We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Hidden gem!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Abernant House

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The well equipped kitchen with 4 oven Aga
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
36 reviews
The well equipped kitchen with 4 oven Aga
The large oak table is perfect for relaxed meals
French windows lead from the kitchen to the garden
The large kitchen has a 4 oven electric Aga
The beautiful drawing room
The grand piano can be used by guests
The cosy TV room/snug
Wood panelled TV room/snug
Our very well stocked library
The large king sized ensuite bedroom with a large balcony overlooking the garden.
Lie in bed and look out at the amazing scenery
The master room has its own Juliet balcony overlooking the garden
This single room leads out to a large balcony overlooking the garden
The beautiful gardens looking out towards the Black Mountains.
Outdoor tables and chairs for alfresco dining
Relax in the garden
Our private stretch of the River Wye
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
7 Bedrooms, 6 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Builth Wells, Powys, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 36 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
melg76201...
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
1 review
“Hidden gem!”
Reviewed 9 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Having just returned from a hen weekend stay at Abernant House with 11 lovely ladies, I just wanted to write and say thank you.

On arrival we were greeted with a delicious lemon cake and a basket of eggs. Every room was ready to receive our group, comfortable beds and clean bedding awaited us.

The kitchen is so well stocked and we wanted for nothing when preparing all our meals. Aga is amazing to cook on and everyone was able to sit around the magnificent table. Perfect for socialising into the early hours.

So much space and rooms to choose from. Our resident pianist particularly enjoyed the piano!

Gardens are spotless and the river section is idyllic. The tree swing provided much entertainment also.

Perfectly situated for our needs (a spot of gorge walking) and we popped into Builth for a few drinks.

Jo was the perfect host and we can't recommend this house enough. The history that surrounds it and the beautiful hand painted wallpaper is amazing.

We'd love to visit again - can't recommend enough!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: Space
Liked least: Lack of wifi signal in some rooms
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 May 2016
Thank you for taking the time to send us such a lovely review. It does make all the difference to us as Abernant is such a unique and special place to stay. We strive to give our personal attention to every group of guests to ensure that they have a relaxing, welcoming and fun holiday, shortbreak or celebration.

I do very much hope that you will be able to come back and stay with us soon......with your lovely new husband.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam M
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“what a place!”
Reviewed 25 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

For her 30th birthday, I decided to surprise my girlfriend with a weekend away in Wales. 10 good friends joined us, meaning we were 12 in total for the weekend (plus a very very happy dog).

Where do I start?! Everything was amazing - Jo was an incredible host - she baked a birthday cake, wrote a card & gave us some lovely eggs on arrival. Although we didn't know the exact size of our group until the last minute, she was incredibly accommodating and very relaxed. She gave us a quick tour of the house and told of us of the fascinating history within!

The house & grounds are breathtaking. We arrived on the Friday night (having ordered a delivery from the supermarket prior to arrival) and not one of us left the land owned by the house until it was time to leave on Sunday afternoon (we paid a small extra fee to be able to enjoy the Sunday there - and had a lovely roast). The house is massive! Everyone was very comfortable in their own bedrooms (either twin or double) and there were ample bathrooms so we never felt on top of one another, but it was also intimate and cosy enough that it felt warm & welcoming, and the downstairs areas were perfect for the large group we had.

I know it's a cliché but words really don't do it justice! We are already planning our next trip and couldn't recommend it highly enough for a group of a similar size (10-15 people), regardless of age and interests.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It would be unfair to single anything out, house, garden, river, host, surroundings and host were all perfect
Liked least: Having to leave!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Apr 2016
I am so very glad you had such a marvellous weekend. We do our best to make sure that each group of guests have the very best personal service and being part of the surprise makes our job a lot of fun.
We very much look forward to having back to stay with us.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katherine...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect house for a hen party in the countryside!”
Reviewed 18 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We spend the weekend at Abernant House for a friends hen party and had a brilliant time. The house is huge, comfortable and ideal for socialising, it has lots of character as well as stunning views. Jo was a great host and made us very welcome. Would highly recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eleri D
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Perfect place for a gathering of friends and family.”
Reviewed 1 February 2016 for a stay in January 2016

Just spent the weekend with friends and family in this beautiful, spacious house near Builth.
It was relaxing, warm with real fires, very homely, and the beds were super comfy. I was celebrating a special birthday, and the owner recommended a chef to cook for us on the Saturday night. It was a real treat.
We weren't really looking for local attractions, just wanted a place to get together - eat, drink, and talk till the early hours. Perfect!
Diolch yn fawr!

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Feb 2016
I am so glad that you had such a lovely weekend. Abernant is such a special place that having a lovely time is pretty much guaranteed. Please keep in touch and I hope to be able to welcome you back to stay with us.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean_west...
Aberystwyth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Chill out weekend in Wales”
Reviewed 31 January 2016 for a stay in November 2015

What a great place for 12 friends to chill out for the weekend. It rained all the time and that stopped any trips out of the house other than to re stock the depleting wine store.
Shaun the chef had prepared a large chilli for us on the Friday evening, we cooked our own jacket potatoes and we all stayed around the fire, a great night in.
The next day we lit both fires, the weather was terrible so we just spent the day chilling, eating and drinking.
Shaun the chef came in again and prepared a three course meal for the evening and that was a huge sucsess his wife served us and they cleared up after us and them.
We left on Sunday afternoon after a late brunch all in all a great weekend enjoyed by all.
The house is fantastic, large enough for twelve without getting under each others feet but intimate as well.
Jo is very good at what she does.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole house
Liked least: The rain
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Feb 2016
Thank you! Chilling, eating, drinking, relaxing, catching up with friends is what Abernant does very well. I do hope that you will be able to come back when the weather is better and you can chill out in the fabulous garden.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LondonTra...
London
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great Christmas”
Reviewed 28 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015

We stayed at Abernant House and it was a great choice. Plenty of space for a large family, loads of bedrooms and bathrooms and a very well-stocked kitchen. Lovely garden.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Jan 2016
Thank you. I am glad that you had such a lovely Christmas and I do hope that you can come back to stay with us again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlastairG...
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfect Venue for Family Gathering!”
Reviewed 12 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016

Just returned from a wonderful w/e at Abernant House, 13 family - 3 generations, our first stay and we hope to return. Very comfortable and relaxing house, beautifully decorated with a library of books to browse, plenty of space and excellent bedroom/bathroom ratio. Brilliantly appointed kitchen which formed the hub for all our huge family meals. Jo, the manager, was very helpful throughout the booking and gave us a warm welcome on arrival, her lemon curd cake was especially appreciated!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The wonderful interior decor and garden
Liked least: Near a busy road
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing