We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice and out in the middle of no where”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dragon Inn Crickhowell
Ranked #4 of 16 Crickhowell B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Rosa, California
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Very nice and out in the middle of no where”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Great small inn out in the countryside. Very nice dining area. Great food, well presented and very tasty. Very nice and friendly staff. Quiet little town with a few shops. Nice walk to the public park with a castle ruin.

Room Tip: we had the room over the driveway. It wiggled when you walked and some noise carried up. Very comfor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Justine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    106
    60
    11
    3
    3
See reviews for
43
70
8
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

Had a great stay here in July. Rooms are lovely, great service, breakfast was fab, wonderful location. Best thing was the evening meal though. Had a fantastic dinner which came to £30 per head including wine. The restaurant was rammed (with good reason) and had we not booked in advance we might not have got in. Great options for vegetarians too. Would love to stay again soon.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Owain D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

The hotel is situated on the old main street in this lovely small town set in the beautiful Usk Valley. The room was character filled with low beams - watch your head- and was a good size with a large bathroom. The situation is quiet, suitable for a good night's sleep. The Wesh breakfast was excellent.
The place itself is more of a bistro restaurant rather than a hotel or pub. It is certainly worth a stay.

Room Tip: Some rooms have very low beams as might be expected in an old inn, if this is a problem for you chec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Midge2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

This was our first holiday experience of Wales, right on our own doorstep and, until now, sadly ignored. But what an introduction! From the moment we arrived all staff members were welcoming, attentive and seemed to genuinely care about the guest. Pedro was our first point of contact and he was a mine of information from walking tours advice to how to put a bit more top-spin on my back-hand lob - he took care of the tennis reservations!

However, all the team deserve a mention and I took every name. However, I now see no point in naming everyone as they were all great, absolutely no weak links in the chain. The restaurant (whether breakfast or evening meal) was beyond criticism - superb, fresh food cooked with enthusiasm and care, served with courtesy and charm.

Our only small negatives concerned the bathroom; the shower was sadly lacking in power and occasionally the flow was so weak that it could not even manage to climb the riser pipe and exit the shower head. Even when it did, it was not much more than a trickle, maybe a reluctant flow. Secondly (and this was a totally new experience), there was no mirror in the bathroom - how to shave was a major challenge. I reported both shortcomings and would hope that they are dealt with as it is sometimes the smaller gripes that grow into serious annoyances.

I will finish on a positive, however, as that is my overall view towards the Dragon Inn. We would definitely recommend this hotel to visitors of this area and we will certainly return so that we can make greater inroads into the excellent restaurant menu. Well done one and all!

Room Tip: All rooms seem to be very quiet. We stayed in a block across a small courtyard and not directly con...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gffryt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abergavenny, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Had an amazing afternoon tea. The pot of tea was one of the best I have had and the scones were outstanding.Beautifully served by attentive staff who boxed up leftover cakes from the bounteous tea stands. It was excellent value for money and although we didn't go into the garden as it was raining there was lovely seating here. We'll be back again and recommending to people. Thank you

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wales
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

its really good to see the dragon is up and running, although we havent stayed here we have eaten.
very disappointed with the food and the room we dined in. not a good enough standard for the prices.they still have a lot to learn otherwise they are going to lose out.
also the horrible welsh dragon cushions are a big no no, they look cheap and give a wrong first time
impression, try melin tregwynt for more stylish ones they are made in wales and would give the hotel a better look.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
Helpful?
Thank nortrek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gareth R, Owner at Dragon Inn Crickhowell, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Many Thanks for your comments. I am disappointed that you feel the food and the room you ate in did not meet your expectations as we have been working hard to improve both for our customers and on the whole appear to have had success in doing so. This does not mean we however we cannot improve things further and we are continuing to work hard to do so. Your comments have therefore been shared with the staff and discussed. The cushions I'm sorry gave you the wrong impression. In keeping with our ethos these were locally sourced but I will look at your suggestion of the Melin Tregwynt alternatives as we still have some refurbishment works to complete where we are always looking for quality Welsh furnishings. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ascot
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Delighted with our choice of The Dragon Inn for a mid week walking break, beautiful countryside around and super walks in the hills or less arduous ones along the river or canal. Located in the heart of the town there is a large garden at the rear and a sheltered terrace for drinks/meals, a real bonus when the weather was so good. The rooms are a work in progress as they are being refurbished but we were very happy with ours overlooking the courtyard. Nice quality bedding, good shower, tea and coffee making facilities, hairdryer, TV, all make for a very comfortable stay.

The breakfasts are excellent, lots of choice of hot cooked ones with some welsh options plus a buffet of cereal etc. Bev and Greg looked after us very well and were extremely friendly and helpful.

We ate evening meals in a couple of other restaurants before we realised ours was the best of all! Exceptional food. Local produce really well cooked, thank you Lisa. So many lovely dishes it was really hard to choose and the ginger treacle tart with ginger ice cream and berry compote is right up there with best ever desserts.

We appreciated the work they are doing to smarten up The Dragon - they really deserve to do well with the efforts they are making. The courtyard is screened with trellis and the tubs are tastefully planted up with herbs and flowers - a lovely place to sit and relax. There are plans to cosy up the inside too.

So the inn is very comfortable but what really makes the Dragon such a great place to stay is the staff. From the moment we arrived Pedro looked after us, booking tennis courts and helping us find walks. Lucas and Joe gave us very attentive service in the restaurant and Val in the bar was extremely courteous and helpful. It is that desire to help out, nothing is too much trouble, which makes you really want to return to a place and we certainly look forward to our next stay at the Dragon Inn.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DDCR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gareth R, Owner at Dragon Inn Crickhowell, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Thank you very much for your positive comments and I am glad you enjoyed your stay. I am extremely pleased you were well looked after and I will pass on your praise for the staff to them all. Thank you and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crickhowell
0.7 mi away
The Manor Hotel
The Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Crickhowell
590 reviews
5.7 mi away
The Angel
The Angel
#1 of 2 in Abergavenny
895 reviews
9.5 mi away
Peterstone Court Hotel
Peterstone Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanhamlach
938 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.6 mi away
Castle of Brecon
Castle of Brecon
#2 of 2 in Brecon
467 reviews
13.5 mi away
Nant Ddu Lodge Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
The Bear Hotel
The Bear Hotel
#2 of 16 in Crickhowell
745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dragon Inn Crickhowell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dragon Inn Crickhowell

Property: Dragon Inn Crickhowell
Address: 47 High Street | Brecon Beacons National Park, Brecon Beacons National Park, Crickhowell NP8 1BE, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Brecon Beacons National Park > Crickhowell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Crickhowell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Dragon Inn Crickhowell 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Character 18th C Hotel, very popular with guests who enjoy a quiet traditional hotel and a relaxed informal atmosphere. The hotel is a family-run establishment which prides itself on a warm and friendly welcome. Good position in centre of picturesque Crickhowell on the river Usk. Situated at the heart of the Brecon Beacons, The Dragon Inn is the ideal place for walkers or anybody who enjoys the outdoors. Magnificent walks available from right outside our doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Dragon Inn Crickhowell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dragon Inn Crickhowell Hotel Crickhowell
Dragon Inn Crickhowell Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing