We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FILTHY, RUDE, DISHONEST STAFF”
Review of Dyconia Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wasaga Beach
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Dyconia Resort
Toronto, Ontario
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“FILTHY, RUDE, DISHONEST STAFF”
Reviewed 23 May 2014

My family stayed at Dyconia Resort May 10/11, 2014. We wanted to leave the minute we arrived and saw the room. It was so dirty and not cleaned whatsoever. There were cigarette burns in the bedding, crumbs, and a broken futon. When I spoke to the Manager Troy to complain and ask for a refund he was condescending, rude and belittling. I am an adult and do not need a lecture on how long he has been in the business! Clearly, money is much more important the quality and guest satisfaction. Really a shame as we have never been to Wasaga Beach before and this "resort" ruined it for me and my family. Do not go there, do not give a deposit. You will never see it again. That's a promise!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Suntanned
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    10
    2
    1
    36
See reviews for
20
6
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Milton, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Went here last summer with a group of girlfriends. After looking at many places and trying to be economical, we decided dyconia was great for us. Great party atmosphere, clean and 100% worth the value. If you're looking for a St.Regis, don't go to Wasaga in the first place but this was exactly what a group of girls wanted for a fun weekend away. One thing Wasaga is famous for is it non-safety but at Dyconia I felt safe the entire time. Had one big issue due to a supid mistake on my part and the hotel manager was extremely understanding and helpful. Will go back year after year!
Great walk away from the Beack 1 area, the downtairs disco and "bubblw party" was so much fun. If you want to have a good time at a GREAT rate - Dyconia is where you want to be!

PLUS no cost for parking woo!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mjs105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midland, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

I took my wife to Wasaga Beach this summer past for our first Vacation away from the kids in as long as either of us could remember. I had read the mixed reviews on this site before booking at Dyconia, and had some apprehensions about staying there. But when compared with prices at similar accommodations, The Dyconia became an obvious choice. Upon arrival we were greeted by a polite, young lady at the front desk who expedited our check in and had us on the way to our room in under 5 minutes. When we got to our room I was pleasantly surprised. Our suite was spacious and clean, and smelled fresh, The bedding and linens were fresh and clean as well. I would say that the room was definitely not something you would expect to find at the Ritz, but nor was it by any means something I would classify as a dump. It was average. However, the river view was beautiful and relaxing. The weekend we stayed there the resort was extremely busy as there was a prom party at the time. I was glad to see the amount, and quality of security staff that were on hand. but all in all I was surprised at how well everybody got along and how much everybody was enjoying themselves. My wife and I had a wonderful, fun filled weekend at the beach and the poolside. The only time we were even in our room was to sleep and we came home feeling relaxed and recharged. I would say that if you are going to Wasaga to have fun in the sun with young children, then perhaps Dyconia is not for you, But if you're young and like to enjoy a fun, party type atmosphere, than it is probably the best place in Wasaga that you can go.

Room Tip: The rooms on the right side of the property have both a pool and river view, The rooms on The left s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mattgician2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Collingwood, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 February 2014

I've been going to the Dyconia for years and can honestly say this place is only getting better and better with each passing summer. The Front desk room has been renovated and looks amazing. The property has been cleaned up and now has Volleyball and a fire pit. My stay last summer there was a foam party with a DJ and tons of people partying, even made a few friends to hit the bars with. Only a fifteen minute walk to the bars and cool enough to party all weekend, the Dyconia is for sure the best place to stay and party in all of Wasaga.

Room Tip: Best place to stay is the cottage closest to the pool hands down !!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kitchener, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

We were a little skeptical staying in Wasaga as we're a little older and very used to chain hotels, but this place is a little gem. Every spot we called or looked at was either booked or looked terrible and this ended up being such a surprise. It's an older building but well maintained (especially compared to the majority of the "cottages" for rent in the area) The crowd is definitely younger, but the energy is so great and positive. The staff was really on top of people getting too rowdy or those becoming a nuisance, but there was music and laughter everywhere. We felt a little out of our element (being that we're not the typical Wasaga types) but it was a really nice spot on the river and the other guests were kept in check enough that we could enjoy our wine and sunsets on the patio. Even ended up staying up until 3am with a group of 20 year olds playing card games. My husband had lots of fun and he totally needed it, was great to see him acting like a kid again.

Room Tip: The rooms in the main building are quieter as the real action and night crowd happens around the fir...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roxxxxxxxxy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 January 2014

My friends and I were so excited to have our road trip in Wasaga beach this year and the Dyconia was legit the best spot we could've picked. They didn't give us a hard time about noise or partying, there were so many people our age raging in the foam pit. The volleyball spot was excellent to meet the hot neighbours in the day and play a few games before hitting to pool and beach. The added bonus was the walk to the main end, it's close enough to walk but far enough that it was quiet when we needed sleep and didn't have to wait or pay for cabs. We've been screwed over for damage deposits in Wasaga before and this place didn't screw us around about it at all, the front desk even gave us a second chance to keep it if we cleaned up the room after we went to check out. Honestly couldn't think of a better long weekend spot in Wasaga. The rooms and property aren't like the city, but it's like a party summer camp for people our age (all in our 20s). Can't wait to get back this summer

Room Tip: The rooms to the right side of the main entrance are great for getting to know your neighbours cause...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hockeydudehamilton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

I been going to Wasaga beach from last 25 years. I’ve almost stayed in every motel as they have a very short season that's why there is not a single name brand hotel there. I been coming to this hotel from last three years. each time i go i see improvements and i love the location. I usually get number 46 which is the last room on the second floor & you can see and hear the water from this room. The staff is very friendly my kids really enjoy the pool and pool games. It’s not 4 or 5 star but really great place to stay close to the beach. I will be coming back. If you're looking to party, book this hotel not the ones down the road. This is the place for that. If you want a nice, clean, relaxing place to party and have fun then this is the hotel for you. The entire security and staff were cool with us (letting us play loud music, have friends over during the day, keeping us safe, you name it).

Room Tip: 46 had a great view of the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank poolboundmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wasaga Beach hotels
0.0 mi away
Wasaga Riverdocks Suites Inc
Wasaga Riverdocks Suites Inc
#10 of 16 in Wasaga Beach
29 reviews
0.8 mi away
Villa Nova Motel Resort
Villa Nova Motel Resort
#6 of 10 in Wasaga Beach
26 reviews
0.8 mi away
Saga Resort
Saga Resort
#2 of 10 in Wasaga Beach
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Oasis By The Bay Vacation Resort
Oasis By The Bay Vacation Resort
#1 of 32 in Wasaga Beach
65 reviews
1.7 mi away
Travelodge Wasaga Beach
Travelodge Wasaga Beach
#14 of 16 in Wasaga Beach
61 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hollywood Cottages
Hollywood Cottages
#9 of 16 in Wasaga Beach
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dyconia Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dyconia Resort

Property: Dyconia Resort
Address: 361 Mosley St, Wasaga Beach, Ontario L9Z 2J8, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Wasaga Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 32 Speciality Lodging in Wasaga Beach
Hotel Class:2 star — Dyconia Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Also Known As:
Dyconia Hotel Wasaga Beach
Dyconia Resort Wasaga Beach, Canada - Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing