We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A charming place in a wonderful scenery”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Crickhowell
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Glan y Dwr Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 15 Crickhowell B&B and Inns
Reviewed 14 August 2014

This B&B is really nicely designed and furnished with high quality pieces of furniture and provides ample opportunities to withdraw in the living rooms. The B&B rooms are very clean and quite cosy. We especially appreciated the extremely kind owners who showed a genuine interest in our stories and discussions. In the morning, they gave us very valuable tips and suggestions for the day ranging from wonderful hiking tours to places to visit or other activities. And not to be forgotten – the breakfast was quite varied and scrumptious.
However, it should be noted that the house is situated on a quite busy road. Therefore, the traffic is a bit annoying. But when you keep the windows, which are well insulated, shut at night, you really have no problem to sleep well, since you do not hear the road.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KD_2013164
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlisonS815, Owner at Glan y Dwr Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2014

Thank you for your comments on your stay with us. We re glad you appreciated the house and the surrounding countryside and we enjoyed some interesting conversations with each other. We hope that most guests appreciate that there is a balance to be made between being situated within easy walking distance of the town's facilities and being by a road. At least the double glazing in the rooms is effective!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (137)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 137 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

This is our 2nd stay with Alison and Julian and hyacinths fault it. Arrived early and Julian very kindly moved his car so we could park on site and Alison provided the room key whilst we went off for the day which was exceedingly helpful. Room was great as was breakfast and bed was very comfortable. Thanks again for another great experience.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Sue4067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlisonS815, Owner at Glan y Dwr Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

It was lovely that you chose to come and stay with us again, thank you. Thank you for your kind comments; we really appreciate your feedback and find it very encouraging. You'll be welcome back if you decide to put your new knowledge to the test on the hills!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

We had the pleasure of staying at this lovely place for 1 night. The attention to detail was divine. The bed was very comfortable. Our room 'Sugar loaf' was just perfect! Very clean. The owners were lovely people and made us feel very comfortable. The breakfast was very nice the next morning. Fresh fruit. Orange juice and a selection of hot foods. I was very impressed. The garden area looked lovely as well; alas it rained during our stay or we would have made full use of the beautiful outdoor area.

free WIFI was excellent. Onsite parking too!

I highly recommend you stay here! you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: Sugar loaf was nice :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Gemsy83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlisonS815, Owner at Glan y Dwr Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2014

You must come again and stay for longer! We re so pleased that your short stay was enjoyable, even though the weather wasn't kind on that day. Thank you for your lovely comments, it's very encouraging for us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

I would highly recommend this B&B to anyone. Our room, the Sugarloaf, was very clean and the bed was exceptionally comfortable. Alison and Julian are fantastic hosts and did not miss any little detail. As guests that have dietary requirements, they ensured everything, from our breakfast spread to our room snack, met our needs. Alison is a fantastic cook and breakfast was delicious. Additionally, if you are looking for someone to give advice on hiking in the Park, Julian can provide first class recommendations. This place was absolutely perfect.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Storm H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlisonS815, Owner at Glan y Dwr Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Thank you! It's so lovely to have positive feedback from guests and to know they have enjoyed their stay with us. Come back if you're in Wales again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We were only passing through for one night. But Julian and Alison provided such a warm welcome to their beautiful home that we are already thinking it would be an excellent idea to return for a few days holiday. The rooms are spacious, elegant and spotlessly clean and the breakfast a delight. And there are plenty of good places to eat in the evening just a few minutes walk away. Why would you stay anywhere else?

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debra_manchester_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlisonS815, Owner at Glan y Dwr Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Thank you so much for your wonderfully appreciative review. We re happy if our guests are happy to stay with us and feel at home here. You'll be very welcome if you decide to come back for a longer time to get to know our lovely area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

We booked two nights in Glan y Dwr B&B for a wedding in May this year and had a highly enjoyable stay in this homely B&B. We booked two rooms, Sugarloaf and Skirrid, both were to an immaculate standard with everything that you would need. Very clean and very spacious rooms, tastefully decorated. The owners were very welcoming and the breakfast was a particular highlight - the locally sourced food was delicious.

Crickhowell itself was also very nice and we were very lucky with the weather. We would definitely recommend this B&B (the nicest B&B I've ever stayed in) and I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlisonS815, Owner at Glan y Dwr Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2014

Thank you for taking the trouble to review Glan y Dwr, and thank you for such positive and complementary comments. We hope our guests feel at home here and enjoy the produce from our local suppliers. We hope to see you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We stayed here as a couple on our first trip to Wales. We were so happy to have such a beautiful place to stay, house grounds and the lovely room. Breakfast was delicious (some of the best eggs I have ever had). Everything is locally sourced. The Hosts, Alison and Julian were amazing about giving us space, but making us feel at home. We also would never have been able to see what we did in our hikes and drives without their patient, detailed and unique recommendations. We also were enchanted by the town of Crickhowell and loved going to the local pub on the river and walking along the river.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flyginnyfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlisonS815, Owner at Glan y Dwr Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Thank you for your lovely comments about your recent stay with us. It's our pleasure to share our home with appreciative guests and we never tire of boasting about our wonderful area, especially when it's their first introduction to Wales. Thank you for making the effort to write a great review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crickhowell
0.7 mi away
The Old Rectory Country Hotel and Golf Club
0.6 mi away
The Manor Hotel
The Manor Hotel
#1 of 3 in Crickhowell
612 reviews
3.0 mi away
Gliffaes Country House Hotel
Gliffaes Country House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Crickhowell
530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
The Angel
The Angel
#1 of 3 in Abergavenny
919 reviews
9.5 mi away
Peterstone Court Hotel
Peterstone Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanhamlach
969 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Bear Hotel
The Bear Hotel
#2 of 15 in Crickhowell
773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glan y Dwr Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glan y Dwr Bed & Breakfast

Address: Glanydwr Llanbedr Road, Brecon Beacons National Park, Crickhowell NP8 1BT, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Brecon Beacons National Park > Crickhowell
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Crickhowell
Price Range: £55 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Glan y Dwr Bed & Breakfast 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you at Glan y Dwr, a 5* accredited, licensed B&B in an elegant historic house situated in the centre of the small market town of Crickhowell. We are well-placed for walking, cycling and other outdoor activities in the spectacular Brecon Beacons National Park. A good choice of eating and drinking establishments lies within a short walking distance. The B&B is recipient of a Visit Wales Gold Award for 2016 and is beautifully presented with elegant reception rooms and three sumptuous bedrooms all with extensive views and en-suite bath and shower facilities. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Glan y Dwr Bed & Breakfast Crickhowell, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing