We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place, good value: Bon petit hotel sympathique” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aux Portes du Soleil

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Aux Portes du Soleil
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Baie-St-Paul
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great place, good value: Bon petit hotel sympathique”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed there for 1 night, nice clean room good location and very nice welcome from the owner. Motorcycle friendly.
Good value for the money compared with some of the BB's

On est resté 1 nuit. Petite chambre propre, bon emplacement et excellent accueil du proprio.
Motos sont bienvenues!
Bonne valeur surtout comparé aux Gîtes

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Roadrunner666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    46
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
29
57
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014

Very charming motel. The room was super clean and comfy, and quite nice. The location is perfect, and it is a quiet spot -- perfect for skiers. You can walk to restaurants and other spots (5 minutes, easily done and great after a hearty meal :) I would highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank solodiver44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2013

A very considerate owner-manager with good knowledge of the local attractions. The room was clean, the washroom was spotless and that is what we were looking for. Though we did not have breakfast in the motel, I gave a cursory look at the offerings which looked adequate but no eggs. Close to the highway and on the way to the scenic drive on Rue 362. The rooms are small though with a freeze and a Micro convenience.
We loved Baie Saint Paul with its lush green hills and picturesque downtown. We also went to Baie Saint Catherine to watch the whales in St. Lawrence river and saw quite a few whales.
This part of Quebec was so beautiful in the summer and we also found the people quite friendly and the food was very tasty. Though did not see many fruits. The region is known as Charlevoix, and I would recommend it to anybody and everybody for a summer vacation.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank DipuandApuinToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitehorse, Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2013

After skiing hard at Le Massif, 15-20 minutes drive from the motel, we were always treated very well by the friendly staff. Excellent food, secret recepies from Nicolas`s Mom back in Switzerland,
can`t ask for more after a big day at the ski resort. Rooms are very clean and the motel is well located/walking distance from good bars and bistro/restaurant. I will go back Aux portes du soleil on my next trip to the amazing Charlevoix region

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank poirierstephan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2012

As others have noted, the rooms are very clean,nicely decorated and comfortable with free Wi-Fi, cable TV, breakfast available, etc. The owner, Nicholas, is proudly Swiss and upholds the Swiss reputation for precision and neatness.

`We were touring in September 2012, and stayed at Aux Portes du Soliel. As we left town, our car was front-ended on the hill leaving own and totaled. We spent the day in the Baie St Paul hospital. We called Nicholas (the only person we knew in town) from the emergency room and he immediately set a room aside for us and volunteered to pick us up from hospital, store our bicycles and camping gear until we could arrange transportation/shipping and help us in any way he could. Nicholas made us comfortable and looked after us. He coordinated with both the local police and with the towing company to help us with documentation and arrangements for our luggage. His help was invaluable and well beyond both the typical "Where should we eat tonight?" or anything I would expect from a hotelier.

So exceptionally clean, comfortable rooms and a host who goes beyond all expectations to help customers in need. Two thumbs up!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Clearwx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
108 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2011

We try to stay at this motel every Winter when visiting the area to ski. Very clean and well managed by Nicolas who is always happy to help with area information, traveling and local suggestions. Rooms are large,very clean and equipped with mini-fridge, free WiFi and hair dryer, etc. and are also spacious which is great for a family or those with ski or cycling gear.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hurlp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zurich
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2011

Friendly people, clean and nice rooms, cheap breakfast. We'll go back one day.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ami1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Baie-St-Paul hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Le Germain Charlevoix
Hotel Le Germain Charlevoix
#1 of 9 in Baie-St-Paul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 481 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Baie Saint Paul
Hotel Baie Saint Paul
#5 of 9 in Baie-St-Paul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
0.4 mi away
Motel des Cascades
Motel des Cascades
#2 of 9 in Baie-St-Paul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Auberge La Grande Maison
Auberge La Grande Maison
#3 of 9 in Baie-St-Paul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
1.0 mi away
Le Domaine Belle Plage
Le Domaine Belle Plage
#6 of 9 in Baie-St-Paul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
0.5 mi away
Auberge la Maison Otis
Auberge la Maison Otis
#7 of 9 in Baie-St-Paul
3.5 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aux Portes du Soleil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aux Portes du Soleil

Property: Aux Portes du Soleil
Address: 29 de la Lumiere, Baie-St-Paul, Quebec G3Z 1Y7, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Baie-St-Paul
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Baie-St-Paul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Aux Portes du Soleil 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aux Portes du Soleil is a non-smoking establishment. Our top priority is providing our guest with maximum comfort. Our Auberge proposes for all the rooms a microwave oven, a refrigerator, flat sceen TV with more than 40 channels, free wi-fi, a private terrace and a BBQ area. Complimentary service of full kitchen amenities (plates, glasses, forks and knives) is provided, as well as laundry cleaning. Calm and quiet, we are only 8 minutes away BY WALK from the heart of Baie-St-Paul and its arts galleries, restaurants and beaches along the St-Lawrence river! We guarantee you a peaceful stay in the Charlevoix region. Quality, comfort and simplicity in the heart of Baie Saint-Paul! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Aux Portes du Soleil reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aux Portes Du Soleil Baie-St-Paul, Quebec, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing