We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Just perfect”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
33 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Crickhowell, Brecon Beacons National Park, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 33 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
tomsilver...
Chertsey, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Just perfect”
Reviewed 8 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Cordell House is immaculately presented. It is very conveniently situated with easy access to restaurants, cafes and shops. We were particularly impressed by Bookish - a bookshop on the high street to which has been attached a very good café for early morning coffee, cakes and more substantial fare. Gwen was very welcoming and made us feel at home from the outset. We hope to return later in the year.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 May 2017
Thank you for your kind words and I will pass your comments on to Emma who owns Bookish - she will be delighted. Thank you too for looking after the house so well and we look forward to welcoming you back soon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fleet, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
23 Apr 2017
Thank you for your kind words. So glad you enjoyed our special place and thank you very much for looking after it so well
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
22 Dec 2016
So glad you had a great weekend and thank you for your kind words. Have a great Christmas
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Herbie-Gr...
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
570 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 238 helpful votes
“Ideal luxury in a great setting - we'll be back”
Reviewed 26 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Ideal rental for us and our grown up family. The house had luxury without being pretentious, and was so comfortable and practical. All in a great setting. Very close to the town centre of Crickhowell, a lovely town with just the right level and mix of facilities - local non-chain shops with character, proper butchers, bakes, grocers and other shops selling fresh local produce; good pubs and restaurants; enough interest in the town for a pleasant evening stroll (e.g. the castle); magnificent and varied walks right from the door (our main reason for the trip); farm shop and supermarkets only 4-5 miles away. Recommend the Dragon Inn for superb evening meals, and the Bridge End Inn for a traditional pub meal or a drink at any time. Walks worth doing direct from the house are along the Usk river and back along the Monmouth & Brecon Canal, to Tretower Court & Castle and back, up Crug Hywel (Table Mountain) and Pen Cerrig-calch, along the canal and circular walk around Llangattock; with a short drive to climb Pen Y Fal (Sugar Loaf) from Y Fenny, and the Llangattock Quarries & tramway and Cwm Onneu. There are plenty more walks we didn't get to do as well. We'll definitely be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The overall quality and location, and match to our needs
Liked least: Minor point: quite nice if the ensuite bathroom window was frosted/netted so didn't need blind down all the time.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Oct 2016
Thank you so much for the great review. You packed an awful lot into your week and we are so pleased that you like Crickhowell so much - we are privileged to live here and like to share! Looking forward to seeing you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jenmh2017
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Beautiful house in a beautiful part of Wales”
Reviewed 23 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Myself and some university friends needed a place to stay for a local wedding and we're very glad we chose Cordell House. Gwen gave us a lovely tour of the place and provided us with a hamper with all the essentials. The house itself was very spacious with gorgeous views. Very reasonably priced considering the quality of the property and the proximity to the wedding venue. Highly recommended!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Oct 2016
Thank you for your kind words Jenny and for leaving the house in such good condition. So glad you enjoyed the wedding.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull
Reviewed 25 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Warmth of welcome and high quality comfort.
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
26 Jul 2016
Thank you for your feedback - we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again sometime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
tommosmum
Basildon, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Lovely!!”
Reviewed 24 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

The house is finished to a very high standard and has everything you could want for.a great welcome from the owners and a hamper full of goodies to get you going xx we had lovely weather and spent a lot of time relaxing by the river. Plenty of places to eat and shops to look around,would defiantly book again xx

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Stairs😂(lots of them X)
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Jul 2016
So glad you enjoyed our beautiful little town and our quirky little house. We would be delighted to see you again sometime
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing