We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favourite place in Wales! ”
Review of The Kestrel Inn

The Kestrel Inn
Ranked #2 of 32 Restaurants in Crickhowell
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$39
Description: Beautiful old Coaching Inn nestled in the foothills of the Black Mountains. Just outside Crickhowell. Modern British food with a Mediterranean influence. Ales, Amstel, Moretti and local cider with a big selection of wine. Dogs welcome in the bar.
Restaurant details
Description: Beautiful old Coaching Inn nestled in the foothills of the Black Mountains. Just outside Crickhowell. Modern British food with a Mediterranean influence. Ales, Amstel, Moretti and local cider with a big selection of wine. Dogs welcome in the bar.
Reviewed 25 February 2017 via mobile

Lovely staff, incredible food, beautiful location and such a relaxed atmosphere! We always look forward to going back!

Date of visit: December 2016
Thank Sammy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (194)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

84 - 88 of 194 reviews

Reviewed 24 February 2017 via mobile

Dropped by today on the way to Porthcawl. Saw the building, pulled over and entered to a lovely open fire and fantastic service. Food was great and they couldn't do more to accommodate us with our 18 month old. A great find and we look forward to visiting again!

Date of visit: February 2017
Thank Marc T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard L, Owner at The Kestrel Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2017

Hi

Thanks very much for you superb review. It was great to meet you all yesterday, i must say your young man has a fine appetite. Have a chilled break and enjoy the crickhowell steaks! See you next time you are in the area.

Regards

Richard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2017

Stayed in the area for over a week and found the best food and drink here. Owners were so pleasant and personable while professional ... Would come back to the area just to stop at the Kestrel for dinner ...the lamb tangine (lamb raised in the field right over there <smile>) was so carefully flavored and balanced, the fish and chips may have been the best I ever had, even the side's were matched and prepared perfectly, and got a great education on Real Ales . A bit of a french influence on the decor and food that only added to the ambiance ...

Date of visit: September 2016
Thank IcyWolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard L, Owner at The Kestrel Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2017

Hi

Thanks very much for your generous review, it is always a pleasure to welcome people who appreciate the effort we make in provinance and food miles.
We hope to see you on your next visit this way.

Regards
Richard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2017

Beautiful views , have to cross a very busy road not even a pavement as you exit just straight on to busy road , visited because of reviews. No starters available just beef or chicken , we ordered beef no Yorkshire pudding but the large table they served after us were given it, vegetables not aldente raw , the gravy was a juice not real gravy , my local cafe does better dinners , couldn't wait to get home .....

Date of visit: February 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank taffyjacie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard L, Owner at The Kestrel Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2017

Hello Taffyjacie
Thank you for your review.
There are some elements I can do nothing about, but I could certainly have rectified any errors with your meal at the time.
We pride ourselves on our quality and customer service and am sorry you were dissapointed.

Regards
Richard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2017

We were made very welcome by mine host Richard for dinner, bed and breakfast. The food was lovely, the champagne perfect and the ambience delightful. Our bedroom was a little chilly because the radiator didn't produce much heat, but the bed was so very comfortable. Love to return and walk off full stomachs!

Date of visit: February 2017
Thank Nickmowat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard L, Owner at The Kestrel Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2017

Hi
Thanks so much for your review, it was a pleasure to meet you both and give you a well deserved night off from your business.
We look forward to another visit soon.

Regards

Richard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Kestrel Inn also viewed

Crickhowell, Brecon Beacons National Park
Crickhowell, Brecon Beacons National Park
 
Crickhowell, Brecon Beacons National Park
Crickhowell, Brecon Beacons National Park
 
Brecon, Brecon Beacons National Park
Llanfrynach, Brecon Beacons National Park
 

Been to The Kestrel Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing