We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value for money”
Review of Court Room Cafe

Court Room Cafe
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
canada
Level 6 Contributor
204 reviews
151 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Excellent value for money”
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We chanced on this cafe hidden away, and were not disappointed with thw cleanliness and choice of fresh food. Tea was brought on a tray with jug of hot water to top up. Bone china cups as well. My cheesecake was lovely. Will visit next time in town.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ted87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    35
    5
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Very tasty breakfast!”
Reviewed 24 February 2014

We stayed in the local YHA that was self-catering, so headed into town to find breakfast. There appeared to be only two options, and we chose the Courtroom Cafe as it is a lovely old building, and said 'homemade' food on the entrance.
Staff were friendly and welcoming, lovely light airy room upstairs - not sure if there is a lift, but there is a disabled toilet. Cheerfully decorated with local artists work.
Food was prompt and very tasty, local bacon and bread we were told. Highly recommend!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank thelostbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brecon, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“My sometimes local”
Reviewed 23 December 2013

Ahhh..the Courtroom Cafe at Crickhowell. This is my regular haunt as cars go in to the garage for MoT etc. However my mechanical needs are of no interest in this review. The Cafe is truly excellent, with a good range of teas and freshly...and that is cooked while you wait meals...that are truly excellent. A fabulous breakfast with an equally excellent lunch can be purchased here...the Cafe' part of the name is not really a true relection on the quality of the food. This is not a greasy spoon, but decent grub at a good price and good local sourcing! A1 !!!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank OxfordSandyandBlack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blaenavon, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“The cafe which is just what it says on the sign.”
Reviewed 2 November 2013

This, as the name implies, is a cafe in an old courthouse in one of Wales's prettiest little towns. Set in a high room with moulded ceiling, It is full of atmosphere, cosy, with lovely home-cooked food. Families are made very welcome and there is plenty of choice. Very popualr with the locals (which is always a good sign).

There is a lift for the less mobile.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Roger B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Home cooking”
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Checked this out on a very rainy day in Crickhowell. Lovely, tasty home cooked meals. I had a curry and lentil pasty which was very tasty, along with my choice of salads. Topped this off with a gorgeous home made apple pie and cream. Pastry was divine. Good prices and staff very friendly.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Olive B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Court Room Cafe also viewed

Crickhowell, Brecon Beacons National Park
Crickhowell, Brecon Beacons National Park
 
Crickhowell, Brecon Beacons National Park
Llangattock, Crickhowell
 
Crickhowell, Brecon Beacons National Park
Crickhowell, Brecon Beacons National Park
 

Been to Court Room Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing