We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First rate weekend!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Caer Beris Manor Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Builth Wells
Certificate of Excellence
Dorking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“First rate weekend!”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Recently spent the weekend at the Caer Beris Manor Hotel and cannot recommend it highly enough. The staff were very friendly, the food well presented and very tasty and the grounds were excellent with a river running through and the scenery in the surrounding area is beautiful.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JBD_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

787 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    450
    247
    57
    23
    10
See reviews for
93
488
19
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff
Level Contributor
59 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Stayed at Caer Beris on a Groupon offer and therefore very well priced. The grounds are wonderful although we were unable to take advantage of this fact due to mobility problems. To sit in the conservatory for lunch overlooking the river was fantastic. We had the 7 course taster meal on the first night and this could not be faulted. Initially when the first course arrived, my husband thought he would be starving as it was small. However after the fourth course, I was full and on completion of all courses, my husband was as well. Fabulous flavours in all courses and the frozen cappucino was to die for. My breakfasts were wonderful - eggs Florentine and eggs Royale but my husband had full English and it was a little overcooked. The room was large, the bed very comfortable and everywhere very clean. My only complaint was that I was so looking forward to some Welsh lamb for my evening meal on the second night. This was not to be. They did have lamb fillet on the 5 course meal but not on the a la carte and the chef refused to serve the lamb other than if we had 5 courses. Such a shame. I bought some lamb in the butchers (J Williams & Sons) in Llandrindod Wells and took it home and it was wonderful - well priced and the butchers were very amenable. Maybe Caer Beris should go to him.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VoniM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Bought this deal with Travel Zoo 7 course taster menu which we thought was great the staff were really helpful and polite nothing was to much trouble for them the grounds surrounding were very nice and pleasant The room was lovely and clean with lovely shower room Breakfast freshly cooked only one complaint the toast was to thin but overall a very enjoyable night stay will return in future

Room Tip: All rooms very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bonzo186460
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
birmingham
Level Contributor
58 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

What a fantastic place. Room was good (room 1 ). Warm and cosy,shower above bath great. Welcome was good showed us around the hotel and offered to carry our bags. Dinner 7 course taster menu was brilliant even though I am vegetarian, wine reasonably priced. Waiters were lovely and really concerned that we were having a good time. Cannot speak highly of this hotel, should be 4 or even 5 star. We go away regularly but this is one of the best, we will certainly return

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jonkath75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Caer Beris is set in grounds of 27 acres, surrounded on 3 sides by the R. Irfon, the site is spectacular, it boasts the remains of 12thC Motte and Bailey castle adjacent to car park. The rooms were of good size, clean,warm,and comfortable. the staff were welcoming, and for a country house of some status, the atmosphere was unpretentious.
The food was excellent.
The hotel is dog friendly. Wildlife abounds, there is an otter hide opposite a holt in the grounds

Room Tip: Only experience of one room, from what we could see all ok, those on S side would have best views ov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, Rhode Island
1 review
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Friendly hotel with excellent food and good wine list. Dog friendly which we found wonderful, even though we don't have a dog! We stayed in suite which was fabulous. We intend to return with friends in September to explore the extensive grounds.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nooly2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

Only stayed for 1 night at Caer Beris but I can honestly stay it was lovely. The room was a little outdated in decor but fitting to the properties antique style. Bathroom was modern and everything worked great. Both bathroom and room were immaculate and spacious. The grounds of the manor are beautiful and well worth a long walk around Builth Wells itself. Staff were great, very friendly and helpful. We had the 7 course tasting menu for dinner and it was fantastic. The food was brilliant and the service was prompt with friendly waiting staff. Breakfast was equally lovely. I would definitely recommend this hotel and quite fancy returning.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oli I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Builth Wells
5.5 mi away
The Lake Country House & Spa
The Lake Country House & Spa
#1 of 1 in Llangammarch Wells
891 reviews
8.7 mi away
Llangoed Hall
Llangoed Hall
#1 of 1 in Llyswen
590 reviews
6.8 mi away
Metropole Hotel
Metropole Hotel
#1 of 3 in Llandrindod Wells
1,303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Cedars Guest House
Cedars Guest House
#2 of 3 in Builth Wells
56 reviews
6.7 mi away
Hotel Commodore
Hotel Commodore
#3 of 3 in Llandrindod Wells
233 reviews
6.8 mi away
Glen Usk Hotel
Glen Usk Hotel
#2 of 3 in Llandrindod Wells
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caer Beris Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caer Beris Manor Hotel

Property: Caer Beris Manor Hotel
Address: Garth Road, Builth Wells LD2 3NP, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Builth Wells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Builth Wells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Caer Beris Manor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Formerly the home of Lord Swansea, a manor house set in 27 acres of parkland surrounded by the River Irfon. Comfortable bedrooms and friendly welcome. Log fires in winter, croquet in summer. Ideal as a relaxing base.Fishing, walking, riding, birdwatching. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotel.de so you can book your Caer Beris Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Caer Beris Manor
Caer Beris Manor Hotel Builth Wells, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing