We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Charming accommodation situated in an ideal...”
other travellers have booked this property
River Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
River Cottage
The Courtyard Entrance and BBQ
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Average
30 reviews
River Cottage
The Courtyard
Entrance and BBQ
Accommodation centrally heated with maple floor
Bedroom configured as double bed with optional 3rd bunk bed
Crickhowell Bridge 50m from River Cottage
Seating area
Sunset from Sugarloaf mountain
Shower room
Fully equipped kitchen
Belfast sink ideal for preparing your salmon!
Shower room
Bedroom configured as bunks for 2
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Crickhowell, Brecon Beacons National Park, Wales

Reviews from our community

Average - based on 30 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
paul w
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Charming accommodation situated in an ideal location.”
Reviewed 17 April 2013 for a stay in April 2013

We recently stayed for 3 nights at River Cottage. The accommodation although compact offered everything that we required and i would most certainly return to stay again.The cottage provided us with everything that was required for our stay and I have no complaints about the ammenities ,which were all clean and in working order. It is situated in a most ideal position next to a pub by the river Usk with views of the hills in the distance. As we are very keen walkers the cottage located in Crickhowell offered an ideal base to explore the Brecon Beacons. Although parking spaces were not in abundance i was able to park near to the cottage and had no issue with leaving my car on the roadside as Crickhowell appeared to be such a friendly and safe place to stay. The town itself has an abundance of public houses, shops and restaurants. I found my stay in the area to be very relaxing and the cottage excellent value.
Ps having read the review prior to mine i can only assume that this guest did not read the owners description of the cottage as a mansion it most certainly isn't nor a five star hotel.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Situation
Liked least: Parking
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 March 2013 for a stay in March 2013
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: nothing
Liked least: everything
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
15 Apr 2013
I am sorry you feel that the small size of the cottage was not to your satisfaction. However it clealy states on the website particulars of the small and cosy nature of the accomodation. With respect to the bedding I have noted your comments and can now assure guests that all bedding will be ironed to a higher standard. Addressing the damp - can only advise that a cottage of this age and construction will when full of people, dogs and damp outdoor clothing with the windows shut, will run with condensation from within. There is no damp issue otherwise. I have to advise that when in occupation, especially through the night it is advised that a window is left slightly open to allow the moisture from the occupants normal breathing to escape to avoid the build up of condensation upon the walls. Shower temperature tested and found to be warm. Door requires pushing firmly to close. Thank you for your comments , which are used to improve our service.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
1930500Mi...
Brightlingsea, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“good base for after days walking..”
Reviewed 30 December 2012 for a stay in December 2012

River cottage or habit hole as it is more aptely named..
. This accomadation is an ideal base for two people who are planning to go walking, or explore the surrounding area.

Its best asset is the kitchen very well equipped and good space.. The living space is very small a wooden seating area with table for eating and a bunk bed which opens into double.. Kind of works unless you need to get up in the night..awkward to get out of if you are under Neath the top bunk.. But ideal for two single people.. No real storage space for bags clothes etc.. So we used the top bunk.

The bathroom is adequate a very powerful shower unfortunately the water doesn't get past warm which was dissapointing after getting cold and wet whilst walking..

Crickhowell is a lovely town with plenty of shops pubs with free WiFi and a very good tourist information centre.. Who were very helpful.
We were lucky to find parking right outside which was great..

I think this accommadation is best suited for people intending to spend the days out probably best in warmer weather when the courtyard is able to be used as space very limited.. Communication with owner very pleasant..

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: kitchen
Liked least: sleeping arrangment and lack of living space
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartlepool, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 August 2012 for a stay in July 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Need a proper mattress for the top bunk
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Walker124
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great little cottage”
Reviewed 27 August 2012 for a stay in August 2012

Lovely location, Crickhowell is a great little town with a good butcher/baker and lots of pubs (the one just across the road does a lovely steak). Very friendly locals! Cottage (affectionately referred to as the 'Hobbit Hole') was very well equipped and clean, though compact.
Cons: Could do with more storage space for clothes, though I think we brought more than the average amount with us.
Pros: Brilliant base for walking and cycling in the Brecon Beacons with many good walks starting in or near Crickhowell.
We found parking without fail either outside the cottage or just up the road in Castle Street.
All in all, a lovely stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: The rain!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smiley_sc...
Halifax, West Yorkshire
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Quaint, comfortable and ideal location!!”
Reviewed 19 August 2012 for a stay in August 2012

River Cottage is a lovely, compact cottage perfect for two. The kitchen is well equipped and we found everything we needed for the week. The bathroom is quirky with the door doubling as the shower door but the shower was super powerful and nice and hot - just what was needed after a long day's walk! We pulled out the bottom bunk of the beds to use as a double - comfortable but was a little tricky to pull out and push back in. We managed to use the outside space on the few sunny days we had - it was lovely to chill out and enjoy a BBQ in the evening (the black mountain sirloin steaks from Cashells butchers are fantastic and melt in the mouth!!). The pub over the road (Bridge End Inn) has a lovely beer garden and some good ales. The Bear pub in the village is huge and food is good. There's a great little outdoor shop too which came in handy when we realised we'd forgotten some bits!
The cottage is perfectly situated for some amazing walks - Table Mountain and the surrounding peaks can be done direct from the cottage, Sugar Loaf Mountain, Blorenge and Pen Y Fan are a short drive away but well worth the effort.
Met the owners, Rupert and Melanie and they were lovely and friendly. There are things in the cottage which are in need of some TLC and the owners are eager to update and improve. However, they have not owned the cottage for long and have not been able to get in to do any work because it has been fully booked so please bear this in mind! I'm sure they will work on it, when they can!!
For the price, this is a wonderful little cottage and we enjoyed our stay immensely.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location!
Liked least: Parking!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
suea676
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
98 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Great little bolt hole - ideal for walkers/cyclists”
Reviewed 26 June 2012 for a stay in June 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Hi this is a well kitted out place - albeit compact - ideal to use as a base for walkers and cyclists to the area. We found the place remarkably well equipped for such a small place. Unfortunately the weather wasnt great so we couldnt take advantange of the outside space. Very close to a good pub and 5 mins walk to the small town with ample amenities. if you are looking for luxury accomodation then look elsewhere.
Recommendations - shower door could fit better and water could be a little hotter. Wi-fi or radio would be good.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Water not hot enough
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing