We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great wee cottage”
other travellers have booked this property
Sitting Room
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Sitting Room
Kitchen/Diner Kitchen/Diner
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
36 reviews
Sitting Room
Kitchen/Diner
Kitchen/Diner
Double Bedroom
Double Bedroom
garden1
garden2
Spring garden at Ramblers Rest
Spring in the garden2
Kitchen/Diner
Spring in the garden
River Usk
Crickhowell Castle
Morning - Crickhowell
Early Morning Mist
street view
Ramblers Rest Cottage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Crickhowell, Brecon Beacons National Park, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 36 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Bellamand...
United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great wee cottage”
Reviewed 7 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

This was a return visit to this lovely cottage in a vey nice village. It has everything you could need and a BBQ if the sun shines. It's a great base for days out at Hay on Wye (vintage fairs, book festival), Bike Park Wales, walking through waterfalls, the Big Pit, the cave/dinosaur theme park, climbing hills and visiting the local vineyard (at Sugarloaf), The village itself is full of good pubs (the Bear being particularly good for dinner) and nice shops. The fact we went back again this year says it all.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Jul 2015
Thank you or your review of your time in Crickhowell, and we are so glad you all had a good week - certainly you struck lucky with the weather, which brings this beautiful area into it's own. Christina (owner)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy S
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“An absolutely charming, delightful cottage, we hope to stay again!”
Reviewed 5 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

The place was perfectly located a few doors from a great pub serving excellent food, and an easy walk into the village. There is a great river walk nearby too.
The place itself we found perfectly laid out, comfortable beds and furniture, great kitchen, wonderful garden, and spotlessly clean!
I would hope to stay again when I am next in Crickhowell.
Highly recommended!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything about the place
Liked least: I couldn't fault the place
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 May 2015
Many thanks for taking the time to write a review of the cottage and I am so glad you all enjoyed your stay. Crickhowell is a very special place, and people do appreciate it's uniquness! Christina
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
803fannyd
2 reviews
“Just perfect”
Reviewed 29 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Christina is very welcoming. The cottage is so cute and comfortable. We found everything we needed as if we were at home.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Mar 2015
Thank you so much for your kind comments about the cottage - we do try to make it feel welcoming, so it is good to know that that is what our guests feel! Christina
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter R
Rugby, United Kingdom
1 review
“What a great place!”
Reviewed 25 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014

Discovered Crickhowell while on a canal holiday, a couple of years ago. Had been wanting to come back ever since. This cottage was a great find, had everything we could need, an excellent starting point from which to explore the Brecon Beacons. Friendly locals, lovely owners, a truly great little town.
A very enjoyable stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dearivan
london
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely spacious cottage in a great location”
Reviewed 24 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014

We were pleasantly surprised by the large spacious kitchen which didn't diminish the cosiness of the cottage. Christina was really welcoming as were all the locals we came across. The cottage is very close to the pretty high street but at the same time it's on a very quiet street. There were plenty of maps and booklets for walkers to use, and they were very useful for guiding us through an excellent walking week ( yes November was kind to us). We were car free and we found both, the location of the cottage and Crickhowell in itself a great starting point for many beautiful walks. It would be great going back in warmer weather to make the most of the lovely garden.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: I am tall and it was a nice change to have a big kitchen in a cottage
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben B
Saffron Walden
1 review
“Great little cottage in a gem of a town in Wales.”
Reviewed 16 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014

I had been hoping to show off this town to my family since visiting it myself and loving the place a few years back.
I found the cottage on the internet and liked the look of it. It did not disappoint. The beds were nice, it had a great kitchen with a great table to eat at. Nice high ceilings downstairs too which we all like.

The town is great with lots of places to eat and the high street with no chain stores was fantastic.

We will definitely revisit the town soon.

I must say the owners were excellent, they popped in to check we were settled in well on the first day which was nice and when we left they were kind enough to send on a package a mistakenly had sent to the cottage. This was very generous of them.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: House and Town
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rach G
1 review
“Cosy cottage, can't wait to return!”
Reviewed 21 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

The cottage was wonderful and the owner had thought of everything we could possibly need. The garden was a particularly pleasant spot to enjoy a cup of tea after being out and about. Hoping to return same time next year!

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Aug 2014
Thank you so much for your review - we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay, as we have tried really hard to provide a real 'homne from home' - so one can just walk in and enjoy the holiday. Glad that the weather was good to you, so you were able to enjoy being outside in the peace and quiet...
Looking forward to seeing you all again next year! Christina
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing