We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Beer selection”
Review of Sawney Bean's

Sawney Bean's
Ranked #12 of 51 Restaurants in Steinbach
Price range: US$10 - US$15
Cuisines: Bar, Pub, Canadian, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Dauphin, mb
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Beer selection”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We came to Steinbach to meet family and enjoy a meal and a drink. The drinks selection are great and the menu looked promising. Unfortunately most of the food was only warm. We had a big table (14) and maybe they are not accustom to large groups.
The atmosphere was nice.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank manyberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    21
    11
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Steinbach, Canada
Level Contributor
203 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“NICE PUB”
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Went here for dinner and had a great dinner. The atmosphere is very good and the food was delicious. Agood place to meet friends, have a few beveys and good food.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HOGG00007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Superb food and even better service.”
Reviewed 8 October 2013

This little touch of Scotland in Steinbach is amazing from bangers and mash to chicken pot pie (which was awesome), Chicken Alfredo to their Sunday night special of Roast beef and yorkshire pudding. And you must end your meal with the bes sticky toffee pudding or deep fried Mar's bar. The service is terrific if you eat inside or on the patio. Fantastic place. Price wise was very reasonable (somewhere between two and three dollar signs.)

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Trabec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fargo, North Dakota
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Beer, Good Food, Friendly Service,”
Reviewed 6 September 2013

We were traveling through Steinbach on vacation and asked the desk clerk at the Days Inn for a recommendation for supper. She mentioned Sawney's so we decided to try it. Great atmosphere. I loved the "old" look of the wood on our table, it really gave a feeling of being in a pub that had been there for a long time. The laid back, relaxing atmosphere was so nice. Our food was great from the salads all the way through desert. I had the fisherman's pie and my husband had the ribs. We shared the desert which was an awesome brownie with ice cream, whipped cream and drizzled with Bailey's. The beer was excellent too. I had a glass of Smithwicks and my husband had an Alexander Keiths. The waitress was friendly and prompt without being pushy or hovering. I am hoping to visit Winnipeg in the next year and may have to make a detour here for lunch or supper!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Erica C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steinbach, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Same food, no change.”
Reviewed 22 July 2013

My wife and I have been going to Sawney Beans ever since it first opened its doors in 2006. Like every restaurant, there were growing pains. With this, though, they kept adapting their menu, changing service, etc. This meant that they were trying to improve over the things that were not working. The restaurant was at it's height in quality in 2010. The drink menu was vast and they kept adapting their menu, yet kept the staples (London's Burning Burger, Bangers and Mash, etc) to ensure that the "safe" choices were always available. However, about 2 years ago, the alcohol menu shrank considerably and the food menu that you now see today was put in place. Because of this, a restaurant that used to be a 5 star pub, is now down to a 3. What's worse, is that with Boston Pizza having arrived, the food quality and price is better at BP. Here's hoping Sawney Beans improves.

One Positive: There has been a waitress who has worked at Sawney Beans for a number of years, and she is very friendly and knowledgeable of the menu. Worth tipping if you get her, you'll know by how much more superior her service is compared to the other waitresses.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Count_Monty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sawney Bean's also viewed

 
Steinbach, Manitoba
Steinbach, Manitoba
 

Been to Sawney Bean's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing