We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Wedding Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Caer Beris Manor Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Builth Wells
Certificate of Excellence
Lakeland, Florida
1 review
“Wonderful Wedding Location”
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Caer Beris was the perfect location for our daughter's recent wedding. The grounds are absolutely beautiful and the staff was welcoming, helpful and attentive to our guests. Our friends from the U.S. continue to comment on what a lovely weekend they had in the Welsh countryside.
It couldn't have been better!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaryR1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

799 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    459
    249
    58
    23
    10
See reviews for
94
495
19
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We stayed at the Caer Beris Manor hotel for a two night break that included their award winning 7 course taster menu on the first night. The hotel was really nice, we upgraded to the Swansea suite which has a four poster bed and is very spacious and quirky. Our dogs were able to stay with us too for just a small additional cost so we were all able to enjoy the grounds and gardens. The grounds are great with space for the dogs to run around supervised and also access to the Wye river, which they enjoyed for a paddle. The food was excellent, the 7 course taster menu and the brasserie menu we had on the second night. We were very lucky with the weather and were able to sit outside to eat with the dogs without disturbing anyone. A really great place for a break and close to Rhayader for walking in the Elan Valley. Highly recommend this place to dog owners looking for a dog friendly hotel and anyone looking for a base for visiting the beautiful Elan Valley and surrounding area.

Room Tip: If you can afford it upgrade to a suite, it is definitely worth the extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jbest_wenvoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, Wales, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

just spent two nights at the Caer Beris have to say we really enjoyed it, the staff were welcoming, attentive and gave excellent service, the food was lovely, it tasted good and beautifully presented
compliments to the chef. The hotel is situated close to some beautiful walks and the centre of Builth Wells. If you wish to drive out to places they are well sign posted and the roads are pleasant to use. The hotel is quiet and restful and the grounds superb, hope you all enjoy it as much as we did. We will return.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We are just returned from yet another relaxing break with good food and excellent company. Caer Beris never stands still. Each time we visit something has been updated, changed or improved (not that we feel anything needs improving). This last visit sees the now extremely fast wi-fi through the whole manor house making communicating with the outside world so easy. Another change we have noticed is the amazing water pressure when filling the bath. It literally took 2 minutes to fill the bath full with piping hot water for a dreamy bubble bath with the spa products provided.
What I love about this hotel is its old world charm added to the friendly staff and location. As an aside, I love a cup of tea in my room before breakfast and at other times. Caer Beris unlike most other hotels do not just put 4 little pots of milk allowing one cuppa each, every day the refreshments included 8/10 pots of milk saving me the need to buy a pint of milk from the local shop. Thank you,
Daffyd the manager has his eye on the ball at all times, remembering details and solving every question we have. He is a true assett and had I a hotel I would try and poach him to work for me (sorry Peter excuse the poaching joke). lol.
We have rebooked for September and will continue to recommend this hotel for the location, food, comfy beds but above all the people, who feel like our extended family.

Room Tip: The four poster rooms overlooking the river are beautiful and each has a theme colour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackyc1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
183 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We have stated at this hotel before, it is full of old world charm and very relaxing. However they need too pay more attention to deal, internal glass fire doors are full of finger prints, no lady glasses for larger, the electrical sockets in the bedroom are to close to the floor making it impossible to plug a charger in. The food is good, and the fish and chips outstanding, but the chef is heavy handed with his dressing, a little less would be more! The location is great for all outdoor pursuits. We went on the hotel offer and it was good value,

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GaryP208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We booked last minute and got a £90 deal (including breakfast). The evening brasserie menu was £20/head not including wine and the food was excellent. The room (room 2) was showing a little wear and tear but otherwise very comfortable with a fine view.

The barman was a little inexperienced but it was fine on the whole and I would agree that the staff were excellent, particularly the waitress in the restaurant.

It was our first getaway in 5 years (from two very young children!), and I can honestly say I would recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sussex
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We went for a 2 day stay here on a deal from Local Amazon. It included a 7 course taster menu on the first night and a meal in the brasserie on the second night. The room was fine, even though it was a little dark as it only had one small window. ( Sorry I can't remember the number!)
The food was good but not excellent, however top marks for providing so well for my husband who is a coeliac. The location is great and the gardens very pleasant to walk through. But it was the staff who really made this place somewhere I would return to, they were both friendly and helpful and a credit to whoever trains them.
It's worth mentioning that we could have got an even better deal if we had booked directly through the hotel website ( the same but with a cocktail on arrival!) It was good value for what we paid.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JennieWSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Builth Wells
5.5 mi away
The Lake Country House & Spa
The Lake Country House & Spa
#1 of 1 in Llangammarch Wells
906 reviews
8.7 mi away
Llangoed Hall
Llangoed Hall
#1 of 1 in Llyswen
607 reviews
6.8 mi away
Metropole Hotel
Metropole Hotel
#1 of 3 in Llandrindod Wells
1,328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Cedars Guest House
Cedars Guest House
#2 of 3 in Builth Wells
60 reviews
6.8 mi away
Glen Usk Hotel
Glen Usk Hotel
#2 of 3 in Llandrindod Wells
263 reviews
6.7 mi away
Hotel Commodore
Hotel Commodore
#3 of 3 in Llandrindod Wells
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caer Beris Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caer Beris Manor Hotel

Property: Caer Beris Manor Hotel
Address: Garth Road, Builth Wells LD2 3NP, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Builth Wells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Builth Wells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Caer Beris Manor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Formerly the home of Lord Swansea, a manor house set in 27 acres of parkland surrounded by the River Irfon. Comfortable bedrooms and friendly welcome. Log fires in winter, croquet in summer. Ideal as a relaxing base.Fishing, walking, riding, birdwatching. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and LateRooms so you can book your Caer Beris Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Caer Beris Manor
Caer Beris Manor Hotel Builth Wells, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing