We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“safe bet well maintained excellent location”
Review of Saga Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Saga Resort
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Wasaga Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 June 2014

great choice in a sea of uncertainty. It is a 5 min walk over the bridge to the 9 miles of freshwater beach, right close to the action but not too close to be loud, Owners show lots of pride of ownership

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NICHILL888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (148)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

74 - 80 of 148 reviews

Reviewed 1 June 2014

Stayed with a group at the hotel part of Saga Resort. The rooms were spotless, beds so comfortable and kitchen equipped with everything you need. The owners were very friendly and so were the security they hired to keep the kids out (prom weekend - a lot of rowdy teenagers about). Hot coffee and snacks were in the lobby by 8:30 am. The grounds were all well kept and the cabins were really nice too. Our group had the whole cabin area and we had music until 10:30 and then a nice fire in the fire pit. You could walk to the LCBO and beer store, down to the beach, to nearby restaurants and shopping - everything was close by. I'd love to stay at this place again. It was a 10!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lyndeezee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Great very helpful staff, they were nice and considerate. The room which we got was awesome, it was the cottage in the back, it was warm, spacious and quiet. The room was clean and ready to go, felt great being in there, price was well worth it.

Room service was late, but it wasn't too much of a problem as we still had enough towels left at the time the maid came. The location was also perfect, 2 minutes from the closest plaza and really close to the beach as well.

Only problem I had was the wifi didn't work, but wasn't a big deal. I would recommend this place to others, I read some bad reviews on it, but I'd have to disagree, thought it was great.

Room Tip: I traveled in the winter, so it was great to get a room with a fire place, the rooms have heaters, b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Roda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

We have come to Saga Lodge for over twenty years now. Bruce and Nancy have been there for the past four or five years now. They are very knowledgable of the area and really have some good tips if you want to go shopping or sight seeing for the day. We really enjoy it when the locals will help with the area customs and sights that are spotlighted for the different times of the year. Bruce even brought us some of the most wonderful "bosc" pears from where his folks lived because we mentioned how we enjoyed them one year. He was so thoughtful! They are so nice about making sure you have what you need and that little extra. We only get one week a year for vacation and Saga Lodge is our standing reservation.The kitchens in the rooms make it just like home for us because we don't care for eating out much. The swimming pool was such a delight to enjoy as we were there rather late in the season. They kept the pool open while we had our stay since it was quite warm for September this year. I got my last swim of the year in at Saga Resort! I would recommend the Saga Resort to anyone that likes the family style atmosphere and the home like comforts with all the special extras you come to expect from a first rate hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

My sister and I went back to Saga Resort and once again we had a blast. October is our time to swim in the water at the beach. The staff was so good to us we did not want to leave. I highly recommend this Resort. It's close to everything, The rooms have everything you need to make your stay special. See ya next year .

Allison Munn
Toronto, On

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Allison M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

We stayed just one night and were pleased with the accommodations. The standard motel rooms are large enough to fit 5 and staff were very helpful accommodating us with a cot. Kitchen is convenient and amply stocked with dishes and cooking equipment. Kids loved the activities and pool. It was hard to justify the cost, but after enjoying all the facilities we did get value for the money. Definitely a well maintained property in the right location with conscientious staff.

Room Tip: Motel rooms on ground level are convenient to the parking lot but a little noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OhareTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Staff was decent, the room decent and beds comfortable but for the price we paid (well over $ 200 in the summer) I would expect more for a regular motel room. While I did see a security guard on duty to keep noise down since this seems to be a resort area where a lot of the "younger set" go, we were disappointed in feeling this was overpriced in comparison to other beach motels/hotels we have stayed at, so we will not be back.
The hot tub was ok but the jet stream dial did not work. It was nice being able to barbeque. The pool was cold so we stayed out.
We found the bay water way too cold to go in, and the day we were there it was quite windy. It was nice being able to walk to the beach, but we quickly returned. The area was quite crowded to drive to. Sweets were served after we left in the morning, so we can't comment on that.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank augweddedbells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nancy M, Manager at Saga Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2013

Hi and thank you for taking the time to write a review. We like to hear good and bad reviews so that we can try to make any changes possible. We are sorry to hear you think our rates are too pricey. Our rates have been the same for over 4 years and our Motel Rooms are not what we would call basic, we find most people enjoy having a full kitchen in their units while not many others offer this feature, also most motel rooms are double beds and we have queen size beds. As for the pool it is set at 85 degrees and we were told by the health inspector that is were it should be set at. Our hot tub by the pool is brand new and working fine and the one by the main building has not had any problems that we are aware of. It is checked every morning (cleaned, chemicals etc). We pride ourselves on having a clean, friendly, family resort and we are sorry to hear you will not be returning.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wasaga Beach
14.6 mi away
Westin Trillium House Blue Mountain
11 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Collingwood
14.9 mi away
Blue Mountain Inn
Blue Mountain Inn
#6 of 8 in Blue Mountains
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.1 mi away
Georgian Bay Hotel & Conference Centre
10.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#3 of 11 in Collingwood
324 reviews
11.1 mi away
Cranberry Resort
Cranberry Resort
#5 of 11 in Collingwood
1,004 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saga Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saga Resort

Address: 88 Main St, Wasaga Beach, Ontario L9Z 2K9, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Wasaga Beach
Amenities:
Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Wasaga Beach
Price Range: £54 - £134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Saga Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Saga Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saga Hotel Wasaga Beach
Saga Resort Wasaga Beach, Canada - Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing