We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly service, great food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Restaurante Ahonikenk Chalten Fonda Patagonia

Restaurante Ahonikenk Chalten Fonda Patagonia
Ranked #3 of 55 Restaurants in El Chalten
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Bar Scene
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Avondale, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
232 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Friendly service, great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2014

Went here on our first night in El Chalten on the recommendation of our hotel owner. Our waiter was very friendly and gave us excellent advice for appetizers, wine (an excellent Malbec), main courses and dessert. Many of the recipes are from the chef's family. Food was excellent - good portions and at a very reasonable price. Highly recommend a stop if you are in El Chalten.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank BobN06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

740 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    411
    247
    56
    15
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“best value in all of El Chalten”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014

By far the best food for the price. Heaps of food for not too much compared to other restaurants in town. I recommend the Argentinian stew

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
92 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Best steak in Patagonia”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014 via mobile

Very easy, very delicious, very kind people, very, very, very...

If you go to El Chalten you should definitely try Ahoniken

Helpful?
Thank OfftheRoadontheTrack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Good food, friendly service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013

We walked in without much expectation one hot day last week. The place has a nice, relaxed buzz and interesting decor with lots of quaint nick-nacks on the walls.

Wife ordered pasta and I the marinated lamb, which was delicious, and a completely new experience for us. Served cold with marinated (pickled) vegetables and a salad. I asked the waiter about it and he checked with the chef and gave us the recipe. He was also very helpful with local walking and driving tips.

The restaurant has free wi-fi.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Intrepid L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fun place and good food.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013

Place was busy with good atmosphere, the food was pretty good with descent gluten free options and the staff ( specially the owner ) was really friendly and good. Would say it was our best meal in El Chalten

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Vince P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurante Ahonikenk Chalten Fonda Patagonia also viewed

El Chalten, Province of Santa Cruz
El Chalten, Province of Santa Cruz
 
El Chalten, Province of Santa Cruz
El Chalten, Province of Santa Cruz
 

Been to Restaurante Ahonikenk Chalten Fonda Patagonia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing