We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wasaga Beach
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mermaid Motel & Cottage Court
Ranked #3 of 16 Wasaga Beach B&B and Inns
Kingston, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Convenient”
Reviewed 23 September 2012

I didn't want to rate the Mermaid as poor but neither does it deserve an average rating. So, two stars it is. Let's just call it adaquate.

We stayed in one of the smaller, single double-bed rooms. The owner was quite clear that the room was small and offered us the chance to move up to something bigger if we so chose. The room indeed was small, the smallest I've ever seen in my travels. But that was fine with us, we didn't travel to Wasaga Beach to stay in our room.

The reason for the two stars was the spartan, worn look of the room. There was a tear in the screen on the front door. Room decor was cinder block with a few pictures. No washcloths were made available in the shower/wash room. A/C was a little spotty and noisy. Since the motel is located on a fairly busy street it's hard to keep the windows open at night so the A/C is a must in hot weather.

On the plus side the Mermaid does have a salt-water pool. But we went to Wasaga Beach for the beach, so we never used the pool. There was a small fridge in our room which was very handy. Best of all is the short 5 minute walk down a quiet street to beach area 5 which makes the Mermaid worth it if just for the location. Apart from some traffic noise at night the motel itself was quiet. The owner is very nice and pleasant.

All in all it's not a terrible place to stay. Only spartan.
Would I stay here again? Perhaps. But I would look elsewhere first.
It appears the town has not welcomed chain motels and so choices are limited to family run motels. And therein lies the adventure!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SteveB15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    9
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
40
13
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012

My husband and I have been going to the Mermaid Motel for the last 6 years for mini summer vacation and we love it! It is clean and well kept. We have stayed in the condo, 2 bedroom cottage and this year we rented the deluxe 2 bedroom cottage since we have a little 11 month old boy. Iwana and her team were amazing as usual, super polite and courteous, they greeted me with "Good Morning" every morning. They also offered to take my son for a walk in his stroller around the grounds one evening. We love going to the Mermaid cottages as we know we will never be disappointed. It is literally our home away from home. You don't get better than this in Wasaga Beach. it is the perfect place for a family vacation, it is safe and has great accommodations.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank stephg78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 August 2012

This is a second home for us we have been coming here for the past 6 yrs and they have seen my family grow. Iwina is a great person she spoiled my daughter with chocolates and fixed her hair. She takes great care of the place if you respect the property they respect you.
The homes are very clean. The pool is a great place to relax and is always at a great temperature and always clean. They are10 minutes from beach 1.

Room Tip: The Cottages are quieter as they are in the back of the complex.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 4Beachbabesand3hunks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guelph, Ontario, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2012

We have been coming to Wasaga for over 30 years now, and about 10 years ago we came across the mermaid and have not stayed anywhere else since. They have many activies around the resort, as in a pool, playground and ping pong table. The service here is great and its just a short walk away from the beach. Every year we come there are many more impovements done to spruce the place up. The owners are very accomadating, and friendly.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Brittany H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 27 July 2012

Every year for the past ten years my family has been coming to the Mermaid Motel & Cottage Court. Everything that we could ask for is at the Mermaid! Its great for family's that want to get away for the summer and just relax!! The motel part is great if your staying for a 1-3 nights, but if you want to stay for more than 4 days the cottage court is the best place to go!
The cottages are very clean and great for families. The cottages include 2-3 bedrooms, a full kitchen with microwave, airconditioning and cable TV. The beach is only a few minutes walk from the Motel. But if you don't want to take the walk, The Mermaid has the great option of a salt water heated pool! The owners are very friendly and accommodating! The Mermaid Motel & Cottage Court is the place to be!
Lori & Angelo

Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Lori P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2012

two families with kids aged 5-8, Stayed one night. Modest but clean accommodations, fridge and kettle in room. We packed our supper and ate at a picnic table outside the room. Kids loved the pool, however suggest it open at 9 a.m., as check out is at 11, so you cannot enjoy it on the day you depart. The beach (Beach 5) is a short walk, and was clean and uncrowded. Great for monitoring kids.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackie499
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kitchener, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 June 2012

My husband and I celebrated our third wedding anniversay and spent it here at one of their small cottages. Wow.....clean.....well kept......unbelievable compared to some of the places we have stayed before. From reading other reviews we were skeptical but decided to judge it on our own and i am so glad we did. Yes...the owners have signs posted on the property but which other way would your know what the rules are if you dont have any signs to abide by. The owners were very pleasant and made sure our stay was comfortable. There were a few families at the cottages next to us with small children but there is such a large play area for them that you wouldnt even notice them there.
If your looking for a clean....up to date Motel or Cottage dont stop at these reviews.....its absolutely breathtaking here....check out the grounds for yourself.
Nellie and Victor

Room Tip: stay at cottage number 3....
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nells13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wasaga Beach
8.6 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Collingwood
3.7 mi away
Saga Resort
Saga Resort
#2 of 10 in Wasaga Beach
140 reviews
2.9 mi away
Wasaga Riverdocks Suites Inc
Wasaga Riverdocks Suites Inc
#10 of 16 in Wasaga Beach
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Wasaga Motel
Wasaga Motel
#5 of 10 in Wasaga Beach
19 reviews
1.9 mi away
Oasis By The Bay Vacation Resort
Oasis By The Bay Vacation Resort
#1 of 32 in Wasaga Beach
64 reviews
3.6 mi away
Villa Nova Motel Resort
Villa Nova Motel Resort
#6 of 10 in Wasaga Beach
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mermaid Motel & Cottage Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mermaid Motel & Cottage Court

Property: Mermaid Motel & Cottage Court
Address: 1600 Mosley Street, Wasaga Beach, Ontario L9Z 2A2, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Wasaga Beach
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Wasaga Beach
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
Mermaid Motel & Cottage Court Wasaga Beach, Canada - Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing