We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hosteria El Paraiso
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
94 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Decent place to stay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

Nice views of Fitzroy and the room was nice enough. I didn't think it was a great hotel though. Breakfasts were very poor. Host tried to convince us to take an over-priced taxi to an alternate trail-head which made me a little suspicious.

Room Tip: Beautiful morning views if FitzRoy if you get a room facing the park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brett-Ottawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    95
    93
    22
    4
    1
See reviews for
37
112
16
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Carmichael
Level Contributor
123 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2012

Our tour group stayed here for two nights while we hiked Fitzroy. The rooms and dining area were very hot, and we couldn't seem to regulate the temperature. It's billed as a bed and breakfast, but the meager rolls, cheese and lunch meat weren't nearly enough to sustain us for a 22 km hike! We had to chuckle at the corn flakes in a miniscule cup. Couldn't figure out what we were supposed to do with them.

Room Tip: Stay downstairs where it's relatively cooler.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rpcvtraveler75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roman and Celt in Bristol
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2012

We absolutely loved our stay at this hotel. The hotel is very new and very beatifully built and decorated. There is immediately the feel of a mountain chalet with very nice wooden roof beams exposed in the top floor rooms. There are two large relaxation areas avaialable for guests. One of them is the breakfast room, where in the morning a pleasant contiental breakfast is served. Make sure that you speak a little bit of Spanish as out of hours the manager is not available and the rest of the personnel doesnt speak English at all.
The rooms are very large and comfortable. There are no TVs in the room (as there so much better scenario to watch at the window, with Mt Fitzroy casting its shadow on the village) but there is a radio. The bathroom is brand new and there is a large bath. There is WiFi available, but no guest PC. Make sure you arrive before midnight or inform the management, or the place will be shut. The hotel is located very centrally in the village for the restaurants and all the various treks. We would definitely recommend this hotel and we hope to get back there ourselves!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank motmots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2012

We traveled to El Chalten in November and stayed for three nights at Hosteria El Paraiso. We were so happy we did! The location was great, and Veronica and Gonzalo, the husband/wife team that owns and runs the place, were incredibly friendly (their English was impeccable, and we even heard them speaking some French to the other guests). They were able to give us some idea of how the weather would affect our daily activities, and recommended some great trails.

Our room was on the second floor and was fantastic. Spotless, warm, private, and ready shortly after we arrived though we were quite early for check-in. Breakfast was included, and started early enough to get a nice piece of toast, some yogurt and a cup of coffee in before a long day of hiking. Well worth the price; we were also able to secure a small discount on the room by paying in cash. We'd stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenn Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2012

The hosteria looks pretty new and clean at first sight. The bathroom however, was not cleaned well. When we asked for cleaning after we had found the toilet dirty and with hairs after check-in, it was cleaned very superficially only.

For the rather high rate they charge esp. in high season, the service could be better. While the girl at reception is really extraordinary helpful and friendly, the guy unfortunately destroyed the good impression. We were staying there for 6 days and when asking for earlier breakfast once (at 7 instead of 7.30, when they usually start), they were not really willing to provide this service. all we got were 2 cups and not even water for tea.
As we saw other guests had been provided with bread, butter, jam, we told the guy in the evening. He did not care, all we got for an answer was: "you are lucky you have been provided something at all!"

The quality of breakfast can been evaluated easily when observing that many guests started to bring their own bread, bought at nearby supermarket!

It seems that this place has been spoilt by being able to make money too easy due to booming tourism at El Chalten.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Retual
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
62 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2011

Well situated, very clean, good value for the price, helpful staff: we didn't ask for more...

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bgbr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francsico
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2011

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights as we hiked several trails in the Glaciers national park. The hosteria staff were very helpful in providing us with information on the trails/weather conditions and local recommendations. The rooms are simple and very clean. They have a small bar downstairs where you can sit to enjoy a couple of beers after a long day of hiking! The hosteria is located in town so it was convenient to walk to restaurants and stores close by.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SFTravelingNewlyweds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these El Chalten hotels
0.3 mi away
Hosteria Senderos
Hosteria Senderos
#5 of 19 in El Chalten
4.5 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Poincenot
Hotel Poincenot
#12 of 19 in El Chalten
4.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chalten Suites Hotel
Chalten Suites Hotel
#1 of 19 in El Chalten
5.0 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Don Los Cerros Boutique Hotel & Spa
0.0 mi away
Hosteria Infinito Sur
Hosteria Infinito Sur
#10 of 19 in El Chalten
4.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kalenshen
Kalenshen
#16 of 19 in El Chalten
3.5 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hosteria El Paraiso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hosteria El Paraiso

Property: Hosteria El Paraiso
Address: Calle Cabo Garcia 105, El Chalten Z9301ABN, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Santa Cruz > El Chalten
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 47 Speciality Lodging in El Chalten
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hosteria El Paraiso 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Paraiso is a mountain inn located in the picturesque village of El Chalten at the foot of Mount Fitz Roy. It is a window to discover how this majestic mountain range is framed: so colorful, so sublime, so unique…A magical place that will captivate you with its simplicity, where the energy of the hills and the blue sky during the day, which is covered with bright stars at night, has the audacity to change its color at different times of the day.Few are those who find the right words to describe such a natural wonder, we found them and with them we welcome our visitors to the paradise… Welcome to El Paraíso! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hosteria El Paraiso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing