look forward to repeating soon...

Room Tip: Going by the standard I am sure all the rooms are very good but we stayed in Phoebe which was small...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ozcmg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Builth Wells
4.3 mi away
Glen Usk Hotel
Glen Usk Hotel
#2 of 3 in Llandrindod Wells
3.5 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
11.2 mi away
Llangoed Hall
Llangoed Hall
#1 of 1 in Llyswen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
2.9 mi away
Cedars Guest House
Cedars Guest House
#2 of 4 in Builth Wells
4.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Caer Beris Manor Hotel
Caer Beris Manor Hotel
#1 of 4 in Builth Wells
4.5 of 5 bubbles 755 reviews
4.3 mi away
Metropole Hotel
Metropole Hotel
#1 of 3 in Llandrindod Wells
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,251 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hotel Commodore
Hotel Commodore
#3 of 3 in Llandrindod Wells
3.5 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Drawing Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Drawing Room

Property: The Drawing Room
Address: The Drawing Rooms The Drawing Rooms Cwmbach, Builth Wells LD2 3RT, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Builth Wells
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Builth Wells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — The Drawing Room 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
The Drawing Room Hotel Builth Wells
The Drawing Room Builth Wells, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing