We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming Country House Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Caer Beris Manor Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Builth Wells
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 May 2014

We had stayed there several years ago and were impressed then. We now took a vouchers deal for one night, including the Taster Menu. We were pleased and surprised to see that the Hotel had been refurbished to an even higher standard with the same welcome. We booked a "feature room" which had the advantage of a peaceful river and garden view. The food is very good with a friendly staff and we will revisit in the future.

Room Tip: The feature rooms at a small cost are worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (845)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

511 - 517 of 845 reviews

Reviewed 7 May 2014

We stayed at the Caer Beris on a living social deal which included a 7 course taster meal.
The hotel itself is a grand building set in 27 acres of woodland with a stream running through .... Most picturesque !!
On arriving the staff where most welcoming ,and from that moment every member of staff were attentive and friendly.
Dinner was delicious obviously made with fresh quality ingredients.
Breakfast again was delicious with lots of choice.
Our only regret was that we were only there for 1night but I am sure we will return

Stayed: May 2014
1  Thank katebarber1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We visited the Caer Beris through a voucher deal that included a night's accommodation and a 7 course taster menu. We were impressed as soon as we drove up to the hotel as it is beautiful and looks very historic. The hotel is traditionally decorated with country charm and is totally in keeping with the history of the place. The grounds the hotel in are stunning, mature trees, a beautiful river, abundant wildlife it really is lovely. The staff were very welcoming, pleasent and helpful through out our stay. Our room was a feature room which included a four poster bed and was stunning and very comfortable. Afternoon tea was top notch. The taster menu was delicious and the chef accommodated my partner who does not eat fish with really tasty alternatives. The only thing I would change was that I only wanted a glass of wine rather than a bottle the wine is the standard mini bottles you can get rather than a glass from a better bottle of wine. Breakfast the next day was tasty and a good choice was on offer. We fell in love with the place so much we booked our wedding here for September. This was based on the feel of the place, the helpfulness and friendliness of the staff and the quality of the food. The chef took the time to come and discuss our menu choices with us and the manager and his team were so accommodating in showing us around the other rooms so we could get a feel for the place. I would highly recommend this hotel, a cosy, snug, quaity find that deserves to be rated higher than a 3 star.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheBeastys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We stayed one night on a voucher deal that included the seven-course tasting menu in Restaurant 1896.

On arrival we were warmly welcomed by the owner, Katherine, who showed us around the hotel and to our room which was clean, comfortable and appropriately furnished with Edwardian furniture.

We had time for a stroll around the beautiful grounds and had quite a long chat with the friendly gardener.

Our meal, the seven-course tasting menu, was nice enough, but not especially memorable. We certainly would have been disappointed if we had paid the advertised price of £59 per person. Another time we might eat in the brasserie as the meals we saw being served looked great and were probably better value if you were paying the full price.

We had a very nice and very reasonably priced (around £20) bottle of red with the meal so were surprised when we came to checkout that our pre-dinner drinks (two gin and tonics) had cost more than the bottle of wine!

Would stay again on a voucher deal as there is plenty to see and do in the area - we went to the Elan Valley and stopped off at the Kite Feeding station in Rhayader.

All in all a very pleasant break.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LittleAcorn2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Stayed at the Manor after winning a 2 night with taster menu break in a charity auction (my parents booked a break at the same time and got a promotional offer, offers do seem to be quite regular). Everyone got a very warm welcome by the staff, who check you in show you around the manor and to your room. Our room was spacious, although my parents room was a little smaller but both clean and comfortable. The grounds of the hotel are lovely, the bridge as stated on other reviews is amazing. The 7 course taster menu was very good and the meal on the second night from the brasserie menu was also good, although breakfast was a little disappointing (I imagine especially for those that like to breakfast as a king!) the bread used for toast was very poor and the hollandaise sauce on the muffin style breakfasts quite vinegary. For those who like fishing we were told that they are welcome to fish in their lake. The town is very small so for anyone that likes a 'wander through town' need to be prepared to drive........
The hotel is also dog friendly for those that like to have theirs with them

Room Tip: Depends on what you like, I'm not a big fan of four poster beds with canopies so make sure you c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ELRI49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Wow what a beautiful place, we went with my sister and her husband to celebrate her 50th birthday. the location was excellent and the staff were very helpful.The hotel is dog friendly so my sister took her dog with her and we went on some lovely walks around the hotel. Can't wait for another voucher to go again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

We stayed for one night at the end of April and had a deal which included the tasting menu. The food was superb and the chef changed one of the courses to accommodate my wife who is allergic to salmon. The service was prompt without being hurried and the staff knew details about each course. Their enthusiasm for the food was something very little seen in restaurants in my experience. The wine list was very acceptable and the prices reasonable. The reception staff were most helpful and efficient. The room was very clean and had all that was necessary for us to have a lovely stay. The grounds are truly exceptional and well worth the effort to explore. Our big mistake was to only book for the one night. We'll be back.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ivor M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Builth Wells
5.5 mi away
The Lake Country House & Spa
The Lake Country House & Spa
#1 of 1 in Llangammarch Wells
946 reviews
6.8 mi away
Metropole Hotel
Metropole Hotel
#1 of 3 in Llandrindod Wells
1,401 reviews
8.7 mi away
Llangoed Hall
Llangoed Hall
#1 of 1 in Llyswen
666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.4 mi away
Peterstone Court Hotel
Peterstone Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanhamlach
1,029 reviews
21.1 mi away
Gliffaes Country House Hotel
Gliffaes Country House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Crickhowell
541 reviews
1.1 mi away
Cedars Guest House
Cedars Guest House
#2 of 3 in Builth Wells
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caer Beris Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caer Beris Manor Hotel

Address: Garth Road, Builth Wells LD2 3NP, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Builth Wells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Builth Wells
Price Range: £86 - £163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Caer Beris Manor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Formerly the home of Lord Swansea, a manor house set in 27 acres of parkland surrounded by the River Irfon. Comfortable bedrooms and friendly welcome. Log fires in winter, croquet in summer. Ideal as a relaxing base.Fishing, walking, riding, birdwatching. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Ebookers so you can book your Caer Beris Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Caer Beris Manor
Caer Beris Manor Hotel Builth Wells, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing