We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing 2 night stay with friends!! Would...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Abernant House

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The well equipped kitchen with 4 oven Aga
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
36 reviews
The well equipped kitchen with 4 oven Aga
The large oak table is perfect for relaxed meals
French windows lead from the kitchen to the garden
The large kitchen has a 4 oven electric Aga
The beautiful drawing room
The grand piano can be used by guests
The cosy TV room/snug
Wood panelled TV room/snug
Our very well stocked library
The large king sized ensuite bedroom with a large balcony overlooking the garden.
Lie in bed and look out at the amazing scenery
The master room has its own Juliet balcony overlooking the garden
This single room leads out to a large balcony overlooking the garden
The beautiful gardens looking out towards the Black Mountains.
Outdoor tables and chairs for alfresco dining
Relax in the garden
Our private stretch of the River Wye
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
7 Bedrooms, 6 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Builth Wells, Powys, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 36 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
TerriB93
Andover, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“Amazing 2 night stay with friends!! Would definitely stay again :)”
Reviewed 17 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

14 of us ageing from 20 to 29 stayed for a weekend on the 8th July at Abernant and I think it's fair to say we're all missing it. Jo was really friendly when showing us around even left us a cake and a basket of eggs which was a nice touch and went down a treat.

The house is huuuuuge!! And secluded which was great for us not having to worry about disturbing any neighbours. We made use of the bbq over the weekend despite the weather, we took shelter under the huge tree in the garden which was very cosy.

The river down the bottom of the garden is amazing, and having private use to it was even better.

The only down side was that we didn't stay longer..
Overall we all agreed we'd come back to this stunning house in the future.

Thanks for having us :)

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Itry M
1 review
“Great”
Reviewed 11 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We had a great time at the house which is an amazing place to stay! Fantastic scenery and very relaxing! Wonderful book collection at the house and bundles of character! Jo is an amazing hostess! Baked us a very tasty cake and I greedily shovelled down three whole slices on the Monday morning!!!

Would highly recommend!!!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mslade814
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Dream weekend!”
Reviewed 28 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

I surprised my boyfriend for his 30th birthday and took him and nine friends to Abernant house for the weekend. We had a brilliant time, Jo had prepared balloons and a cake for when we arrived, the grounds were fantastic, we had our own private beach leading onto the River Wye and went on a great walk up to the forest, which was the only time we left the house! We ordered a huge food delivery and had a big BBQ the first night followed by cooking a huge curry on the aga the second night which was extremely easy to cook on, and kept the house nice and warm!

The house was incredible, from the hand painted Chinese wallpaper to our bedroom which opened out to a balcony with the most beautiful view of the forest. Even though it rained the second day we were more than happy to stay in the house playing the piano, chess, board games and just dance around a house we all wished we could live in!

If you're looking for somewhere relaxed with amazing interiors, a lovely host and great walks you NEED to visit.

There is so much to do but equally so many places to just sit and relax. We will definitely be coming back!

Thank you Jo! Scott had the best birthday ever.

Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MikeC-475...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely house in beautiful surroundings”
Reviewed 5 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016

This is our second visit to the magical Abernant House and was better than ever. The house feels like a gorgeous family home and Jo is a welcoming host, We had a really relaxing week and were lucky to have such glorious sunshine to see the garden in full flower. The large kitchen has lots of utensils, crockery and glasses and plenty of space for the nine of us to cook, eat and chat over breakfast and dinner. There was a supply of logs for us to light a fire occasionally in the evening in the drawing room and relax in the comfortable sofas.
All the bedrooms are large with good beds and fluffy towels and most overlook the garden.
No mobile signal, except for those on O2, but the wifi works if you really need to keep in touch, though I don't think fast broadband has got to Abernant.
We hope to return again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: So spacious and
Liked least: Only two showers for the whole house
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Jun 2016
Thank you, Mike.
It was lovely to see you all again. I am so glad that you had such a lovely time and such wonderful weather.
You are right, the Broadband isn't fast but they do promise that the Superfast Broadband Cymru will be with us soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melg76201...
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
1 review
“Hidden gem!”
Reviewed 9 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Having just returned from a hen weekend stay at Abernant House with 11 lovely ladies, I just wanted to write and say thank you.

On arrival we were greeted with a delicious lemon cake and a basket of eggs. Every room was ready to receive our group, comfortable beds and clean bedding awaited us.

The kitchen is so well stocked and we wanted for nothing when preparing all our meals. Aga is amazing to cook on and everyone was able to sit around the magnificent table. Perfect for socialising into the early hours.

So much space and rooms to choose from. Our resident pianist particularly enjoyed the piano!

Gardens are spotless and the river section is idyllic. The tree swing provided much entertainment also.

Perfectly situated for our needs (a spot of gorge walking) and we popped into Builth for a few drinks.

Jo was the perfect host and we can't recommend this house enough. The history that surrounds it and the beautiful hand painted wallpaper is amazing.

We'd love to visit again - can't recommend enough!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: Space
Liked least: Lack of wifi signal in some rooms
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 May 2016
Thank you for taking the time to send us such a lovely review. It does make all the difference to us as Abernant is such a unique and special place to stay. We strive to give our personal attention to every group of guests to ensure that they have a relaxing, welcoming and fun holiday, shortbreak or celebration.

I do very much hope that you will be able to come back and stay with us soon......with your lovely new husband.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam M
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“what a place!”
Reviewed 25 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

For her 30th birthday, I decided to surprise my girlfriend with a weekend away in Wales. 10 good friends joined us, meaning we were 12 in total for the weekend (plus a very very happy dog).

Where do I start?! Everything was amazing - Jo was an incredible host - she baked a birthday cake, wrote a card & gave us some lovely eggs on arrival. Although we didn't know the exact size of our group until the last minute, she was incredibly accommodating and very relaxed. She gave us a quick tour of the house and told of us of the fascinating history within!

The house & grounds are breathtaking. We arrived on the Friday night (having ordered a delivery from the supermarket prior to arrival) and not one of us left the land owned by the house until it was time to leave on Sunday afternoon (we paid a small extra fee to be able to enjoy the Sunday there - and had a lovely roast). The house is massive! Everyone was very comfortable in their own bedrooms (either twin or double) and there were ample bathrooms so we never felt on top of one another, but it was also intimate and cosy enough that it felt warm & welcoming, and the downstairs areas were perfect for the large group we had.

I know it's a cliché but words really don't do it justice! We are already planning our next trip and couldn't recommend it highly enough for a group of a similar size (10-15 people), regardless of age and interests.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It would be unfair to single anything out, house, garden, river, host, surroundings and host were all perfect
Liked least: Having to leave!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Apr 2016
I am so very glad you had such a marvellous weekend. We do our best to make sure that each group of guests have the very best personal service and being part of the surprise makes our job a lot of fun.
We very much look forward to having back to stay with us.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katherine...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect house for a hen party in the countryside!”
Reviewed 18 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We spend the weekend at Abernant House for a friends hen party and had a brilliant time. The house is huge, comfortable and ideal for socialising, it has lots of character as well as stunning views. Jo was a great host and made us very welcome. Would highly recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing