We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful setting and great food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Caer Beris Manor Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Builth Wells
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 April 2014

Only stayed for 1 night at Caer Beris but I can honestly stay it was lovely. The room was a little outdated in decor but fitting to the properties antique style. Bathroom was modern and everything worked great. Both bathroom and room were immaculate and spacious. The grounds of the manor are beautiful and well worth a long walk around Builth Wells itself. Staff were great, very friendly and helpful. We had the 7 course tasting menu for dinner and it was fantastic. The food was brilliant and the service was prompt with friendly waiting staff. Breakfast was equally lovely. I would definitely recommend this hotel and quite fancy returning.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oli I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (833)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

513 - 519 of 833 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2014

We have just returned from a two day break at this hotel, which included a 7 course tasting menu on the first night. We booked through Travelzoo and so had a very good deal, but notice that a similar deal is also available directly through the hotel. We can not fault our stay - our room was huge, clean and very comfortable with everything we could need including a large four-poster bed, a great view over the river and a comfy sofa. The bathroom was fitted with a bath and separate shower and was also very clean. We took our two dogs and do not often get such a great room! The staff were very friendly and we were made to feel very welcome, including the dogs. The tasting menu had some tasty and interesting dishes and although quantities were not large, after the 7 courses, we felt satisfied. On our second evening we had the brasserie menu which was 3 courses for £20 - food was good and we though this was very reasonably prices as were the bar prices. The ground were pretty with interesting walks beside the river and also other walks direct from the hotel. All in all a most enjoyable break in beautiful surroundings -we will certainly come again and can thoroughly recommend the Caer Beris Manor

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CoS06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Yep that pretty much covers it; the welcome, the food, the rooms, the location, in fact everything was exceptional.

On our arrival we were made to feel like they visiting dignitaries, everything was prepared ready for us with the house and grounds are beautifully maintained and at our disposal. The evening meal was superb, the chef prepared an outstanding vegan option to the 7 course meal which left me spellbound. We stay in a lot of hotels around the UK and this goes to the top of our list for countless reasons. If you are thinking of getting away, this is the place. Thank you for a wonderful weekend break.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SharonW1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

We have just returned from a 2 night stay at this super hotel. On the first night we sampled the 7 course tasting menu. Wonderful flavours served by excellent staff. Nothing was too much trouble for any of the staff which made our stay even better. Our room (the four poster bedroom ) was comfortable with loads of space and overlooking the garden and river. It was lovely hearing the gentle sound of water over the rocks. Any visitor must sample the hotel's very own Irfon Ale. Made specially for the hotel by a micro brewery owned by one of the hotel owners' friends. This break was good value and I would encourage anyone to try it out

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Once again "on the Groupon", hotel set in ideal location with views from our room overlooking the grounds and river. Hosts very welcoming and took us to our room which we had to pay extra for as they did not have a room available through the Groupon deal! Very large bedroom with separate room with TV/sofa and all the usual facilities with the added bonus I could bring my dog F.O.C. Taster menu was OK, not the best I have had, but the salmon was delicious. Very good choice of breakfast menu, but be aware, if you choose the smoked haddock and poached eggs the haddock is minuscule, its not even the size of a child's portion! so both opted for the full English next morning which was lovely. We would return but only on a deal cost.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Helen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

We stayed here for one night on a travel zoo deal but would happily return and pay the full price as it is a beautiful traditional British country house hotel set in delightful grounds.
The weather was chilly but our ground floor room was warm and cosy and had a lovley sofa in it to relax before dinner. Toiletries were good quality and the bathroom nice and warm with fluffy towels kept toasty on a heated towel rail.
Although the room overlooked the front of the hotel it was quiet and we had an excellent nights sleep in the very comfortable bed.
The bar held an interesting selection of gin and we had a chat with the owner who was genuinly interested in what we liked.
The 7 course tasting menu was superb. Very refined in taste and presentation. I could not fault anything other than I was too full to eat the brownie element in the triple chocolate dessert. The chocolate mousse was fabulous though. My favourite course was the scallops but each course was delicious and nothing went back to the kitchen- my husband ate my chocolate brownie.
Breakfast was also delicious with great tasting sauasages and bacon.
All the serving staff were efficient and friendly at dinner and breakfast.
We had a lovley stroll around the grounds and it really is in a beautiful setting. I could imagine it is a great wedding venue.
The owners have obviously invested a lot both financially and emotionally in the building and the grounds and it shows.
I would love to stay again for at least two nights and know I would leave feeling fully refreshed. We had a wonderful stay even if too brief.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank mabel98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed here on a groupon deal. I upgraded to the Swansea suite and we were book into the restaurant for the 7 course taster menu.
The hotel and grounds are very impressive. And the staff are polite, friendly and keen to please. Our suite was beautiful.
The 7 course taster menu was great fun and all dishes were cooked to perfection. As was the breakfast the following morning.

We had a 2 hour drive to get to the manor hotel. It was well worth it!

The local village high street is less than a mile away and has some lovely quaint shops and pubs.

To conclude. We couldn't fault our brief stay. The food, service and setting were outstanding.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank skypoints
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Builth Wells
5.5 mi away
The Lake Country House & Spa
The Lake Country House & Spa
#1 of 1 in Llangammarch Wells
930 reviews
8.7 mi away
Llangoed Hall
Llangoed Hall
#1 of 1 in Llyswen
652 reviews
6.8 mi away
Metropole Hotel
Metropole Hotel
#1 of 3 in Llandrindod Wells
1,368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.4 mi away
Peterstone Court Hotel
Peterstone Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanhamlach
993 reviews
1.1 mi away
Cedars Guest House
Cedars Guest House
#2 of 3 in Builth Wells
63 reviews
6.8 mi away
Glen Usk Hotel
Glen Usk Hotel
#2 of 3 in Llandrindod Wells
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caer Beris Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caer Beris Manor Hotel

Address: Garth Road, Builth Wells LD2 3NP, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Builth Wells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Builth Wells
Price Range: £78 - £146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Caer Beris Manor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Formerly the home of Lord Swansea, a manor house set in 27 acres of parkland surrounded by the River Irfon. Comfortable bedrooms and friendly welcome. Log fires in winter, croquet in summer. Ideal as a relaxing base.Fishing, walking, riding, birdwatching. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Ebookers, LateRooms and Hotels.com so you can book your Caer Beris Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Caer Beris Manor
Caer Beris Manor Hotel Builth Wells, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing