We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another lovely stay...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Caer Beris Manor Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Builth Wells
Certificate of Excellence
Alresford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Another lovely stay...”
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Simple rooms but very clean and comfy. Caring, attentive, polite staff, excellent food and drink. Very nice menu and extensive wine list. Dog friendly and beautiful grounds. I will always stay here when in this area. Brilliant x

Room Tip: Not all rooms have scenic views... All, however, are comfy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chrisbridgwater42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

791 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    452
    248
    58
    23
    10
See reviews for
94
490
19
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
brighton
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

I have to say I was excited to be staying at this beautiful place for my cousins wedding and I wasn't disappointed at all.

Rooms were stunning and most seemed to have their own style which was nice.

The scenery and setting is calming and suites the hotel perfectly we had some lovely walks round the gardens.

The staff could have been more friendly overall but that may just be the way the Welsh are.

On to the best part of my stay here, I'm not sure if the chef just upped his game for the wedding but I have to take my hat off to him, he had 70 people to cater for and all meals were out in good time and I have to be honest I could probably eat that meal ten times over, it was delicious!

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank the-gay-skater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

Our stay was delightful, the hotel is set in beautiful grounds with a river running through the perimeter. The staff were all friendly and welcoming and very accommodating. The room we stayed in was clean and well presented and we appreciated the tasty cookies which were supplied every day. Although this historic house is in central Wales and therefore 1-2 hours drive from any coastline the roads were amazing and the scenery stunning, making our journeys a great pleasure. Compliments to the chef of the hotel restaurant, the food was delicious, good quality and well presented, so much so that we dined there most nights. We would like to thank the owners and staff for a truly relaxing and memorable stay and recommend it to anyone looking for a peaceful holiday in the heart of the beautiful Welsh countryside.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lesa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We stayed at the Caer Beris last year and are going back in two weeks time, such beautiful grounds, had no problems with our dog staying with us and this time will be taking two dogs. The restaurant is excellent, we had the 7 course taster menu which was superb. Beautiful large bedroom with bay window overlooking river and grounds and a 4 poster bed ! Really looking forward to our return visit.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WendyL_F2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

First rate hotel, reasonably priced good food, very nice grounds, welcoming staff and comfortable and clean room. Don't understand recent remarks about marmalade ? Mine was just right but there are some sad people who complain about the strangest things! Regret only staying one night but will return. It was a shame that a group of low life's with children arrived late at night and made a lot of noise that disturbed other guests.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JetmasterDerbyshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

Recently returned from a 4 night stay at Caer Beris. We booked on the morning of travel and were extremely happy we chose this hotel. The staff could not do enough for us and even went out of their way to arrange for me to have dinner whilst watching the World Cup final in their conference room as the bar doesn't have a TV - above & beyond!!
The location is perfect for exploring the area and is so welcoming when returning after a long walk in the spectacular local countryside.
The rooms are spacious, clean and very comfortable - we had a delux room with four poster bed.
Food is of a good standard & breakfast is excellent.
I would not hesitate in recommending this hotel and would like to extend a big thank you to all the staff for their professional and friendly service - first class all round!
We'll be back!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jonnoboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales UK
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

This is my second review of this place, we would not have gone back again if we didn't like it before.

We had a super time, its a very friendly family run hotel, we took the same room, the Wye Suite, its huge, the views are stunning and its a nice space to chill out in ( see the pictures) we took our Labrador this time, that was a mixed blessing ( for us, no-one else) suffice we had a rather early morning call so no lying in relaxing, an hours walk before breakfast at 7.30 never did anyone any harm especially when the grounds are just SO nice.

The hotel is very comfortable, we had a pre- dinner drink in the bar with said dog, then put her in the car with a big bone so we could relax, we had the 7 course taster menu and thoroughly enjoyed every course.I must make a mention of the wine list, it's very good and well priced, we has a Villa Maria Sauvignon Blanc to start ( always a winner) then a tremendous Barolo ( liquorice and spice,fantastic) both wines were marked up double the supermarket / wine vendor price, that is a good deal when eating out, when places can charge 300-400% margin on wines.The food coming out to the other tables from the other menu's looked and smelt lovely. service was good, timely, polite and thankfully not at all ingratiating, read a review the other day when somebody complained that he had to pour his own wine, God forbid!, I hate that, I want to pour my own wine and anyone trying or attempting to do it for me gets a good comeuppance , no matter where we go.

Wi-fi WAS available in our room, it wasn't last time , so well done as I complained about it last time, the reception was not brilliant but it was there, obviously speeds were much quicker in reception area's.

Breakfast was good but I so wish British hotels would serve good coffee!

A few tips

If you like to sit and relax, enjoy fabulous scenes, read a book,this place is for you , its a delight especially in the lovely sunny weather we had. With dog in tow those pleasures were impossible ;-), but we love walking and this IS the place to come if you like a stroll or a short walk or indeed a strenuous hike.

You simply must walk around the grounds and over the Millenium bridge ( we did , our coward of a dog decided it looked far too dangerous and opted out)

The walk to Builth town centre along the 3 bridges trail is super, come out of hotel on foot, turn right walk 15 yds then down the steps and onto the path by the river , 30 minutes flat delightful walk along the river and Tarmac path to town, splendid.

For more adventurous soles , lots of walks , the hotel recommended this one and now so do we, - Pant y Llyn and Blanc y Ceylon walk, the hotel has free maps, it's about 5 miles or if you got lost like us ( blame the dog!) about 7-8 :-) magnificent scenery, beautiful , at one stage you pass a mountain lake and on the way back, it was very hot so we stripped off and joined the dog in the lake.....absolutely marvellous, didn't see a sole for 4 hrs

So there you have it, a marvellous 30 hrs doing what we like best , rest is for wimps ...but next time - We are leaving the dog at home :-)

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank sweenoid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Builth Wells
5.5 mi away
The Lake Country House & Spa
The Lake Country House & Spa
#1 of 1 in Llangammarch Wells
896 reviews
8.7 mi away
Llangoed Hall
Llangoed Hall
#1 of 1 in Llyswen
595 reviews
6.8 mi away
Metropole Hotel
Metropole Hotel
#1 of 3 in Llandrindod Wells
1,317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Cedars Guest House
Cedars Guest House
#2 of 3 in Builth Wells
59 reviews
6.8 mi away
Glen Usk Hotel
Glen Usk Hotel
#2 of 3 in Llandrindod Wells
261 reviews
6.7 mi away
Hotel Commodore
Hotel Commodore
#3 of 3 in Llandrindod Wells
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caer Beris Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caer Beris Manor Hotel

Property: Caer Beris Manor Hotel
Address: Garth Road, Builth Wells LD2 3NP, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Builth Wells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Builth Wells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Caer Beris Manor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Formerly the home of Lord Swansea, a manor house set in 27 acres of parkland surrounded by the River Irfon. Comfortable bedrooms and friendly welcome. Log fires in winter, croquet in summer. Ideal as a relaxing base.Fishing, walking, riding, birdwatching. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Caer Beris Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Caer Beris Manor
Caer Beris Manor Hotel Builth Wells, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing