We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Down Home eating”
Review of MJ's Kafe

MJ's Kafe
Ranked #1 of 52 Restaurants in Steinbach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$1 - US$15
Cuisines: Dutch
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Steinbach, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Down Home eating”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Great service and great food. A family owned restaurant that serves delicious ethnic Mennonite food as well as regular favorites.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jammari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    24
    7
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Steinbach, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A must go place.”
Reviewed 17 April 2014

If you've been to Steinbach you've probably gone here. I've met people whose only memory of being here is this restaurant.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Darr0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steinbach, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fantastic Breakfast Joint!”
Reviewed 7 March 2014

I am not Mennonite, so I'm not big on their Mennonite dishes, but everything I have ordered there has been amazing! Their multigrain bread is fantastic, and as a result, so are all of their sandwiches. Breakfast is flawless. Their iced tea is incredible. But what really sets this place apart is their service. The waiting staff are all friendly and warm. The owner is usually walking around, making sure everyone is happy. He's actually come over to our table, to make sure that I'd ordered my bacon crispy (I had) and that it hadn't been a mistake made in the kitchen. I thought this was exceptional service...I don't think I've ever seen anyone take so much pride in the food they serve.

If you aren't into Mennonite food, you may want to avoid the Kilke or other Mennonite dishes..I find them very bland, but that's no fault of the restaurant's. For those of us who didn't grow up on that stuff, it just isn't as good.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sweetalto13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“By far the best breakfast in Steinbach”
Reviewed 17 January 2014

Homemade shredded hashbrowns (NOT out of a box), eggs always exactly to order, homemade jam, great toast selection, and the best waffles with white sauce and fruit assortment ...it doesn't get much better than this for breakfast!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hiebertg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steinbach
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Breakfast, lunch, supper,”
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Probly the best place in Steinbach to eat, great service, priced right. very good atmosphere, best food in town.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cdunger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed MJ's Kafe also viewed

 
Steinbach, Manitoba
 
Steinbach, Manitoba
Steinbach, Manitoba
 

Been to MJ's Kafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing