We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic food and cosy atmosphere”
Review of La Tapera

La Tapera
Ranked #1 of 55 Restaurants in El Chalten
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic food and cosy atmosphere”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

This place is so good we went back twice in just a few days. The steak and the lamb ravioli are both amazing. The chocolate volcano dessert is scrumptious. The food is served imaginatively and stylishly - top marks for presentation, and the flavours to match. The cosy central fire really adds to the atmosphere too.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Row_Feli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

924 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    576
    235
    76
    23
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
1,019 reviews
401 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 575 helpful votes
“Good but not great”
Reviewed 10 April 2014 via mobile

The food here looked better than it tasted for me.

Presentation was good as was the gnocchi but the steak was very tough.

Service was alright but a bit cold/brusque.

I wouldn't go back.

Helpful?
Thank eatydrinky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
576 reviews
229 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 405 helpful votes
“Best Tiramisu in Argentina!!! Great food too ;-)”
Reviewed 8 April 2014

I know you may think that I'm bonkers to post this as my headline, but we were in Argentina for 10 days, ate 20 meals and may have eaten desserts in most, but the tiramisu at La Tapera was to die for. The restaurant has a great vibe - wooden cabin, cozy ambiance, great service.

We went for lunch (as the dinner previous night was completely booked out, so reserve!). We had their soup of the day which was tasty and then I opted for lamb in wine sauce. The meat was tender and the reduction was perfect. Even my companions who were vegetarians polished their plate off and were very impressed by the meal.

Right up there!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Traveleator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Delicious!!”
Reviewed 7 April 2014

After a long day hiking we peaked our evening with fantastic lomo and two wonderful bottles of malbec in this cozy hut-like restaurant. The food presentation is tasteful and unexpected. Nice staff. Highly recommendable!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank gaby r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous food!”
Reviewed 2 April 2014

The best restaurant in El Chalten! Gourmet cooking at a bargain price. The steaks and salmon were fantastic. In Argentina, beef tenderloin is called Lomo and that's what to order if you like steak. And the salmon is fresh! I ate there for four days in a row. Order a local beer made right in El Chalten.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Richard A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Tapera also viewed

 
El Chalten, Province of Santa Cruz
El Chalten, Province of Santa Cruz
 

Been to La Tapera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing