We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mennonite heritage revisited”

Mennonite Heritage Village
Ranked #1 of 17 things to do in Steinbach
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Find out what life was life in the 1870s: this historic village is a reconstruction of a late 19th century Mennonite community.
Reviewed 15 April 2014

A couple of hours should be all you need when you visit, unless of course, you visit on Canada Day, Labour Day or May long weekend. Then you would need more. Those are great days to visit as they have many seeding/harvesting demos going on, as well as occasionally bread baking, soap making and other things that pioneers might have done.

1  Thank Jammari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MHVadmin, Public Relations Manager at Mennonite Heritage Village, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your visit! We encourage all visitors to come during our Festival Events. This is the time where you will see the Village come alive with Pioneer Demonstrations!

This year's Festival Events include:

Spring on the Farm: May 19th, 2014
Pioneer Days: August 1-4th, 2014
Fall on the Farm: September 1, 2014

Hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (101)
There are newer reviews for Mennonite Heritage Village
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

73 - 77 of 101 reviews

Reviewed 1 January 2014

If you're interested in Mennonite history, this museum is an excellent place to satisfy your curiosity. Nice exhibits and lots of information.

Thank orlandomanagua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MHVadmin, Public Relations Manager at Mennonite Heritage Village, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Thank you for your kind words regarding our museum. Our Curator's put a lot of work into the exhibits that share the rich history of the Mennonite story and we are glad to hear that they were a positive part of your experience. Check back during the 2014 year as we celebrate our 50th Anniversary - this exhibit will be one like no other!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Wonderful time here, great food, everything met or exceeded our expectations. Is worth going the few miles out of your way for if you are on your way to Winnipeg or just travelling down the highway.

Thank Mary N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MHVadmin, Public Relations Manager at Mennonite Heritage Village, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2013

Thank you for your positive review! It is amazing how many times we hear your fact about being so close to Winnipeg and a great place to visit! Sometimes people think it might be to far but in reality it is a great experience close to home! We hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

It was very interesting and they have done so very much work to show the village of the past.
The vehicles were great. The views from the wind mill were lovely.
Too bad their was no place to stop for a refreshment at 3 on a Sunday afternoon.

Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MHVadmin, Public Relations Manager at Mennonite Heritage Village, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2013

The views from the Windmill are excellent - it is so beautiful to see everything from up on the deck. Did you stop at the Livery Barn Restaurant for any refreshments? The restaurant is open until 4pm during our tourist season and they have a fantastic selection of dessert to go along with some great coffee! Hope to see you visit again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

It gave us a great understanding of the Mennonite contribution to Manitoba history and culture-- kep players and events through the nineteenth and twenieth centuries..

Thank jferstel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MHVadmin, Public Relations Manager at Mennonite Heritage Village, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2013

Sharing our history and heritage is what we do here at MHV - I am glad to hear that you were able to share in that experience! It really is amazing to hear the story and understand what/how everything took place. Thanks for visiting MHV!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mennonite Heritage Village also viewed

 

Been to Mennonite Heritage Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing