We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hosteria El Puma

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hosteria El Puma
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in El Chalten
Certificate of Excellence
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
68 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Wonderful staff”
Reviewed 8 January 2014

We spent Christmas Eve and Christmas Day in El Chalten. Arriving mid-morning from El Calafate we were picked up at the bus station and whisked over to the hotel. It is about a twenty minute walk from the hotel to the Los Glaciers National Park, but the trailheads to many treks are close to El Puma.

The staff was amazingly helpful and welcoming, even on a MAJOR holiday. We were offered the three course Christmas dinner, but turned it down as it seemed rather expensive. Little did we know there would be very few other options in town. However, the gal at the desk actually called around town looking for somewhere for us to go. We ended up at one of her recommendations. Returning back to the hotel on Christmas Eve, we heard they only served four people at the restaurant, which made us a little sad.

Breakfast was par, nothing hot but the coffee and tea. Just enough to get you out and going for the day. Argentine's aren't big breakfast people, so I'm sure the hotels we've stayed at feel like they are providing a lot of food, but by American standards it's just a continental breakfast. They did have some fantastic homemade yogurt, though.

Rooms were warm and cozy. Ours did NOT have a working outlet, however. The only place we could plug ANYTHING in was in the bathroom. Thankfully, we had packed a power strip. Check out time is 10 AM, which was a tad early for us. Christmas Day was a blustery, cold, rainy day and we didn't venture our except for lunch. Spent many lovely hours around the fireplace in the lobby with a wide range of other guests who chose not to trek that day.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellecar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnaElissondo, Gerente at Hosteria El Puma, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Thank you for leave your opinion! It makes us happy to have been chosen to stay at Christmas! We hope you have enjoyed your stay in El Chaltén and that special day in spite of the weather! You will always be welcome!
Our best regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    87
    53
    10
    5
    0
See reviews for
15
87
16
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviewed 23 December 2013

We loved each minute we stayed at Hosteria El Puma! It felt like home. Anita and Cintia are sweethearts- so warm and friendly. We were so comfortable here and loved winding down the day with the fire in the main living room. It felt like a very authentic Patagonian experience.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank mlleaimeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnaElissondo, Gerente at Hosteria El Puma, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Thank you for give us your opinión! We are glad that you have enjoyed staying at El Chaltén and to be part of that experience!! You will always be welcome!
Our best regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 December 2013

Stayed at El Puma on last few days of trekking holiday with Exodus Travel. Comfortable beds and rooms were much appreciated, and meals were excellent including hearty continental breakfast. Only issue was that the heating was a little on the high side....but couldn't complain as the handwashed items dried in no time!
Thanks for an enjoyable stay!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Nareen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnaElissondo, Gerente at Hosteria El Puma, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
Hello Nareen!
Thank you for give us this useful opinion! We´ll work to improve de heating!
We´re glad that you´ve enjoyed staying at El Chaltén.
Our best regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steamboat Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
89 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2013

Our room was very clean and roomy. Good breakfast. I loved all the climbing photos and descriptions on the walls of the breakfast room. Reception desk staff were OK. Had a bit of a mix up on my laundry bill. I was charged the equivilent of $20 US for a pair of slacks and when I questioned my bill, I was told that although the bill was in error, it could not be changed because she did not know how to give me a credit. On the other hand, the reception staff made several dinner reservations for us and were very pleasant.

The location of El Puma is very good and it is located next to a gem of a restaurant, Ruca Mahuida (only open in the spring and summer). Also close to a little cervecerria on the main street which offers only two excellent homemade beers (a lager and a stout) along with unlimited popcorn. The pizza and salads at Patagonicus were very good as well. La Trapera was a cozy little place to eat..big fire, charismatic owner and some Argentine comfort food called Locro.

We loved our hikes in the Glacieres National Park. All the trails were well maintained and well used. My husband and I are in our 60's and I think we were the oldest people in town. Even though the sun was shining each day, the wind was our constant companion. Be sure to bring your windbreaker, stocking cap and wind gloves! We loved the little frontier town of El Chalten and would come back in a heart beat.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank parallel40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
195 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2012

I stayed at the Hostería El Puma as part of the Explora Travesía, and the lovely ladies at the reception really took very good care of me from the first day to the day I left.

The rooms are large and very rustic. It is on a side street, which means that things are quiet at night, and yet everything is walkable (this is El Chaltén after all).

Wifi is available in the public areas, although it is slow and erratic.

The orange juice is freshly-squeezed by hand, and very good, as is the house-pour red wine!

I was the only guest for most of my stay, since it was very early in the season, but they laid everything out for breakfast just for me. I felt bad, since I was never going to finish all the food.

The food that we brought on the hikes were prepared by the kitchen, which was consistently of a high quality.

For a place as remote as El Chaltén, what more could you ask for?

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank colin_matthew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
88 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2012

The Puma is one of the oldest hotels in El Chalten. It is situated off the main street which means it is quiet. It is very charming and the rooms are clean and pleasant. It has a nice lawn to the front and it's a very peaceful place to rest.

There is wireless internet available in the lobby which is slow but, for El Chalten, pretty quick!

Breakfast is simple but very nice and the chef will prepare eggs to your order.

Supper is very good indeed but, at least when we were there, there is no choice - you get what is available that evening. This wasn't a problem as everything they produced was very good.

The staff are young and helpful and I can't fault the place.

There are a lot of newer larger hotels but I'd describe them as being without charm to look at and probably more full of organised tour groups.

My advice - stay in El Puma!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mystic, Connecticut
Level Contributor
121 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2012

Clean, nicely maintained, not fancy, perfect for our two days of hiking. The staff was very pleasant and knowledgeable. Breakfast buffet was good but eggs were extra expense (no big problem). Lots of great candy in bowls around the place! No complaints and walkable to anywhere. It's a funky neat hikers paradise of a town. Llamas on premises were an added attraction.

Room Tip: Didn't get to see the other rooms but they all looked like they were quiet and nicely maintained...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Avalonavalon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these El Chalten hotels
0.7 mi away
Hosteria Senderos
Hosteria Senderos
#5 of 19 in El Chalten
329 reviews
0.2 mi away
Don Los Cerros Boutique Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Chalten Suites Hotel
Chalten Suites Hotel
#1 of 19 in El Chalten
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Poincenot
Hotel Poincenot
#12 of 19 in El Chalten
191 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Destino Sur
Hotel Destino Sur
#4 of 19 in El Chalten
258 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Lunajuim
Hotel Lunajuim
#7 of 19 in El Chalten
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hosteria El Puma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hosteria El Puma

Property: Hosteria El Puma
Address: Calle Lionel Terray 212, El Chalten Z9301AAT, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Santa Cruz > El Chalten
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in El Chalten
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hosteria El Puma 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the foot of the Fitz Roy and Torre mountains, in the heart of Los Glaciares National Park, is El Chalten, National Capital of Trekking, chosen by hikers from around the world to perform the most varied hiking tours and horseback riding. There, right where the trails start, you will find Hostería El Puma, a pleasant and comfortable place for people who enjoy nature in an active way. The Lodge has 12 spacious, non-smoking rooms equipped with safety box, private bathroom with bathtub, hairdryer and amenities. The guest can rest, relax or read a book from our small library, in a large garden or in a warm living room in front of the fireplace, enjoying a glass of wine after a long day of hiking. El Puma has its own private parking (outdoor). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Hosteria El Puma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hosteria El Puma Hotel El Chalten

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing