We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and our place in Chalten”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cabanas Cerro Torre
buenos aires
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Comfortable and our place in Chalten”
Reviewed 27 November 2013

We have already stayed 3 times here. The cabins are at the begining of the town, and since it is such a small town it is close to everywhere. The new cabins are really comfortable and cozy. The first two times we stayed, the owners were there and they really made the difference! Great people. Last time we went (2012) breakfast was no longer served in the main house, which was a pity altough you have everything to make it yourself at the cabin.
If you want a confortable place to stay as the base for trekking around the area, the cabins are great (not sure if they still have the "old" ones, but be sure to ask for the new ones)

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank viajeraindependiente
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alfonso S, Director Comercial at Cabanas Cerro Torre, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Google Translation
Estimado Viajera Independiente!!! Te agradecemos en nombre de la familia tus agradables palabras! te esperaremos siempre! Saludos.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    33
    14
    5
    4
See reviews for
38
22
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Austria
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Read some reviews (just now), I share some concerns: no wifi, near diesel electrical power, "far" from major restaurants. But here my points and experience there:

no wifi - not nice, I acknowledge, but sometimes... it is so good to be off! Not convenient for sure, but you may take time for something else.

power plant - when I saw it "s***t!" but honestly I could not hear that much in the evening, our cabin was just in that corner.

far from restaurants - we were driving, not an issue for us, but then "far" in El Chalten is 5 or 6 blocks!

superior cabin - low season, so I just asked at the counter, we could choose which cabin, the spacious superior fit our needs very well, but the normal one would fine as well.

service - seems I met the owner when we arrived, I need few things later on and we had no issue at all. Considering the average service in Argentina they were quite helpful.

As other users points, there are a lot of options in the city. This one was the first we checked, as we were driving and had the time we did check several others (we wanted a cabana), this one, despite the low points (no wifi is annoying) it was the best we could find.

Room Tip: If you like/want to cook by yourself, superior cabins are worth. Kitchens are much bigger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aroeira A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alfonso S, Director Comercial at Cabanas Cerro Torre, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Google Translation
Estimado muchas gracias por su opinión!!! En cuanto la situación de WiFi, creemos que evidentemente es un problema para nuestros huéspedes, y trataremos de dar lo mas pronto solución a ello, en cuanto haya un servicio serio y responsable en la Localidad de el Chalten, no conozco si en los demás prestadores el servicio WiFi cumple las exigencias de los huéspedes! Desde ya muchísimas gracias!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hadera, Israel
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2013

I had read other reviews about the rude staff but still liked the sounds of the cabins so booked it anyway. I have never encountered such rude treatment in my life. We arrived late, due to a flight delay because of weather (and we contacted the hotel to warn them of our delay). When we arrived at 9PM, there was a horrible wind storm outside. There wasn't a single cabin with a light and the reception was closed. We wandered around out back and finally a woman showed up who seemed angry that we were there. When I asked if she had a map of the hikes in the area because I wanted to head out on one early in the morning, she said no (although I could plainly see them sitting on the desk). She practically threw us in our cabin with no explanation whatsoever and left. The cabin was excruciatingly hot and was heated by an old fashioned gas heater that had a sign on it saying "danger--do not try to adjust the heat". I had to sleep with the windows open through a wind, dust and rain storm in order not to choke from the heat. She had gone home so there was no one to talk to about it. In the morning we woke up at 6AM to head out on a hike but couldn't find the start of the trail and ended up searching out a hostel that actually did have a friendly front desk staff and some maps. After finding one, we decided to go back to our cabin and leave. We had to wait until 10AM for her to show up so that we could check out. She threw a total fit and said that I had booked for 4 nights and needed to pay. I told her I would pay only for one night. She cursed at me, refused to give me change then kicked me out, slammed and locked the office door in my face. On top of the staff issues, the cabins are located at the end of town, far from the restaurants, shops and start of the hikes. It's a feeling of being isolated but not in a good way. The kitchen is not a real kitchen--just a sink and some cupboards. Horrible place. There are plenty of wonderful hostels in the area. Go to one of them or you will walk by them wishing you were there instead of in one of these pretty unpleasant cabins.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kc B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alfonso S, Director Comercial at Cabanas Cerro Torre, responded to this review, 16 November 2013
Google Translation
Estimado o Estimada, lamentamos que su estadía no haya cubierto sus expectativas!!! Lamentamos que no haya recibido la atención que merece, que se lo haya tratado como lo describe!!! En casi mas de diez años! No hemos visto tratar así a ningún huésped! Por ninguno de nuestros empleados, mas aun cuando nuestro personal es reducido a dos! y el resto somos familia!
Lamentamos que haya pasado por esto, la Familia Scelzi, como los propietarios le pedimos las disculpas correspondientes! y lo invitamos, a visitarnos nuevamente! personalmente lo atenderé, y mejoraremos su impresión de nuestra empresa familiar.
Nuevamente, en nombre de toda nuestra familia! Disculpas... Saludos Cordiales. Alfonso Scelzi.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tegucigalpa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2011

The cabin included a king-sized bed in the bedroom, beautifully clean bathroom with shower- . The cabana was solid and cozy. A very friendly and casual staff (mother and daughter) all make this a place to recommend.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank latintravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alfonso S, Director Comercial at Cabanas Cerro Torre, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Google Translation
Estimado Latintravelers, se agradece su gesto tan amable de dar su opinión en cuanto nuestro emprendimiento! Gracias por visitarnos!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
Level 6 Contributor
220 reviews
136 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2010

This is my experience in this place :

Advantage :
- Superior Cabanas are spacious and nice

Issues :
- Rude Staff (wanted to call the police)
- Location, far from bus terminals, far from trails
- Very Noisy : close to the diesel electrical power supply
- In front of city gaz tanks
- No Wifi, first time in Argentina

The full story :
Quite a lot of other hotels were fully booked in El Chalten, the superior cabanas seemed to be nice on the website, so we asked through mail the disponibility for our 2 nights.
The answered was no issue, the cabana superior is available, we asked the conditions to book : pay one night over western union 290$ instead 380$pesos, it was strange so we asked again if this is for booking the superior cabana and the answer was YES.
Even the fact that it costs a Western Union fee of 10$ or 15$us we decided to book. We received a confirmation of booking for a standard and after a mail exchange we learnt that the superior cabana is already booked by someone else :( !!!
On the day of arrival, the first person we saw gave us a superior cabana, we though the issue has been corrected. A second person angry came to tell us that we have to take our belongings and go to a standard bungalow, so we tried to explain that we booked a Superior, she said : "This is not my problem, call the owner!".
I can't admit that is not her problem, so we argu that she must find a solution, so after 15min of scream from her, and threat to call the police, she finished by leaving us in the superior room for one night. The day after she inform us that we could keep the cabana for the 2 night and of course we had to pay the extra amount, things we have done.
Thanks for this wonderful welcome !!! I have never seen this before !!!

There are plenty of other hotel to go in El Chalten.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Airwise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alfonso S, Propietario at Cabanas Cerro Torre, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Google Translation
Estimado Airwise! Como propietario de Cabañas Cerro Torre lamento profundamente, que su estadía en nuestras cabañas no fuera de lo mejor que la ocurrió en la Argentina o en el Chalten. por otro lado desde la Temporada 2010 la Terminal de Ómnibus que a los escasos 50 metros de nuestro Complejo de Cabaña, NO COMPREDO por que dice que estamos lejos!!!!, solo hay dos alojamientos a esa distancia, la Hostería Senderos y Cabañas Cerro Torre. En cuanto a los senderos. ¿usted cree honestamente, qué en un Parque Nacional los senderos, no es suficiente a mas de 400 metros? ¿Usted sabe que las Cabañas Cerro Torre están a no menos de 400 metros de la entrada al Parque Nacional Los glaciares? ¿Usted sabe que la localidad del Chalten no cuenta con energía que no sea por usinas? Por otro lado debo comentar que las usinas fueron cambiadas por las quejas de muchos vecinos, no somos el único alojamiento cerca de la usina. En cuanto a la Planta de Gas! ¿Usted cree honestamente, que nosotros construiríamos un complejo de 13 cabañas frente a una Planta de Gas, sabiendo que no es segura para nuestros huéspedes? Por el contrario somos el Primer complejo de Cabañas del Chalten, la Plata de gas esta menos de 5 años! Nosotros 23 años!!!! ¿Es justo ese comentario? Por lo demás lamentamos en nombre de toda la Familia Scelzi! Lo que tuvo que padecer en nuestro complejo de Cabañas. Le enviamos nuestros saludos afectuosos!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 2 August 2009

We were very happy here -- The cabin was solid and cozy. The owner was a very nice and sophisticated woman, who even let me borrow one of her fine big art-books one evening. She also found us a local taxi-driver who was a charming woman -- a local teacher, moonlighting. She was talkative, smart, and very informative. The only thing that marred out stay is that at check-out, we were told that we had been put into one of the deluxe rooms -- even though we had booked a standard. Having never stayed there before (or ANYWHERE in Patagonia) , we didn't know the difference. Yet the night-person (not the owner) insisted that we pay the extra, and that we had been dishonest in staying in the "deluxe room." We felt unjustly maligned. In the end they let us pay for a standard -- after all, that is what we had booked, and no one ever told us they were "upgrading" us. But the night-person still acted pretty huffy about it.....

NOT OUR FAULT!

Yet we still recommend this place highly -- just watch that they don't try to "upgrade" you...!

Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank sammymcwhammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alfonso S, Director Comercial at Cabanas Cerro Torre, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Google Translation
Estimado desde ya muchas gracias por sus comentarios. Gracias por su vista, le enviamos un gran saludo afectuoso...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these El Chalten hotels
0.1 mi away
Hosteria Senderos
Hosteria Senderos
#4 of 19 in El Chalten
343 reviews
0.4 mi away
Don Los Cerros Boutique Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Hosteria Infinito Sur
Hosteria Infinito Sur
#10 of 19 in El Chalten
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Destino Sur
Hotel Destino Sur
#5 of 19 in El Chalten
263 reviews
0.6 mi away
Rancho Grande Hostel
Rancho Grande Hostel
#5 of 48 in El Chalten
310 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hosteria El Paraiso
Hosteria El Paraiso
#1 of 48 in El Chalten
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabanas Cerro Torre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabanas Cerro Torre

Property: Cabanas Cerro Torre
Address: Calle Perito F P Moreno, El Chalten Z9301ACL, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Santa Cruz > El Chalten
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 48 Speciality Lodging in El Chalten
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Cabanas Cerro Torre 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Building Cabañas in El Chalten Patagonia Argentina since 1990. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Cabanas Cerro Torre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing