We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very informative” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mennonite Heritage Village

Mennonite Heritage Village
Ranked #1 of 16 things to do in Steinbach
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Find out what life was life in the 1870s: this historic village is a reconstruction of a late 19th century Mennonite community.
New Delhi
Level Contributor
98 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Very informative”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

Visited the museum in April 14.With the winter shadow still lingering about,most of the outdoorsy stuff was still closed but the artifacts and the information inside the museum has been tastefully done and is quite informative for those interested in Mennonite migration and history through the years gone by.

Now and then,the museum hold some sort of food and drink fests.Flanked by very friendly staff,it's a good one to see if you're passing through Steinbach or if you've got links with the Mennonites.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank raydnik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MHVadmin, Public Relations Manager at Mennonite Heritage Village, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
You missed out 'Open Season' but just a few weeks! We are glad to hear that you still enjoyed your visit - you are correct, the inside Galleries host a variety of great artifacts and stories! Hopefully you can come back during our open season to gain the whole experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    28
    6
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Steinbach, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Mennonite heritage revisited”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

A couple of hours should be all you need when you visit, unless of course, you visit on Canada Day, Labour Day or May long weekend. Then you would need more. Those are great days to visit as they have many seeding/harvesting demos going on, as well as occasionally bread baking, soap making and other things that pioneers might have done.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jammari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MHVadmin, Public Relations Manager at Mennonite Heritage Village, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your visit! We encourage all visitors to come during our Festival Events. This is the time where you will see the Village come alive with Pioneer Demonstrations!

This year's Festival Events include:

Spring on the Farm: May 19th, 2014
Pioneer Days: August 1-4th, 2014
Fall on the Farm: September 1, 2014

Hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
Level Contributor
63 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Nice museum”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014

If you're interested in Mennonite history, this museum is an excellent place to satisfy your curiosity. Nice exhibits and lots of information.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank orlandomanagua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MHVadmin, Public Relations Manager at Mennonite Heritage Village, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Thank you for your kind words regarding our museum. Our Curator's put a lot of work into the exhibits that share the rich history of the Mennonite story and we are glad to hear that they were a positive part of your experience. Check back during the 2014 year as we celebrate our 50th Anniversary - this exhibit will be one like no other!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spruce Grove
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“AN EXPERIENCE IN HISTORY”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

Wonderful time here, great food, everything met or exceeded our expectations. Is worth going the few miles out of your way for if you are on your way to Winnipeg or just travelling down the highway.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mary N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MHVadmin, Public Relations Manager at Mennonite Heritage Village, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Thank you for your positive review! It is amazing how many times we hear your fact about being so close to Winnipeg and a great place to visit! Sometimes people think it might be to far but in reality it is a great experience close to home! We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Hertiage Village”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

It was very interesting and they have done so very much work to show the village of the past.
The vehicles were great. The views from the wind mill were lovely.
Too bad their was no place to stop for a refreshment at 3 on a Sunday afternoon.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MHVadmin, Public Relations Manager at Mennonite Heritage Village, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
The views from the Windmill are excellent - it is so beautiful to see everything from up on the deck. Did you stop at the Livery Barn Restaurant for any refreshments? The restaurant is open until 4pm during our tourist season and they have a fantastic selection of dessert to go along with some great coffee! Hope to see you visit again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mennonite Heritage Village also viewed

 

Been to Mennonite Heritage Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing