We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Musty - Disgusting shower” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Thiamalu

Thiamalu
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Thiamalu
Ranked #17 of 19 Hotels in El Chalten
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Musty - Disgusting shower”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2014

I think we were in room 3. Our shower smelled so bad(musty/moldy) we had to keep the room door open (the windows didn't open) and close the bathroom door. Rooms were on the small side but big enough for what we needed. Would have liked to open a window over night because it smelled in the room and was warm with one heavy blanket, but couldn't.
The breakfast was good coffee. tea or cocoa. Bread and croissants with jam and butter.
Host, not Andy mentioned in previous posts but a woman, speaks limited English.
I wouldn't stay here again.

Room Tip: the one room facing Av.Lago del Desierto has a view of Fitz Roy
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawdlejournies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    20
    3
    4
    4
See reviews for
4
29
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

Beautifully clean, cosy b&b in El Chalten, two mins from the main thoroughfare.
Hearty breakfast with good coffee and great service from Andy, the owner.

Don't know what the bad reviews are on about!!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Empanadas13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013 via mobile

Was a bit apprehensive about this stay as some of the reviews are mixed but we had an excellent 3 night stay.

The room was so cosy and warm, perfectly for relaxing post-hike. It was comfortable and immaculately clean. The bed was really comfy - I had the best sleep I've had in Argentina here! Andy at the front desk was great, even making us breakfast the evening before when we had to leave early!

Wifi was patchy, but that's El Chalten, not the place.

Some reviews say that the shower pressure was really low - it's lowish, but really not badly so. I've certainly experienced lots worse, even in Europe.

Thanks for everything, Andy, hope you get to visit Ireland some day!

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank euphrosyna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2011

It was off-season so we were the only guests in the hostel. Andy on the front desk was very helpful and the breakfast was also very nice. Room was warm and beds were comfortable. Only negative comment I can make is that the water pressure in the shower could be better.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OutnAbout2600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Half Moon Bay, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2011

We found Thiamalu to be a pleasant place to stay. The room was clean and warm. We were always greeted happily by our hostess. She even came out one evening to point out the constellations in the southern sky. They provided us with a lunch for our hike to Mt Fitzroy. In addition directly across the street was La Chocolateria. Wonderful chocolates of all kinds.
We had a great stay with sunny weather, no need to talk about the wind wind, wind. We did not get to see the Magellan woodpecker but we did get to see the "checkerboard" woodpecker.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aquaspalsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
75 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2010

The best thing about this Hostel is the front desk lady, Jandra (short for Alejandra). She works a long day but is always cheerful, keen to help, and smiling.
The next best things are the heater and comfortable bed.
It is only a few blocks from the bus station and some shops and restaurants. It’s a twenty-minute warm-up walk to the trail head for the hike to Fitz Roy.
Our room (#1) was large and had a view of Fitz Roy on sunny days. The bathroom was tiny.
Breakfast consisted of tang, coffee/tea/hot milk/, bread & medialunas (and of course dulce de leche and jam).
It rains a lot in El Chalten so it would be nice if the hostel offered some way to get clothes dry. Perhaps a rack or at least hooks near the heater.
Things that weren’t perfect:
Thin walls (noise from other rooms).
Very low water pressure in the shower. I’m all for conserving water, but this lack of pressure is beyond that concept (especially when it’s so cold in the bathroom).
Our bathroom window didn’t seal well so it was always cold in the bathroom.
Our toilet never stopped running. We had to lift the lid of the tank and close the flapper each time we flushed the toilet.
Our toilet paper was not renewed as needed and we had to ask for it when we ran out.
These last two items are things that the cleaning lady obviously needs training in dealing with.
I would hope that you could find a better place in El Chalten.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank blwright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these El Chalten hotels
0.3 mi away
Don Los Cerros Boutique Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Chalten Suites Hotel
Chalten Suites Hotel
#1 of 19 in El Chalten
5.0 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
1.9 mi away
Estancia La Quinta
Estancia La Quinta
#12 of 19 in El Chalten
4.5 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Lunajuim
Hotel Lunajuim
#7 of 19 in El Chalten
4.5 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hosteria Senderos
Hosteria Senderos
#4 of 19 in El Chalten
4.5 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
0.8 mi away
PuduLodge Hosteria Patagonica
PuduLodge Hosteria Patagonica
#14 of 19 in El Chalten
4.0 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thiamalu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thiamalu

Property: Thiamalu
Address: Avenida Lago Del Desierto 99, El Chalten Z9301ACA, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Santa Cruz > El Chalten
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 19 Hotels in El Chalten
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hosteria Thiamalu is located in the city center You will regard our hotel as .a pleasant and comfortable place where you will find warm, personalized attention given by its owners .If you are willing to have an unforgettable adventure in a majestic , amazing and mysterious landscape ,come and visit us because you will remember it for ever... We offer double, triple & quadruple rooms with private bathrooms, central hot water, continental breakfast ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Thiamalu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing