We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredibly cozy, friendly and overall a great place.”
Review of Hosteria El Pilar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hosteria El Pilar
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in El Chalten
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Incredibly cozy, friendly and overall a great place.”
Reviewed 20 January 2014

This place deserves its rave reviews!!! It is in a beautiful location and our room could see the mountains. It's very quaint and feels really warm and cozy. The staff is phenomenal and I have absolutely no complaints. I would absolutely recommend this property!!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    145
    32
    10
    1
    1
See reviews for
21
121
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014

El Pilar is an adorable and peaceful B&B, with large, clean rooms and multiple common areas with fireplaces that are perfect for reading. There is no wifi or computer access, so it's a wonderful retreat from 'civilization'. The staff are super friendly and keen to make your stay wonderful. It's also right on a hiking path so you can start off on great hikes to the Fitz Roy. The two downsides to El Pilar - (1) it's a 20-25 minute ride from downtown. They will cart you back and forth for free as they are able, but it's a bit of a ride and they aren't always able to take you. We hiked into downtown and then took a $30 (USD) cab back to the hosteria. Just something to keep in mind. They did provide us a free pick-up and drop-off for our bus arrivals/departures. (2) the dinner we had was not fantastic. It was a 3-course meal, nicely plated, but the food was only okay. If you're staying multiple nights, you might consider going into town for a couple of the dinners. Overall, our stay was wonderful - we felt very relaxed, welcomed and loved the accommodation!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TourGuide23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

This small inn is about 30 minutes down a gravel road from El Chalten. The advantage to that is that you can start hiking right outside your door. (That being said, you can also start hikes right from the town to other trails).

The views are amazing and the staff is very nice/helpful. The breakfast spread was the same everyday (bread, fruit, ham, cheese) and the coffee was good. We ate dinner there one night and it was delicious (except for the dessert crepe). You can order dinner a la carte - we didn't know that and ordered more food than we really wanted.

The reasons I cannot give it five stars are the following:

1. While the rooms are simple and adequate (our second floor room had an beautiful view) the keys to get in/out are very difficult to use. It was annoying to struggle with it every time and hear other people in the hallway struggling with their keys when you were trying to sleep.

2. While there is a lobby and reading room - the lighting is inadequate to read at night.

3. The dining staff needs to be trained - they never asked if you wanted a refill or needed anything else. We were served an ice cold crepe - it seemed as if it came right out of the fridge. No one ever asked why we didn't eat it.

If I ever had the opportunity to travel back to El Chalten - I would stay there again for the secluded location and kind staff.

Room Tip: 2nd floor - beautiful view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mkbmkb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caracas, Venezuela
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

When we booked El Pilar for our last three nights of two weeks in southern Patagonia, we hoped it would be a trip highlight, and it absolutely was. There are so many good things to say about this place. If you can get a room here, do! Unless you hate the outdoors (in which case, Patagonia is no place for you) or require opulent splendor (for you, there are plenty of luxury ranches), you will most likely be delighted.

Guillermo and Cristina manage El Pilar: these are people who you wish would become your personal friends, kind and welcoming, down-to-earth, knowledgeable, interesting, and eminently likable. They were incredibly sweet to our 20-month-old son, even when it was clear that his strongest desire was to get his hands on the books and antique-type objects scattered charmingly around the common areas at El Pilar and rip them to shreds. They were also kind and generous to the hordes of hikers (not guests at the hostería) who harass them on a daily basis, trying to get in to use the bathroom or refill water bottles even though they have just left their lodging in town. It takes skill to manage this situation politely without alienating or annoying the guests who are trying to enjoy the tranquility and location of the property, and I was deeply impressed by their patience in this respect.

El Pilar's location at the edge of the national park and at one of the trailheads for the unmissable Laguna de Los Tres trek is superb. The access road, though unpaved, is well-graded and only takes about 25 minutes from town; transportation is easy to arrange through the staff or from town as everyone is familiar with El Pilar. The hostería is on a beautiful river (the Río Blanco), boasts stunning mountain views even when the skies are cloudy, and is surrounded by pretty wild lupine flowers and scrubby trees. We were glad to have our own transportation (rental car), but once we discovered how perfect El Pilar was, we didn't have much desire to get back to El Chaltén. Three days there gave us the opportunity to hike Los Tres and also the easier Piedra de los Frailes walk to a nearby refugio—a nice, flat option to give your legs a rest between Laguna Torre and Laguna de los Tres. The weather while we were there was cold, windy, and often cloudy, but this didn't detract from the treks or the overall experience.

Rooms here are comfortable and reasonably spacious. We did have some trouble blocking the light in the evening so that our son could sleep (it wasn't truly dark until around 11 p.m. in late December), but this was really not a major problem.

Meals served here are hearty and satisfying. Unlike some similar properties in Patagonia, El Pilar is accommodating about timing dinner: they offer it from 7 - 9 rather than starting at 8 or 9 as do many Argentine establishments. Also uncharacteristically for the region, they have a vegetarian option every night. We really enjoyed both dinners we ate here, and felt that the price was low for the quality of the food and service. Breakfast is also great.

This is one of the best and most memorable places I've stayed—not just in Patagonia, but anywhere in the world. Of course, it costs a bit more than the hostel-type options in town, but for what it offers, El Pilar is a steal, and is much more reasonably priced than many of the rural options in the region. I wish I could go back, and if I ever make a trip to Patagonia again, this will be the first place I book.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jessbarga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Love this place! Its quiet, away from town, beautiful atmosphere, warm and cosy, great food, coffee, wine and the staff are just adorable. No mobile phone signal and no wifi (although they let you use their computer but the internet is very unreliable) but that was nice for a change! And then there is the view! Everything about El Pilar fit our bill perfectly. It was wonderful to come back after hiking all day. The hikes were amazing, the "usual" ones that every other hiker is doing, plus the choice of quieter hikes where you won't see anybody all day! It was so worth the extra money to stay here rather than in town, highly recommend El Pilar.

Room Tip: All but one room face Fitz Roy (we had the one that didn't!) but it really doesn't matter, a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cazoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kranenburg
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

This has been the most exciting place we experienced at our Patagonia tour. Beautiful position, quite, nice rooms, extremely friendly staff. One feels like being taken up in a family. The meals are excellent. Although the access is somewhat painful at an almost 20 km gravel road the effort is worth it: you can directly hike into the beautiful Notofagus forest if you step out of the house. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: We had room 4 with direct view toward the mountains: Beautiful at sunrise!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wolfgang H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 October 2013

We stayed for 2 nights, but would have stayed longer had we known how lovely this place was. It's out of town 20k down a dirt road [the hotel have transport and pick you up from El Chalten]. Great place from which to start hiking out towards FitzRoy and many other routes too. The hostel is realxed, great beds and good food - just the perfect place to just relax or as a base for hikes. We echo previous superlative reviews and have no hesitation in recommending.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these El Chalten hotels
7.1 mi away
Hosteria Senderos
Hosteria Senderos
#4 of 19 in El Chalten
343 reviews
13.3 mi away
Aguas Arriba Lodge
Aguas Arriba Lodge
#3 of 19 in El Chalten
217 reviews
6.9 mi away
Chalten Suites Hotel
Chalten Suites Hotel
#2 of 19 in El Chalten
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Don Los Cerros Boutique Hotel & Spa
6.4 mi away
Hotel Destino Sur
Hotel Destino Sur
#5 of 19 in El Chalten
263 reviews
8.9 mi away
Estancia La Quinta
Estancia La Quinta
#13 of 19 in El Chalten
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hosteria El Pilar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hosteria El Pilar

Property: Hosteria El Pilar
Address: Ruta Provincial 23 km 17, El Chalten Z9301AAE, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Santa Cruz > El Chalten
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in El Chalten
#7 Family Hotel in El Chalten
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hosteria El Pilar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hosteria El Pilar Hotel El Chalten
Hosteria El Pilar Chalten

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing