We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Caer Beris Manor Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Builth Wells
Certificate of Excellence
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel”
Reviewed 14 March 2014

I travel all around Wales on business trips and this is the best hotel I have stayed at within my budget. Friendly staff, beautiful grounds, great food and tasteful décor. Excellent. Would happily go back for a holiday.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bangorjon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

768 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    443
    238
    55
    22
    10
See reviews for
92
474
19
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 March 2014

We have just returned from a 2 night stay at the Hotel with the 7 course tasting menu and breakfast both mornings. The Hotel is is old and full of character and all the staff couldn't have been more friendly and welcoming. We had a very comfortable room lovely warm bathroom with a good shower. The food was excellent and we thoroughly enjoyed it all. It is set in beautiful grounds with plenty of countryside to explore. We would happily come back for another visit.
We travelled from Bristol.

Room Tip: We upgraded to a feature room and it was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2014

We booked an overnight break at Caer Beris Manor even though it is not far from where we live. So glad we did as we had never seen it before and it was a delight. Tucked away off the main road it has lovely grounds for walking in and if you have dogs, as we do, it makes life so easy to be able to walk them in the grounds. Set by the river, the gardens are well maintained and are just starting to show signs of Spring colours. The staff were all very friendly and helpful and the food excellent. The rooms are very characterful and in lovely decorative order.

We will be returning over the Easter period for a 2 night break.

Thank you everyone for a relaxing experience.

Sue & Mike Cronin

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2014

Recently stayed here using groupon voucher for two nights plus taster menu which seemed a popular method of staying. We expected a lot based on reviews we had read but we felt it promised more than it delivered. Admittedly the setting is idyllic, elevated above the river, with an imposing feel to the place. We were also lucky to have two splendid days of sunny weather which would makes a big difference to any trip to wales! Our room, 17, was not particularly big and will long be remembered as being wallpapered with 6inch wide, vertical lines of beige, pink and brown ( each colour probably has a more artistic name). Taste is obviously personal and although we felt a bit like being in a Bedouin tent others may like this decor choice. The room is sort of at the back of the hotel, with others, and is above the working parts of a hotel, bottle bins, cardboard store and three very large cylinders, now defunct, that were, I suspect, part of some previous renovation. The metal framed window suffers with the age old and understandable problem of condensation, permanently evident along the sill. A large bed provided an excellent nights sleep and a spacious walk in shower meant we were spruced up and refreshed for breakfast each day. This brings me to the food. I tried the eggs benedict as along with the traditional cooked offerings there were various omelettes, egg royal etc. An impressive looking touch that tasted ok based on what I had chosen. The cooked English the following day was also fine. The evening taster menu "tasted" fine and made for a pleasant change from the conventional three/four course whatever. Washed down with a £16.00 bottle of very pleasant house white. I guess the point I am making in a very laboured way is the food was fine but importantly not memorable, for us anyway. Service was good and generally we found the staff to be pleasant and efficient, particularly the gardener!
On a different note the wifi connection in room 17 is very poor and non existent at times. I brought this to the attention of the reception staff, once whilst the owner was present, and was told after some basic checks were made of the routers that it should have been fine. It is probably wise to simply accept that not all parts of the hotel pick up a good wifi signal. We wanted to use the ipad for maps etc,but it was no hardship to find areas of the hotel where wifi was good. Anyway, all in all a pleasant break and the above is just a summary of some of my thoughts and our experiences. I am sure, in this fairly large manor hotel, there are rooms with great views, wifi, calming decor so give it a go. Perhaps explore the upgrade option others have mentioned that I had not been aware of until now.

Room Tip: Room 17 has poor, if any, wifi connection. I only mention this if someone needs computer access. Pro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea
Level Contributor
292 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Bought an overnight stop with 7 Course Taster Menu meal and breakfast on Groupon/Wowchecker, but would willingly have paid full price. The building is old, quaint old, so expect some creaks and groans but it it is very tastefully and comfortably done out with tons of places to sit and relax in great sofas and armchairs. The room that I had was huge and had a double bed which was so comfortable, also had a settee and other furnishings - if I was to criticise it would be for the huge size room could do with a bigger tv, but honestly that is not a problem. The bathroom was fully equipped with a fancy shower cubicle which had several different settings/functions and also a separate bath. The grounds are lovely, and if like me you are lucky enough to have good weather then there are loads of walks in the grounds, and a fast running clean river running through the property. The swing bridge is something else - try it before you have a drink! The evening meal was superb, could not fault it - as was the breakfast - loads of choices and everything cooked to order, not half warm on a buffet as in so many places now. The staff make the place as well, there was not one that wasn't welcoming or appeared pleased to see you.
Cannot see why this is only graded a 3star hotel, it is so much better than so many 4* and 5*.
Cannot recommend this place high enough - I am someone that likes modern buildings and all that goes with it, but I am converted! Try it

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bob1323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
caerberis, Owner at Caer Beris Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 23 March 2014
Hi

Many thanks for your wonderful review.We have tried to keep the decor of the house true to its origins The grounds have always been our best feature. Right now. we are restoring the rose walk hopefully to finally look like an Edwardian photograph we have been given of the original. H

Look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards

Pter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmarthen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014

We have just returned from a one night stay through Groupon which included the 7 course taster menu. First impressions as we drove up were delightful, the building is old and beautiful. The staff were very welcoming and knowledgeable. We upgraded to the Swansea Suite which was beautifully furnished, with an amazing four poster bed and was very comfortable. The room was a little too warm for my personal liking. There was a separate little lounge area with a comfy two seater sofa, tv and tea making area. The rooms have a lovely views of the grounds and the river. The bathroom has a roll top bath and lovely soft towels. This is a period property and one expects it to be dated but it is totally charming. The grounds are wonderful. The 7 course taster menu was first class even though as a rule I don't eat fish, I tried it and thoroughly enjoyed the whole dining experience. There was a great choice for breakfast and once again the quality was first class. We will definitely visit again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TJP26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
caerberis, Owner at Caer Beris Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 23 March 2014
Hi

So pleased you enjoyed your stay with us so much. Our chefs takes great pride in all the meals they prepare whether the Tasting Menu or 'just' breakfast so it is always good to know their efforts are appreciated.
We hope to be able to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards

Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset, England
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

We have just spent a two night break at this hotel which exceeded our expectations for a 3* hotel. We anticipated perhaps some signs of wear in a property of this age but the interior has been immaculately and imaginatively maintained and decorated. The evening meals were first class, particularly the 7 course taster menu. We suspect a different chef dealt with breakfast and it was necessary to be specific about how some items should be cooked.
We felt that meal and bar prices represented good value
The owners could not have been more friendly and helpful, eg in helping to plan local walks.
The hotel location is quite stunning and the grounds attractive.
Our room, although not the best located (but convenient for exercising our dog), was comfortable and did not lack any amenity.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms overlooking the courtyard/front door should be avoided as curtains have to be kep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travellling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
caerberis, Owner at Caer Beris Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 23 March 2014
Hi
Very many thanks for your great review. One big advantage of being a small family owned hotel is that we can give guests more personal attention than some large hotels. We have to thank mother nature for our setting which we are so pleased ou enjoyed.
Look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards

Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Builth Wells
5.5 mi away
The Lake Country House & Spa
The Lake Country House & Spa
#1 of 1 in Llangammarch Wells
870 reviews
8.7 mi away
Llangoed Hall
Llangoed Hall
#1 of 1 in Llyswen
573 reviews
6.8 mi away
Metropole Hotel
Metropole Hotel
#1 of 3 in Llandrindod Wells
1,276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Cedars Guest House
Cedars Guest House
#2 of 4 in Builth Wells
54 reviews
6.7 mi away
Hotel Commodore
Hotel Commodore
#3 of 3 in Llandrindod Wells
220 reviews
15.4 mi away
Peterstone Court Hotel
Peterstone Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanhamlach
871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caer Beris Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caer Beris Manor Hotel

Property: Caer Beris Manor Hotel
Address: Garth Road, Builth Wells LD2 3NP, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Builth Wells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Builth Wells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Caer Beris Manor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Formerly the home of Lord Swansea, a manor house set in 27 acres of parkland surrounded by the River Irfon. Comfortable bedrooms and friendly welcome. Log fires in winter, croquet in summer. Ideal as a relaxing base.Fishing, walking, riding, birdwatching. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Hotels.com so you can book your Caer Beris Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Caer Beris Manor
Caer Beris Manor Hotel Builth Wells, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing