We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Once Again”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Crickhowell
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Glan y Dwr Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 16 Crickhowell B&B and Inns
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Excellent Once Again”
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

This is our 2nd stay with Alison and Julian and hyacinths fault it. Arrived early and Julian very kindly moved his car so we could park on site and Alison provided the room key whilst we went off for the day which was exceedingly helpful. Room was great as was breakfast and bed was very comfortable. Thanks again for another great experience.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sue4067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlisonS815, Owner at Glan y Dwr Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
It was lovely that you chose to come and stay with us again, thank you. Thank you for your kind comments; we really appreciate your feedback and find it very encouraging. You'll be welcome back if you decide to put your new knowledge to the test on the hills!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    132
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
25
82
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

We had the pleasure of staying at this lovely place for 1 night. The attention to detail was divine. The bed was very comfortable. Our room 'Sugar loaf' was just perfect! Very clean. The owners were lovely people and made us feel very comfortable. The breakfast was very nice the next morning. Fresh fruit. Orange juice and a selection of hot foods. I was very impressed. The garden area looked lovely as well; alas it rained during our stay or we would have made full use of the beautiful outdoor area.

free WIFI was excellent. Onsite parking too!

I highly recommend you stay here! you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: Sugar loaf was nice :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gemsy83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlisonS815, Owner at Glan y Dwr Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
You must come again and stay for longer! We re so pleased that your short stay was enjoyable, even though the weather wasn't kind on that day. Thank you for your lovely comments, it's very encouraging for us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfax, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

I would highly recommend this B&B to anyone. Our room, the Sugarloaf, was very clean and the bed was exceptionally comfortable. Alison and Julian are fantastic hosts and did not miss any little detail. As guests that have dietary requirements, they ensured everything, from our breakfast spread to our room snack, met our needs. Alison is a fantastic cook and breakfast was delicious. Additionally, if you are looking for someone to give advice on hiking in the Park, Julian can provide first class recommendations. This place was absolutely perfect.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Storm H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlisonS815, Owner at Glan y Dwr Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Thank you! It's so lovely to have positive feedback from guests and to know they have enjoyed their stay with us. Come back if you're in Wales again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We were only passing through for one night. But Julian and Alison provided such a warm welcome to their beautiful home that we are already thinking it would be an excellent idea to return for a few days holiday. The rooms are spacious, elegant and spotlessly clean and the breakfast a delight. And there are plenty of good places to eat in the evening just a few minutes walk away. Why would you stay anywhere else?

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debra_manchester_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlisonS815, Owner at Glan y Dwr Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Thank you so much for your wonderfully appreciative review. We re happy if our guests are happy to stay with us and feel at home here. You'll be very welcome if you decide to come back for a longer time to get to know our lovely area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 24 May 2014

We booked two nights in Glan y Dwr B&B for a wedding in May this year and had a highly enjoyable stay in this homely B&B. We booked two rooms, Sugarloaf and Skirrid, both were to an immaculate standard with everything that you would need. Very clean and very spacious rooms, tastefully decorated. The owners were very welcoming and the breakfast was a particular highlight - the locally sourced food was delicious.

Crickhowell itself was also very nice and we were very lucky with the weather. We would definitely recommend this B&B (the nicest B&B I've ever stayed in) and I would stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlisonS815, Owner at Glan y Dwr Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 25 May 2014
Thank you for taking the trouble to review Glan y Dwr, and thank you for such positive and complementary comments. We hope our guests feel at home here and enjoy the produce from our local suppliers. We hope to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We stayed here as a couple on our first trip to Wales. We were so happy to have such a beautiful place to stay, house grounds and the lovely room. Breakfast was delicious (some of the best eggs I have ever had). Everything is locally sourced. The Hosts, Alison and Julian were amazing about giving us space, but making us feel at home. We also would never have been able to see what we did in our hikes and drives without their patient, detailed and unique recommendations. We also were enchanted by the town of Crickhowell and loved going to the local pub on the river and walking along the river.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flyginnyfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlisonS815, Owner at Glan y Dwr Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Thank you for your lovely comments about your recent stay with us. It's our pleasure to share our home with appreciative guests and we never tire of boasting about our wonderful area, especially when it's their first introduction to Wales. Thank you for making the effort to write a great review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catbro
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

We've just spent our second break (for the Walking festival) at Glan y Dwr. Cannot fault it. Highly recommended for a perfect luxurious relaxing stay. Room is very comfortable. Nothing too much trouble.Thank You Julian and Alison.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catbro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlisonS815, Owner at Glan y Dwr Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Thank you for your very positive review and your very affirming comments. You are always delightful guests and we'll be happy to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crickhowell
0.6 mi away
The Manor Hotel
The Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Crickhowell
585 reviews
5.8 mi away
The Angel
The Angel
#1 of 2 in Abergavenny
877 reviews
24.7 mi away
The Lake Country House & Spa
The Lake Country House & Spa
#1 of 1 in Llangammarch Wells
897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Peterstone Court Hotel
Peterstone Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanhamlach
927 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ty Croeso Bed & Breakfast
Ty Croeso Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 2 in Llangattock
360 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Bear Hotel
The Bear Hotel
#2 of 16 in Crickhowell
733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glan y Dwr Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glan y Dwr Bed & Breakfast

Property: Glan y Dwr Bed & Breakfast
Address: Glanydwr Llanbedr Road, Brecon Beacons National Park, Crickhowell NP8 1BT, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Brecon Beacons National Park > Crickhowell
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Crickhowell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Glan y Dwr Bed & Breakfast 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you at Glan y Dwr, a 5* accredited, licensed B&B in an elegant historic house situated in the centre of the small market town of Crickhowell. We are well-placed for walking, cycling and other outdoor activities in the spectacular Brecon Beacons National Park. A good choice of eating and drinking establishments lies within a short walking distance. The B&B is recipient of a Visit Wales Gold Award for 2016 and is beautifully presented with elegant reception rooms and three sumptuous bedrooms all with extensive views and en-suite bath and shower facilities. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Glan y Dwr Bed & Breakfast Crickhowell, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing