We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay and great breakfast”
Review of Porth-y-Berllan

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Crickhowell
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Porth-y-Berllan
Ranked #6 of 16 Crickhowell B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Nice stay and great breakfast”
Reviewed 1 September 2014

Decent size room, comfortable bed and great breakfast. Well positioned and could walk into Crickhowell easily. Jean was also very helpful. Would go back. Also had a great time when we got our rowing boat out on Llangors lake

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gary r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    7
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
46
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 1 September 2014

We truly enjoyed our 2 nights-stay at Porth-y-Berllan.
The room was very cosy and the whole house was very clean. When we got back after a whole day of walking in rain we were offered a special place for our clothes and shoes to dry.
Also the breakfasts were very tasty and Jean was always happy to serve a version customized to our requirements.
Finally, the place has a very good location - literally 5 minutes walk from the town centre with its pubs, shops or bus stop.
It is our pleasure to recommend Porth-y-Berllan to everybody looking for accommodation in Crickhowell.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Dawid K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 30 August 2014

We were made to feel immediately at home by Jean, who looked after us royally for our 5 days stay. Our room was comfortable and very clean (if a little small) with an excellent en suite. Easy off road parking and a short footpath to the charming town centre. There were breakfast choices to suite everyone and we certainly never left feeling hungry. Jean was a cheery, very considerate and thoughtful host. We highly recommend this B&B. Thank you Porth-y-Berllan.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Linda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 30 August 2014

My partner and I were in Crickhowell for a wedding, and as such had some very early starts and late nights. Jean was very accommodating with this, making sure that we had everything we needed. The room was lovely, spotlessly clean and comfortable and breakfast was spot on! The only tiny downside was that next doors conversation was almost legible through the walls; some sound proofing wouldn't go amiss!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alice R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Bit haphazard check in but Jean and her son were very friendly and helpful. Rooms were small but clean and cozy with great en suite. Fantastic, huge and tasty full breakfast both days! Would recommend to anyone looking to stay in the area

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KScottish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

This b&b is a gem. The welcome was second to none, location just outside the town centre ideal. Lovely walk, about 5 mins, to the wonderful town that is Crickhowell. It's full of proper local shops, cafes and pubs serving great food and ales.
The rooms were roomy and very comfortable but the breakfast was my favourite. Delicious and plenty of it!
Can't wait to go back and stay again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oakwellian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenilworth
Level Contributor
51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Must be one of the best B&B in Wales! Easy to find in Crickhowell - just look for the castle walls - with good parking, splendid rooms and a lovely breakfast, all at a good price! We were there for a family wedding, pity about the weather.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim1943Kenilworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crickhowell
0.7 mi away
The Old Rectory Country Hotel and Golf Club
0.5 mi away
The Manor Hotel
The Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Crickhowell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
5.9 mi away
The Angel
The Angel
#1 of 2 in Abergavenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 852 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Peterstone Court Hotel
Peterstone Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanhamlach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 893 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Bear Hotel
The Bear Hotel
#2 of 16 in Crickhowell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 708 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ty Croeso Bed & Breakfast
Ty Croeso Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 2 in Llangattock
5.0 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Porth-y-Berllan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porth-y-Berllan

Property: Porth-y-Berllan
Address: Porth y Berllan Brecon Road, Brecon Beacons National Park, Crickhowell NP8 1DG, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Brecon Beacons National Park > Crickhowell
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Crickhowell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Porth-y-Berllan, a small family run bed & breakfast situated just eight minutes walk from the center of Crickhowell.Crickhowell which is nestled in the heart of the Brecon Beacons is a walkers paradise. There is also plenty to see/do like Visit Hay-on-Wye, Big Pit, Llanthony Priory and Cwmyoy church. Go fishing on the Usk, canoeing on the Wye, horse riding and rope climbing/caving (We are central to all of these).For those wanting to relax, read the papers or a good book while enjoying a cuppa you are welcome to sit in our garden and take in the views. If its a days shopping your after why not catch the train to Cardiff, the capital of wales (station seven miles away and trains run every hour). ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Porth-y-Berllan Crickhowell, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing