We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A welcome return to Gliffaes”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Gliffaes Country House Hotel
Ranked #3 of 16 Crickhowell B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A welcome return to Gliffaes”
Reviewed 27 August 2014

We recently spent a long weekend at Gliffaes. Having stayed there in 2012, I took the unusual decision to go back (not something we often tend to do preferring to explore other places).
We enjoyed ourselves so much in 2012 that I booked a three night stay as a surprise for my husband's birthday. Once again we were not disappointed and continued our love affair with Gliffaes. It is a wonderful place to stay, not just due to the actual building, but the staff, the relaxed atmosphere, attention to detail and fabulous gardens.. the list is endless.
A very thoughtful touch was a bottle of Prosecco placed in our room, to toast the birthday boy.
The only thing we did not enjoy was the weather. Traditional wet weather for a UK Bank Holiday !
Thank you Gliffaes for a wonderful stay. I highly recommend this to everyone visiting the area.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hbrun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

522 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    296
    130
    49
    26
    21
See reviews for
104
273
16
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed for two nights with a Groupon voucher, we found the hotel clean and comfortable and decorated in a charmingly eclectic style. During our break we felt a bit like we had stepped off the technological merry go round, wonderful for us, but might not be everyone's cup of tea! The service was very good and the setting was superb, we loved the gentle walks, the scenery, and the peace and quiet. There was a great selection of wines and spirits at the bar and the afternoon tea was delicious. I must say that we probably wouldn't have chosen dinner at the hotel if it hadn't been included in our voucher as it was rather pricey for what it was. The breakfasts were nice but not fantastic and a little on the small side. If we had been paying full price I would have been rather disappointed. Having said that, it was only a small grouch and didn't spoil our stay in the slightest. We would definitely return when we need a break away from it all.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lucypm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South West London
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014

A quick trip to Wales gave us our first encounter of this quiet retreat. Only one night spent here so hard to give anything but a first impression, but we liked what we experienced. Staff were friendly and helpful with owner making a point of meeting all guests. Nice chap James!

Really comfortable bed in lovely room with fabulous view and sounds of the river (Usk).

Saw on the website that fishing was available so for the first time in 20 years I took my tackle with me. Got up at dawn and joined my wife for breakfast after having had a beautiful 4 hours fishing in a wonderful setting and landing 3 fish.

Food was competent. Slight issue with breakfast led to sending one plate back - the owner was very apologetic when we told him later and very disappointed.

This will not put us off we will be back.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oldski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

This is a wonderful hotel

We have been many times and it is hugely relaxing and peaceful. Friendly staff and last time we were treated to a free upgrade to a room with a river view. It makes for really relaxing break. Food better then ever. Surroundings amazing. Comfy and homely. Do go

Room Tip: We think room 6 is the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peterblake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We stayed for a weekend break and were delighted with the service and food and the hotel grounds and vista from the terrace are simply stunning Dinner was extremely impressive with a good menu featuring locally sourced ingredients and the wine list had a good selection too. The River Usk flows through the grounds and there is a lovely 'tree walk' where you can experience the range of unusual trees planted in the grounds which is very picturesque - a true country house hotel.

Room Tip: Room 12 was a little noisy as it overlooks the front of the hotel and is above a dishwashing area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonItchyfeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

The only thing this place has going for it is location. Staff dont seem to know what they are doing and are very poorly structured. In fact so poorly structured it was quite laughable. Food was ok but bread was stale and not worth the money. One of our friends was left waiting and our meals were almost finished when his arrived. Dont waste your money !!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kate l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed two nights in this lovely hotel. It has great suroundings and athmosphere. Especially liked the lobby and bar area. The room was also clean and nice. We had dinner at the hotel one night. It was good, and it's nice they try to use local food. Although I feel that at least some dish could have been better.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Dag S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crickhowell
2.7 mi away
The Manor Hotel
The Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Crickhowell
591 reviews
6.6 mi away
Peterstone Court Hotel
Peterstone Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanhamlach
943 reviews
12.9 mi away
Llangoed Hall
Llangoed Hall
#1 of 1 in Llyswen
608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
Nant Ddu Lodge Hotel & Spa
9.6 mi away
Castle of Brecon
Castle of Brecon
#2 of 2 in Brecon
469 reviews
8.8 mi away
The Angel
The Angel
#1 of 3 in Abergavenny
898 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gliffaes Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gliffaes Country House Hotel

Property: Gliffaes Country House Hotel
Address: Gliffaes Road, Brecon Beacons National Park, Crickhowell NP8 1RH, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Brecon Beacons National Park > Crickhowell
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Crickhowell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Gliffaes Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gliffaes is a charming, 4 star country house hotel in the heart of the Brecon Beacons National Park.One of the last real fishing havens, the hotel is located off the beaten track in 33 acres of stunning grounds between Abergavenny and Brecon, surrounded by magnificent trees and next to the River Usk.The beautiful local landscape draws in walkers, cyclists and fishermen keen to get out and enjoy the countryside - whilst also staying in a little bit of luxury.Recipient of a Gold Award 2014 from Visit Wales, Gliffaes is a home away from home. Kick off your shoes and enjoy comfortable rooms, open fires, delicious food and excellent service.Run by James & Susie Suter since 1998, the hotel is passionate about this neck of the woods and the guests who stay there. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Gliffaes Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gliffaes Country House Hotel Crickhowell, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing