We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful 2 day stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dragon Inn Crickhowell
Ranked #3 of 16 Crickhowell B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 March 2014

My partner and I were looking for a little getaway in this rural location with access to local bike hire for a day trip and came across this little gem, £55 for a night. we arrived and were greeted warmly by Pedro who upgraded our room for no cost and was more than willing to help with our enquiries; when he learned of our need for bicycles informed Nigel (the owner?) who immediately set off to fetch his own 2 bikes, with no cost for us as they were considering setting up a hire scheme in the summer. Nigel couldn't do enough for us and when it came to dinner he sent us 2 glasses of champagne. lovely. the meal in the restaurant was of very high standard and for the quality was good value for money. the atmosphere was warm and the staff were attentive. The room itself was clean and warm and the bathroom was generously sized. very comfortable nights sleep. breakfast was also very nice with again friendly and attentive staff.
I can thougherly recommend and vouch for this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Creg W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (201)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

181 - 187 of 201 reviews

Reviewed 17 March 2014

We stayed at the Dragon Inn for one night as a large group of ladies celebrating some special birthdays (;-) and had a great experience throughout our stay. The staff were all friendly, helpful and attentive (thank you!) and gave us some useful tips on where else to visit in town. Its location was excellent, with so much to do right on the doorstep and excellent views all round. I really like the refurbished restaurant, which has a nice, modern yet friendly feel to it.

The food was excellent throughout our stay. The evening meal was spot-on for all members of the party of 10. Good use of local produce and all meals cooked very well. I had the venison, which was excellent. The high standard of the food continued for our breakfast. The Welsh breakfast rivals the best around, helped again by good quality locally sourced products.

I'll have no hesitation in recommending this reasonably priced quality hotel and restaurant to other and will be back!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Helen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

I visited the Dragon Inn last year when it had just been taken over by the new owners and I promised them I'd look in again when I was next in the area. Well I can report that the promised improvements are well under way, with a fully refurbished restaurant area.
We were welcomed by the obviously happy staff and were provided with a table and access to the free wifi (why have we found this unusual in Wales?). Although we hadn't booked and the restaurant was nearly full, Pedro found us a table and we preceded to have a very enjoyable Sunday lunch which offered excellent value for the quality of food on offer (I think the prices had actually gone down)!
It was the little additions that showed my partner that the makeover is not only skin deep, things like the fresh flowers, unique soft furnishings and the locally sourced produce on the menu.
The new management team obviously cares about their customers' experience and we wish wish them every success.
Next time we're in Crickhowell, we'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2014

We spent last night in The Dragon Inn and were welcomed by Pedro who is very nice and helpful. We stayed in the dog-friendly block and the bed was sooooo comfortable and hot water and clean room and sleep quality excellent.
We thoroughly enjoyed the evening meal, steak cooked to ones taste and perfect. Had a cheese-board after and I do think that this could be improved upon re: a bigger choice of cheese/crackers/chutneys and no grapes.
The breakfast was very good although I did ask Pedro for brown sauce but good French mustard lol. The waste bin our room did not have a bin-liner but luckily I had a spare carrier-bag for rubbish.
This is a very good location and there are several dog-friendly pubs nearby, we were allowed to take our dog in the bar here etc and that was very good.
Congratulations to the chef, Ashley, and I would recommend this Inn, we would return and the dog-friendly accommodation was great for us. Happy day. All staff were helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rosie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Called in at the Dragon inn and ordered cream tea for two - excellent. Very reasonably priced. Gaby a member of staff who attended our needs was very pleasant and made us welcome, would certainly recommend this inn and we will be calling there again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Cremegavenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

We visited Crickhowell for the Walking Festival this week and spent three nights at The Dragon. The hotel was wonderful. The staff are very friendly, nothing was too much trouble, the bedrooms are recently refurbished and the restaurant was excellent, with good food and service. The Thursday steak night is excellent value and included local venison. The hotel is in the centre of this small town, but we found it very quiet at night and slept well. It's a perfect base for exploring this beautiful part of Wales and the CRIC information centre is a good place to find out what is on offer.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PembsMaggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed for one night and was very impressed. The staff were excellent and really looked after us. The rooms were first class and the food in the restaurant was fantastic both lunch and dinner menus . Will definitely be back again..

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Birdio2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crickhowell
0.7 mi away
The Manor Hotel
The Manor Hotel
#1 of 3 in Crickhowell
645 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Old Rectory Country Hotel and Golf Club
3.1 mi away
Gliffaes Country House Hotel
Gliffaes Country House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Crickhowell
542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Peterstone Court Hotel
Peterstone Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanhamlach
1,029 reviews
5.7 mi away
The Angel
The Angel
#1 of 2 in Abergavenny
965 reviews
12.6 mi away
Castle of Brecon
Castle of Brecon
#2 of 2 in Brecon
521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dragon Inn Crickhowell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dragon Inn Crickhowell

Address: 47 High Street | Brecon Beacons National Park, Brecon Beacons National Park, Crickhowell NP8 1BE, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Brecon Beacons National Park > Crickhowell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Crickhowell
Price Range: £92 - £160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dragon Inn Crickhowell 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Character 18th C Hotel, very popular with guests who enjoy a quiet traditional hotel and a relaxed informal atmosphere. The hotel is a family-run establishment which prides itself on a warm and friendly welcome. Good position in centre of picturesque Crickhowell on the river Usk. Situated at the heart of the Brecon Beacons, The Dragon Inn is the ideal place for walkers or anybody who enjoys the outdoors. Magnificent walks available from right outside our doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your Dragon Inn Crickhowell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dragon Inn Crickhowell Hotel Crickhowell
Dragon Inn Crickhowell Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing