We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful”
Review of Thiamalu

Thiamalu
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Thiamalu
Ranked #16 of 19 Hotels in El Chalten
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Beautifully clean, cosy b&b in El Chalten, two mins from the main thoroughfare.
Hearty breakfast with good coffee and great service from Andy, the owner.

Don't know what the bad reviews are on about!!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Empanadas13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (46)
There are newer reviews for Thiamalu
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

16 - 22 of 46 reviews

Reviewed 3 November 2013

Was a bit apprehensive about this stay as some of the reviews are mixed but we had an excellent 3 night stay.

The room was so cosy and warm, perfectly for relaxing post-hike. It was comfortable and immaculately clean. The bed was really comfy - I had the best sleep I've had in Argentina here! Andy at the front desk was great, even making us breakfast the evening before when we had to leave early!

Wifi was patchy, but that's El Chalten, not the place.

Some reviews say that the shower pressure was really low - it's lowish, but really not badly so. I've certainly experienced lots worse, even in Europe.

Thanks for everything, Andy, hope you get to visit Ireland some day!

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank euphrosyna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2011

It was off-season so we were the only guests in the hostel. Andy on the front desk was very helpful and the breakfast was also very nice. Room was warm and beds were comfortable. Only negative comment I can make is that the water pressure in the shower could be better.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OutnAbout2600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2011

We found Thiamalu to be a pleasant place to stay. The room was clean and warm. We were always greeted happily by our hostess. She even came out one evening to point out the constellations in the southern sky. They provided us with a lunch for our hike to Mt Fitzroy. In addition directly across the street was La Chocolateria. Wonderful chocolates of all kinds.
We had a great stay with sunny weather, no need to talk about the wind wind, wind. We did not get to see the Magellan woodpecker but we did get to see the "checkerboard" woodpecker.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aquaspalsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2010

The best thing about this Hostel is the front desk lady, Jandra (short for Alejandra). She works a long day but is always cheerful, keen to help, and smiling.
The next best things are the heater and comfortable bed.
It is only a few blocks from the bus station and some shops and restaurants. It’s a twenty-minute warm-up walk to the trail head for the hike to Fitz Roy.
Our room (#1) was large and had a view of Fitz Roy on sunny days. The bathroom was tiny.
Breakfast consisted of tang, coffee/tea/hot milk/, bread & medialunas (and of course dulce de leche and jam).
It rains a lot in El Chalten so it would be nice if the hostel offered some way to get clothes dry. Perhaps a rack or at least hooks near the heater.
Things that weren’t perfect:
Thin walls (noise from other rooms).
Very low water pressure in the shower. I’m all for conserving water, but this lack of pressure is beyond that concept (especially when it’s so cold in the bathroom).
Our bathroom window didn’t seal well so it was always cold in the bathroom.
Our toilet never stopped running. We had to lift the lid of the tank and close the flapper each time we flushed the toilet.
Our toilet paper was not renewed as needed and we had to ask for it when we ran out.
These last two items are things that the cleaning lady obviously needs training in dealing with.
I would hope that you could find a better place in El Chalten.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank blwright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2016
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank fernandqueiroz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2016, travelled with family
Thank Valentin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these El Chalten hotels
0.1 mi away
La Guanaca
La Guanaca
#11 of 19 in El Chalten
98 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hosteria Senderos
Hosteria Senderos
#4 of 19 in El Chalten
343 reviews
0.5 mi away
Complejo Turistico Lo de Tomy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Kalenshen
Kalenshen
#17 of 19 in El Chalten
161 reviews
0.3 mi away
Don Los Cerros Boutique Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Chalten Suites Hotel
Chalten Suites Hotel
#2 of 19 in El Chalten
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thiamalu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thiamalu

Address: Avenida Lago Del Desierto 99, El Chalten Z9301ACA, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Santa Cruz > El Chalten
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 19 Hotels in El Chalten
Price Range: £52 - £74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hosteria Thiamalu is located in the city center You will regard our hotel as .a pleasant and comfortable place where you will find warm, personalized attention given by its owners .If you are willing to have an unforgettable adventure in a majestic , amazing and mysterious landscape ,come and visit us because you will remember it for ever... We offer double, triple & quadruple rooms with private bathrooms, central hot water, continental breakfast ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Thiamalu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing