We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hertiage Village”

Mennonite Heritage Village
Ranked #1 of 17 things to do in Steinbach
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Find out what life was life in the 1870s: this historic village is a reconstruction of a late 19th century Mennonite community.
Reviewed 4 September 2013

It was very interesting and they have done so very much work to show the village of the past.
The vehicles were great. The views from the wind mill were lovely.
Too bad their was no place to stop for a refreshment at 3 on a Sunday afternoon.

Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MHVadmin, Public Relations Manager at Mennonite Heritage Village, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2013

The views from the Windmill are excellent - it is so beautiful to see everything from up on the deck. Did you stop at the Livery Barn Restaurant for any refreshments? The restaurant is open until 4pm during our tourist season and they have a fantastic selection of dessert to go along with some great coffee! Hope to see you visit again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (104)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"mennonite food"
in 10 reviews
"barn restaurant"
in 4 reviews
"long weekend"
in 4 reviews
"gift shop"
in 4 reviews
"couple of hours"
in 4 reviews
"main building"
in 3 reviews
"day trip"
in 2 reviews
"on site"
in 3 reviews
"manitoba history"
in 2 reviews
"i'm sure"
in 2 reviews
"waffles"
in 2 reviews
"wonderful place"
in 2 reviews
"all ages"
in 4 reviews
"staff was friendly"
in 2 reviews
"museum"
in 27 reviews
"canada"
in 16 reviews
"livery"
in 11 reviews
Filter

79 - 83 of 104 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2013

It gave us a great understanding of the Mennonite contribution to Manitoba history and culture-- kep players and events through the nineteenth and twenieth centuries..

Thank jferstel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MHVadmin, Public Relations Manager at Mennonite Heritage Village, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2013

Sharing our history and heritage is what we do here at MHV - I am glad to hear that you were able to share in that experience! It really is amazing to hear the story and understand what/how everything took place. Thanks for visiting MHV!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Our family visited the museum on Aug.4, 2013. The grounds were great as usual. However, the food was absolutely abysmal. I was ashamed to call this Mennonite food--no self -respecting Mennonite woman would serve this garbage.

Thank 446mariat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MHVadmin, Public Relations Manager at Mennonite Heritage Village, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2013

Hello Maria –

It is unfortunate that your experience with the food during Pioneer Days was not satisfactory. Our goal at MHV is to provide a positive experience for each visitor on the grounds, including in the food we provide. If you want to get in touch with me personally I would love to find out in more detail what specific things were the issue so that we can take the necessary corrective actions. You may contact me toll free at 1-866-280-8741 ext. 228. We would like to take this opportunity to improve the quality of visits for each guest at MHV.

I look forward to hearing from you,


Natashia Lapeire

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

This is a great and fun place to visit with friends and family to educate your children of things past etc.also a great place for gatherings and functions.

1  Thank Cdunger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MHVadmin, Public Relations Manager at Mennonite Heritage Village, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2013

A great place for education and for functions indeed! We host corporate picnics, weddings, family gatherings and many other rental options. Come and visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 4 August 2013 via mobile

MHV is a great experience. You'll see an authentic windmill that actually grinds grain. The church has a service during Pioneer Days (first weekend of August), maybe even more often. The wooden pews, choir loft...brings you to the early 1900s. The Livery Barn Restaurant serves excellent, authentic Mennonite food. Soups, roll kuchen, bread, kielke, cream gravy, farmer sausage and the desserts. Mmmm...so good!!! There's a General Store that sells its wares, including the candy sticks in the glass jars. Walk along the wooden sidewalk. From the store, past the metalsmith, to the restaurant. Across the dirt road is the house with artifacts. Plus the barn and the corral. The Museum also has excellent displays and a nice gift store. Enjoy!

1  Thank Eileen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MHVadmin, Public Relations Manager at Mennonite Heritage Village, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2013

What a great summary of you visit here! There IS a lot to see and enjoy while visiting here and we are glad that you enjoyed the food too - that is always a highlight! See you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mennonite Heritage Village also viewed

 

Been to Mennonite Heritage Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing