We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good first impression could not be kept up.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hosteria El Paraiso
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good first impression could not be kept up.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2012

The hosteria looks pretty new and clean at first sight. The bathroom however, was not cleaned well. When we asked for cleaning after we had found the toilet dirty and with hairs after check-in, it was cleaned very superficially only.

For the rather high rate they charge esp. in high season, the service could be better. While the girl at reception is really extraordinary helpful and friendly, the guy unfortunately destroyed the good impression. We were staying there for 6 days and when asking for earlier breakfast once (at 7 instead of 7.30, when they usually start), they were not really willing to provide this service. all we got were 2 cups and not even water for tea.
As we saw other guests had been provided with bread, butter, jam, we told the guy in the evening. He did not care, all we got for an answer was: "you are lucky you have been provided something at all!"

The quality of breakfast can been evaluated easily when observing that many guests started to bring their own bread, bought at nearby supermarket!

It seems that this place has been spoilt by being able to make money too easy due to booming tourism at El Chalten.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Retual
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    95
    93
    22
    4
    1
See reviews for
37
112
16
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
62 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2011

Well situated, very clean, good value for the price, helpful staff: we didn't ask for more...

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bgbr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francsico
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2011

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights as we hiked several trails in the Glaciers national park. The hosteria staff were very helpful in providing us with information on the trails/weather conditions and local recommendations. The rooms are simple and very clean. They have a small bar downstairs where you can sit to enjoy a couple of beers after a long day of hiking! The hosteria is located in town so it was convenient to walk to restaurants and stores close by.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SFTravelingNewlyweds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2010

Henry, the owner, will take care of you while you stay here. He's no nonsense but very efficient in giving you advice on treks, transfers to El Calafate and places to eat that are worth your while. And he'll wake up to serve you breakfast even if you're leaving at the crack of dawn.

The room I stayed on the first floor in was immaculate--twin beds with an ensuite full-size bath. There is wi-fi all over the inn, with a strong steady signal (something not easily found in this small--but growing--town. The hosteria is one block from a grocery store and a laundry mat, so it's super convenient.

The room rate was very reasonable, too. He gave me a great off-season deal. I couldn't've been happier with my stay.

Be prepared to pay in cash. American dollars accepted.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ellecrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
israel
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2010

we spent 2 nights in this comfortable hotel. the location in the town is not relevant becuase of the small size. the room was big and comfortable, the service was friendly. they have a real coffe machine!!!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank duboni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these El Chalten hotels
0.3 mi away
Hosteria Senderos
Hosteria Senderos
#5 of 19 in El Chalten
4.5 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Poincenot
Hotel Poincenot
#12 of 19 in El Chalten
4.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chalten Suites Hotel
Chalten Suites Hotel
#1 of 19 in El Chalten
5.0 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Don Los Cerros Boutique Hotel & Spa
0.0 mi away
Hosteria Infinito Sur
Hosteria Infinito Sur
#10 of 19 in El Chalten
4.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kalenshen
Kalenshen
#16 of 19 in El Chalten
3.5 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hosteria El Paraiso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hosteria El Paraiso

Property: Hosteria El Paraiso
Address: Calle Cabo Garcia 105, El Chalten Z9301ABN, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Santa Cruz > El Chalten
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 47 Speciality Lodging in El Chalten
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hosteria El Paraiso 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Paraiso is a mountain inn located in the picturesque village of El Chalten at the foot of Mount Fitz Roy. It is a window to discover how this majestic mountain range is framed: so colorful, so sublime, so unique…A magical place that will captivate you with its simplicity, where the energy of the hills and the blue sky during the day, which is covered with bright stars at night, has the audacity to change its color at different times of the day.Few are those who find the right words to describe such a natural wonder, we found them and with them we welcome our visitors to the paradise… Welcome to El Paraíso! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hosteria El Paraiso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing