We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas at Caer Beris Manor”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Caer Beris Manor Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Builth Wells
Certificate of Excellence
Tolleshunt D'Arcy Essex
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Christmas at Caer Beris Manor”
Reviewed 5 January 2012

Just had the most wonderful Christmas at Caer Beris with friends. This truly is a 3 Star hotel with 5 Star food and service. Nothing is ever too much trouble for the staff, who all worked their socks off to provide a truly wonderful Christmas. Sean, the hotel General Manager, even made time to take a number of us to midnight mass and come back and collect us. This involved several trips at the end of what must have been a very very long day for him. Our thanks to Matt, the excellent Chef, Sean and Daffyd for a great time. Hope to see you all again in the summer

Room Tip: Ask for a 4-poster room with a view of the beautiful grounds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank juliea_dent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

791 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    452
    248
    58
    23
    10
See reviews for
94
490
19
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2012

Our first visit was a two night New Years Eve special package. Scenery was stunning and the staff were very helpful and obliging. Our room and in some public areas seemed a bit tired and needed brightening up using more modern colours and fabrics.
The package itself was very good value and included an enjoyable clay pigeon shoot. There was a small bar at the rear of the reception room which did not provide a focal point as it does in most hotels and it could have done with stocking a greater variety of draught ales.
Plus points were the relaxed atmosphere - dogs are allowed, lovely log fires and the handy locations for other mid Wales destinations.
We would definetely return.

Room Tip: Although our room was of adequate size, we understood that others on the same package had smaller ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pamela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llandovery, Wales, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 17 December 2011

What an incredible place; we wanted a beautiful setting with a relaxed and comfortable atmosphere, friendly staff, superb food and good value for money, and every single member of the staff at Caer Beris not only made sure our wedding was all that we dreamed of but they absolutely went the extra mile to far exceed our wishes. Their helpfulness throughout the whole process was outstanding, not just on the day, but during the planning process also. Caer Beris is indeed a very beautiful setting and perfect for a wedding but it really has to be said the team of staff are definitely the 'jewel in the crown'. They genuinely want you to have a perfect day and go above and beyond to make sure that happens. The hotel is warm and welcoming, and the bridal suite is stunning, rooms are all clean and the food is delicious with excellent service and nothing is too much trouble. The feedback from so many guests about how beautiful the setting is, how lovely the food was and how helpful the staff were all contributed towards ensuring everyone had a good time. Thank you to all of you, I would recommend Caer Beris to anyone and 24th September 2011 will always be in my memory of a most perfect day. Already looking forward to coming back next year to celebrate our first anniversary.

Room Tip: The bridal suite is a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DDS54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmarthen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 September 2011

My sister got married here, and we could not praise the staff enough- they were amazing, so helpful and polite. The grounds were beautiful and the hotel lovely and comfortable, and the food was delicious. Definately recommend this place to everyone.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woking, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
82 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2011

We stayed for one night during a little tour of Wales. Arrived to a friendly welcome and tour by the owner. Room 14 was clean and comfortable with an excellent bathroom and shower.
The grounds are lovely, the bridge over the river was an experience in the high winds.
The bar and lounge areas are very comfortable, with free internet access. The hotel serves a local brew called Ifron Ale.

Tea and Coffee available in the rooms. Toiletries also provided.

Most impressed with the Chef, he spoke to all guests and explained his menu which made me choose the lamb and mint meatballs TA will not allow me to use the correct name for this dish,but wow, they were wonderful albeit a huge portion. Nothing was too much trouble and all the staff we encountered were friendly and professional. Just how it should be. Well Done Caer Beris, we will be back if in the area again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AgentNikky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

My new wife and I had our wedding reception at Caer Beris and could not fault it in any way. All through the planning process the staff could not be more helpful and did all they could to make the planning easy and transparent.

On our big day everything went so well thanks to Brian (Mgr), Matt (Chef) and all the staff who made everything so easy and so special. This hotel is one in a million, the setting is unbeatable, the hotel has a certain charm no longer found in other big hotels or chain hotels, the staff are so friendly and helpful and if Brian is on shift, nothing is too much trouble for him, he is an excellent ambassador for the hotel and the owners should hang onto him forever!!!

Caer Beris will certainly draw us back, probably time and time again, in a word, amazing!!!

Matt & Yvonne

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MattGreenly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
home counties
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 August 2011

My daughter and now son in law arranged their wedding at Caer Beris in early August. We hoped everything would go well but the venue, food, accommodation and service far exceeded our expectations. The feedback from our guests was fantastic, everyone was happy. Nothing was too much trouble for Brian and all the staff, including the chefs. From Friday afternoon through to Sunday morning, we enjoyed ourselves so much. All meals, including the wedding breakfast , were excellent. Rooms were fine. We appreciated the improvements being made at the hotel. A big thank you to all at Caer Beris.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HomeCountiesSprout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Builth Wells
5.5 mi away
The Lake Country House & Spa
The Lake Country House & Spa
#1 of 1 in Llangammarch Wells
896 reviews
8.7 mi away
Llangoed Hall
Llangoed Hall
#1 of 1 in Llyswen
595 reviews
6.8 mi away
Metropole Hotel
Metropole Hotel
#1 of 3 in Llandrindod Wells
1,317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Cedars Guest House
Cedars Guest House
#2 of 3 in Builth Wells
59 reviews
6.8 mi away
Glen Usk Hotel
Glen Usk Hotel
#2 of 3 in Llandrindod Wells
261 reviews
6.7 mi away
Hotel Commodore
Hotel Commodore
#3 of 3 in Llandrindod Wells
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caer Beris Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caer Beris Manor Hotel

Property: Caer Beris Manor Hotel
Address: Garth Road, Builth Wells LD2 3NP, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Builth Wells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Builth Wells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Caer Beris Manor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Formerly the home of Lord Swansea, a manor house set in 27 acres of parkland surrounded by the River Irfon. Comfortable bedrooms and friendly welcome. Log fires in winter, croquet in summer. Ideal as a relaxing base.Fishing, walking, riding, birdwatching. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA and LateRooms so you can book your Caer Beris Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Caer Beris Manor
Caer Beris Manor Hotel Builth Wells, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing