We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best”
Review of Kalenshen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kalenshen
Ranked #16 of 19 Hotels in El Chalten
Reviewed 27 October 2013

El Chalten is a town for staying at the hotel only at night, Having a good place were you are going to lay down after a good walking in the wonderful surrounding, such as Fitz Roy Mountain, La Torre Laguna, and other beautiful places that are in the area. Kalenshen hotel's owner and his staff were the best for our trip in Argentina, as well all the people we met over there. The hotel is clean, with all the amenities one would love to have at hand while traveling such as Wi-Fi, Tv, and some one who help you to go out and explore the mother nature. My wife and I are very grateful for everything the owner and his family did for us. We will recommend the hotel to every one who wants to have a pleasant stay in El Chalten.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (167)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 167 reviews

Reviewed 5 April 2013

There is not an abundance of lodging options in the small town of El Chalten, and what there is tends to cluster around high end-high price or low end-minimal amenities. We checked out at least a half dozen hosterias, all pretty bland and none of which had WiFi in the rooms. We drove by this place and by from the outside appeared like it was out of our price range but checked it out anyway. Beautiful, wood finished lobby and dining area, spacious common areas on the second floor, light, bright and warm, rooms small but nicely appointed and clean, as well as the bathrooms. The only place we found that had working WiFi in the rooms. And an indoor pool! Helpful, english speaking staff at the front desk. Breakfast was mediocre but adequate. And only $350AP! One of the best bargains of our trip. We liked it so much we stayed an extra night.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rbyrnes3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2012

Within walking distance of the bus station and easy walks to the beginnings of the several trails in the area. Friendly reception, beautiful hand made furniture in the light filled lobby. The room was pleasant with a comfortable bed and a cozy comforter almost unnecessary as the room was quite warm. Clean bathroom with handy facilities. Good lighting in the room. Wifi available but somewhat erratic in the room - better in the lobby. Breakfast included toast, fruit, cereal, pastries, coffee, tea - quite satisfying.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susan23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2012

El Chalten is a growing town and modest accommodation for a modest cost is an acceptable option to be near Los glaciares National Park and the fabulous walks near Mt Fitz Roy. The hotel has some beautiful woodwork and the room was clean and warm without any extras.Showers were acceptably hot. The heating was too high, meaning you needed to keep a window open at night ro cool the room down.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank orcaSydney_Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2012

The hotel, down a dirt road, looks good from the outside but the rooms are a different story. We had a triple room and this is what we experienced -
broken tiles in bathroom -sharp and dangerous to our feet
stench coming from bathroom pipes and could not keep bathroom door open as it was really stinky in the bedroom. Staff just strugged their shoulders when we commented on it.
The door to room from the hallway was ajar and half inch gap, so not very private.
Bathroom door holes were stuffed with paper to achieve some privacy for the person using the bathroom.
No regulator of the heater, so it was either way too hot and therefore we had to keep the window open; and then when they switched the heater system off it was too cold; so very uncomfortable.
No matress covters on the beds making us feel that it wasn't very hygenic.
The breakfast was the worst we have experienced on our 6 week trip, as was the very small room.
Electrical wiring of the bedside lamps looked very dangerous with loose wires causing us not to even consider plugging in the lamps.
All told not a good experience and I felt that the place has been built really fast to pull in the tourist dollar and no attention really for comfort for the tourist, especially at $120 per night.
WOuld suggest you look at another hotel as this isn't worth it and a very uncomfortable stay.
El Chalten area is just beautiful and marvelous hikes.

Room Tip: CHeck the room before you take it, but there are so many more options in town, I wouldn't give t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dedicatedtraveller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2012

Reading some of other reviews for Kalenshen, I'm wondering if we stayed in the same hotel! Kalenshen is a modest place, but then so is El Chalten. We found a warm welcome when we arrived and, as our room wasn't quite ready, we were given complimentary coffee by a member of staff who spoke excellent English. Our room was bright and clean, with a large, comfortable bed and good bedclothes. It also had hanging space and an efficient bathroom, albeit with a partly glazed wall to the bedroom that may be odd if you are not a couple, or very good friends. The only problem we had was the heat - it was unusually sunny and hot when we stayed, and though our room had windows on two walls, only one side of one window opened for ventilation. We were also woken by a barking dog, but I don't think it belonged to the hotel. Breakfasts were similar to any we had in our 3 week trip in Argentina - ie continental buffet style.

The heated swimming pool was a fantastic bonus after a hard day's walking (there is also a sauna), and the hotel is near several very good restaurants and bars. There also seemed to be plenty of space in lounges on the ground and first floor to relax. I think we even had a slow wifi connection - in a town that appears to share a satellite internet connection this is pretty good going.

And if you are travelling by bus from El Calafate, don't get off at the bus station. The bus continues along the main street to a hostel at the other end of town. Get off here and the hotel is just a block back along the road.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank aplondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2012

This is a basic place, quite modest ans spartan but the price is not high. We were there because our agency decided to put us there without given us other option. But besides that fact, (which can influence our review) the room (306) needed an urgent refurbishing with the door, the closet and the bath in not very good conditions. In nay case, our main criticism is that te place dont accept credit cards which is quite incredible when most modest places in El Chalten do.
A tip: if you travel from El Calafate by bus, better choose Cal Tur because they have a stop just in front of the hotel. (On the other side of the main avenue of el Chalten). In any case the street is unpaved and the distance from the bus station 1 mile.

Room Tip: ask for a room with view not all of them have one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Triper_07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these El Chalten hotels
0 mi away
Los Cerros Boutique Hotel & Spa by DON
0 mi away
Estancia La Quinta
Estancia La Quinta
#10 of 19 in El Chalten
176 reviews
0 mi away
Chalten Suites Hotel
Chalten Suites Hotel
#1 of 19 in El Chalten
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
La Guanaca
La Guanaca
#14 of 19 in El Chalten
100 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Poincenot
Hotel Poincenot
#9 of 19 in El Chalten
210 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Destino Sur
Hotel Destino Sur
#4 of 19 in El Chalten
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kalenshen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kalenshen

Address: Calle Lionel Terray 50, El Chalten Z9301AAT, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Santa Cruz > El Chalten
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 19 Hotels in El Chalten
Price Range: £57 - £361 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Kalenshen 2.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer an excellent value for money in our services and rooms, including satelite tv, wifi, heated swimming pool, sauna and breakfast all included in room rate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and HotelsClick so you can book your Kalenshen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing