We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super hostel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Patagonia Travellers' Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 June 2014

I was sent here on request from my receptionist at America del Sur, El Calafate, and it was really great.

The rooms are very clean, the common areas are very spacious.

You have breakfast in the cafe next door. They also pack you some lunch packages for the day if you go hiking.

I would recommend this hostel every time!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ExilBadener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (318)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

44 - 50 of 318 reviews

Reviewed 25 April 2014

we stayed in this hostel in march 2014.

We stayed in a private room with shared bathroom. The rooms are small and basic but good. In the room on the main floor its a little noisy since you can hear everything what is said in the comon area and kitchen. The rooms on the first floor are a bit more quiet. (the comon areas near the rooms close at 23.00u)
The showers and toilets are clean.

The kitchen is medium sized and a bit scarce equiped. But you can find everything you need to cook. They have baskets to put your food in.

There are nice comon areas with enough space for everyone. There is a nice atmosphere in the hostel.

The people at the front desk are friendly.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Jorien86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Good choice for a hostel. The staff was friendly and helpful, the bathrooms and rooms were clean enough, and it was located fairly close to the start of the Laguna Torres trek and to the bus station. Overall, it was a good value.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jszafraniec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

We stayed there for a few nights in April, the double room was large, neat, very pleasant and cosy, service was great too.

The shared facilities (lounge, kitchen and dining) are welcoming too

We highly recommended it

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank P F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

this hostel is hands down the best place to stay in patagonia...it has a very cozy feeling to it, and the rooms are just amazing.

Rooms: amazing rooms, have a very rustic look, and are well equipped with all things you may need. There is hot water in the washrooms to enjoy a nice shower after a long day of hiking.

Wi-fi: yes there is wi fi in this hostel, and it works great. Although you can only use it in the lounge, it is till better than nothing. In addition there is a computer on the top floor for travellers to use

Breakfast is served in the restaurant next door and is pretty decent: Ham, Cheese, Bread, Dulce, etc

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank D K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

I stayed in private room #1. It was cozy, and the queen bed was comfortable. The staff was super nice and the place was very clean. Unfortunately, the private rooms dont have attached bathrooms, but the shared ones were always clean. The location is a B+. Its on the main road, but its a 7 minute walk to the bus terminal. All in all, this is the hostel if you are in El Chalten

Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Patagonia hostel is one of those places that make me wonder...

The property is beautiful, and it looks brand new. Its lobby has the appeal of a cosy mountain B&B, certainly not a "cheap, unpretentious" hostel. We stayed in a double room with private bathroom, which was perfectly adequate. It was nothing fancy, but it had all you can expect from the best hostel you can imagine. The matrices were of very good quality, too (unexpected for a hostel)

The level of cleanliness is -- immaculate --.

Overall the property is not built and maintained as a hostel, catering to the needs of "unpretentious backpackers hiking the Fitz Roy". In many (and nice!) places of the world this would be a perfectly adequate 3* hotel. Certainly in Argentina they should be able to get the same rating, but they call themselves hoStel, because in El Chalten this is probably the bigger market.

There is really nothing you can do wrong there and at about 40 USD per night it was definitely underrated.

The major part of the experience was however not finding a great value hotel, but the team of young people manning the front desk. All of them were EXCEPTIONAL and went all day long out of their ways to make their customers happy. At some point I told one of them that, after booking restaurants for us, organising our tours, taxis, transfers and being there with a smile for everything we need, he and his colleagues are matching the concierge service of a luxury hotel.

He answered me: "We don't actually have to do it, but we do it for you because we like you."

Well, WE liked them very much, too :-)
...and it seems that this was the general feeling between guests and front desk staff in this hostel.

Truly a VERY refreshing and surprising experience!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kamen_777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these El Chalten hotels
0.5 mi away
Hosteria Senderos
Hosteria Senderos
#5 of 19 in El Chalten
357 reviews
0.1 mi away
Don Los Cerros Boutique Hotel & Spa
2.3 mi away
Estancia La Quinta
Estancia La Quinta
#13 of 19 in El Chalten
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
La Guanaca
La Guanaca
#12 of 19 in El Chalten
100 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rancho Grande Hostel
Rancho Grande Hostel
#6 of 51 in El Chalten
319 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hosteria El Paraiso
Hosteria El Paraiso
#1 of 51 in El Chalten
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Patagonia Travellers' Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Patagonia Travellers' Hostel

Address: Av. San Martin 376, El Chalten Z9301ABA, Argentina (Formerly Patagonia Hostel)
Region: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Santa Cruz > El Chalten
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 51 Speciality Lodging in El Chalten
Price Range: £16 - £63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Patagonia Hostel is located at the main street (San Martin), only a few steps of the National Park's trails. Features Rooms with Shared Bathroom and Double and Triple Rooms with Private Bathroom, sommiers, hair dryer, safe box and breakfast buffet included. The Hostel provides Large Common Areas, Fully Equipped Kitchen, WI-FI, Free Computers for guests, TV-HD satelite, DVD, Bar, Restaurant, Free Luggage Storage, Book Exhange, Parking, Laundry. Besides, you can rent mountain bikes with us. Our complex also counts with Cabins, excellent choice of accommodation for families. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Odigeo so you can book your Patagonia Travellers' Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing