We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dragon Inn Crickhowell
Ranked #4 of 16 Crickhowell B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Pembrokeshire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 4 July 2014

I stay at the Dragon on a regular basis i've also stayed in other places nearby but i always find myself coming back to the Dragon Inn, The rooms are always clean and tidy and very comfortable, ok admit you can hear people walking/talking but hey its an old building set in a historic village its to be expected,The food is fantastic especially the steak!,evening staff are very welcoming nothing is a problem for them also polite and courteous. Breakfast is faultless on one occasion it was busy and i was very impressed by the lady serving us she always made sure everybody was happy 10 out of 10 for her people skills very nice lady thank you for looking after us. The new owners have done a great job re-furbing and i think personally any problem found is only a slight teething problem. we'll defiantly be back.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 276chris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gareth R, Owner at Dragon Inn Crickhowell, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Thank you very much for your positive comments. It is pleasing that you are happy to keep returning to the Dragon and I will pass your positive comments onto all of the staff. Thank you very much for taking time to post your comments and we hope to look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    106
    60
    11
    3
    3
See reviews for
43
70
8
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Swindon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

First time at the dragon inn and will definitely be returning! On arrival was greeted at reception by a very efficient young man from the bar. We arrived fairly late so were shown up to our room and told he would reserve us a table in the restaurant as it gets pretty busy (wasn't wrong). After freshening up we were seated in the newly refurbished restaurant which was lovely (maybe a little hot). Drinks were ordered at your table and delivered quickly! The food was very tasty, and surprisingly short waiting time for the amount of people in the restaurant!
Our room/en suite was done to a good standard and value for money we found was very good. All in all a very good experience at the dragon, we shall definitely be returning!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jake_davies123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gareth R, Owner at Dragon Inn Crickhowell, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Thank you very much for your positive comments and it is good to hear you enjoyed your stay at the Dragon. It is also good to hear that you feel that we provided good standard and value for money and I will also pass your positive comments onto all of the staff. Thank you very much for taking time to share your experience and we hope to look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Stayed here two nights June 23rd for our wedding anniversary and eat here one of the nights. Overall impression very good, staff attentive, rooms recently refurbished, pity they forgot a shaver point however (adapter in the draw). First room at the back, room 9, had a faulty shower so we were moved to room 6 at the front without any fuss. Pleased about this as rooms at the rear could be bothered late at night by late night drinkers at tables right underneath the windows in the garden (see previous report).
Meal was very good and well served by staff. Could have been better if everyone was not booked in at the same time which lead to log jam in the kitchen. General impression very good.
Excellent hotel location for walkers and great views from even the lower valleys.

Room Tip: Rooms better at the front, the road is not the main through route in Crickhowell was not a problem a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gareth R, Owner at Dragon Inn Crickhowell, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Thank you very much for the feedback on your stay. Your positive comments for the staff and quality of food will be shared with the staff and we do appreciate the recognition. As a result of your comment we have implemented a new process for meal bookings to help avoid "log jam" where we possibly can. The shower in room 9 was fixed later that day although I am glad you were looked appropriately when there was an issue to address. Thank you very much and we hope you return to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bounemouth
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Good points; Lovely hotel, nice rooms, really great bar staff, perfect town and surroundings.
Negatives; In room (Room 4); bathroom window blind not working. No shaver socket. Shower like playing Russian roulette -went from scalding to freezing. Bath/shower control gets stuck, had to use a spoon handle to lift to shower position.
Bedroom staff useless-first day had to ask for more toilet rolls/tissues (did they not notice no toilet paper?) Second day only left one set of towels. Asked for more, they didn't come. Third day joked with my husband what they would forget. It was the glasses for water, one was missing, the other not washed. But room clean and tidy, so felt like they were just 'not with it,' and missed obvious stuff.
Breakfast; Very disappointing. Very little choice. No fresh fruit, only jam or marmalade (no honey!) no pastries or croissants, only toast. Asked for soya (milk intolerant), was told none. Lady serving made me feel I was either weird or a nuisance. Don't they have people who can't or don't drink cows milk in Wales? Second day asked again, Reply 'If I'd known you were staying a second night we'd have got some.' Third morning, no soya. Had muesli with apple juice in it. Heard someone ask for beans, said he loved them. No beans. Second day, no beans. Aren't they in a service industry?? If I ran a hotel I'd be thinking, "There are diary-free people and Vegans out there who need an alternative to milk and some people like beans. I'll get that sorted." Did they? No.
On the last morning she forgot to ask if we wanted cooked breakfast. There were only two other people in the room.
Like the room staff felt she was on 'auto pilot' and not really interested.
Evening restaurant; staff fabulous. Very pleasant young men. Ordered starter and main. Took more than twenty minutes for starter (isn't the point of a starter to keep you entertained while they get round to your main meal? It was only bread and an olive oil and balsamic dip). Apologies, big table (six?) to cook for, hence the delay. Then they were putting the main course on the table while we were still finishing the starter!
Very hot overnight so had to keep bedroom windows open. No air-con, naturally. But outside tables right under our window so had people smoking and talking etc until the early hours. Too hot to shut window. So, disturbed sleep. A room fan would solve the problem.
All in all glad to leave, which is such a shame as the hotel is great but the people who run it give the impression they couldn't care less, and they only took over last year. Won't stay again.

Room Tip: Avoid number 4!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Andrea T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gareth R, Owner at Dragon Inn Crickhowell, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Thank you for your comments. As you referred to in your review, the Dragon has been recently taken over and although a huge amount of change and effort has been put into improving the facilities, service & experience for our customers I am sorry to hear those efforts have not contributed to meeting your expectations on this occasion. I can absolutely assure you, along with any other guest thinking of visiting the Dragon, an extreme amount of care and effort is being taken to ensure everything is up to standard and we keep improving things further and further every day. Most of our comments and reviews have been extremely positive from locals and visitors alike since we have taken ownership and our sole aim is to ensure this continues and your comment that we “could not care less” I can assure you could not be any further from the truth.
In response to your specific issues I am pleased to say that as soon as we were aware of the room maintenance problems they are now/have been addressed and additional processes have been put in place for our housekeeping staff to avoid any similar occasions where guests requests were “forgotten”.
Every effort is being made to listen to our customers in the restaurant also and therefore our breakfast selection has been updated to include Croissants, Beans on request and Soya milk is also available to any guest amongst other improvements. Thank you for these suggestions.
The food and service in our restaurant has consistently been receiving high praise for both service, value and quality but I do apologise if you had to wait longer than expected for your starter. All food is cooked fresh to order with an emphasis on quality and therefore I can only apologise for the delay on this particular evening, we have reviewed this with the Kitchen and FOH staff.
We, the management team and the staff over a very short 9 months have worked very hard to improve things enormously at the Dragon and although we have achieved a great deal I do sincerely thank you for your comments as we appreciate things do, and will go wrong on occasions but knowing where we can improve along our journey is, we understand, the key to ensuring our customers expectations are met.
Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

We ate at the Dragon Inn on the recommendation of our hosts at the B and B, whilst staying in Crickhowell. The service was outstanding and the food of a very good quality. I had the lamb chops which came with an delicious orange mint jus whilst Kevin had the beef stroganoff with tagliatelle. He also had a side order of stir fried vegetables. The meals were cooked to our liking and tasted great. We had trio of homemade ice cream for dessert the only drawback being they were quite small scoops.
The Dragon Inn is more restaurant than pub -we only got a table because we were there early, so book a table if you aim to eat between 7.30 and 8.30.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank kevdeb5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

I recently stayed here with my wife and two children. The room was of ample size which I did not expect and was pleasantly surprised.
The staff were helpful and nothing was too much to ask.
We have already booked a return visit for later this year.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy0179
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South West
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

I have stayed in most of the Hotels in Crickhowell and decided to try the Dragon on the strength of the new reviews. I knew Pedro from the Bear, and Lisa the chef from Ty Croeso. I was not disappointed. I stayed in Room 4, really lovely with a big window looking over the High Street. Clean airy and fresh with a super comfortable bed and high quality bedding, proper size bath, and bath sheets not just small bath towels. Lovely restaurant and friendly bar area, swift efficient service in the restaurant orchestrated by Pedro, attentive staff without being pushy or requiring a prod by the customers! Breakfast was excellent, the staff made sure I was looked after, nothing appeared to be any trouble at all. My only comment and it is NOT a complaint is that the room was a bit noisy in the evening as it is over the restaurant and bar area, also the floors are a bit creaky so I did get disturbed by guests on the upper floor. I admit I am fussy and this really is a very tiny issue. It is obvious a lot of care has been taken to update the facilities and provide a high quality service at a very reasonable price. Compared to the Bear or Ty Croeso for the B and B price of a room in either venue at the Dragon Inn you could get your evening meal "covered" and still have change for an ice cream! I will definitely return very soon, thank-you all for looking after me so well.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2009Elle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crickhowell
0.7 mi away
The Manor Hotel
The Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Crickhowell
590 reviews
5.7 mi away
The Angel
The Angel
#1 of 2 in Abergavenny
895 reviews
9.5 mi away
Peterstone Court Hotel
Peterstone Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanhamlach
938 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.6 mi away
Castle of Brecon
Castle of Brecon
#2 of 2 in Brecon
467 reviews
13.5 mi away
Nant Ddu Lodge Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
The Bear Hotel
The Bear Hotel
#2 of 16 in Crickhowell
745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dragon Inn Crickhowell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dragon Inn Crickhowell

Property: Dragon Inn Crickhowell
Address: 47 High Street | Brecon Beacons National Park, Brecon Beacons National Park, Crickhowell NP8 1BE, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Brecon Beacons National Park > Crickhowell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Crickhowell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Dragon Inn Crickhowell 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Character 18th C Hotel, very popular with guests who enjoy a quiet traditional hotel and a relaxed informal atmosphere. The hotel is a family-run establishment which prides itself on a warm and friendly welcome. Good position in centre of picturesque Crickhowell on the river Usk. Situated at the heart of the Brecon Beacons, The Dragon Inn is the ideal place for walkers or anybody who enjoys the outdoors. Magnificent walks available from right outside our doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Dragon Inn Crickhowell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dragon Inn Crickhowell Hotel Crickhowell
Dragon Inn Crickhowell Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing