We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Beautiful, Lovely, Happy Place”
Review of Hosteria El Pilar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hosteria El Pilar
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in El Chalten
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 April 2014

How can I try and sum up our stay at Hosteria El Pilar in a Tripadvisor review which will do it justice..Both my husand and I are in our 30's and we had an absolutely wonderful time staying at El Pilar which we both agreed was the highlight of our holiday. I'm going to break it down by headings the attributes to El Pilar which really made it magical for us.

The Location
My husband and I were discussing this post holiday, and we cannot imagine staying anywhere else in El Chalten other than El Pilar. It is the only accomodation inside the park at the start of the majority of the trails. Those who stay in town would need to get a taxi to be dropped off/picked up at El Pilar at the start/end of their trek. We would often see trekkers looking through the window at us enviously as they start and finish their trek whilst we are eating breakfast/dinner at the Pilar dining room. Staying here cuts your unnecessary trekking time by hours through not very scenic rocky roads. El Pilar is also set with the backdrop of the Fitz roy mountain, and they are a lovely red at sunrise and sunsets everyday.

The Hotel
El Pilar is a haven the minute you step in, it's warm, cosy and welcoming. There are log fires, rugs, comfy sofas in the social areas which are very inviting especially when you come in from the cold at the end of your trek. The hotel also offers a 3 course meal with generous portions and decent cooking (steak, roll of lamb, veggy pasta options) for about 200 pesos each. This is an convenient option for those who are too tired to go into town after their treks. We had dinner at El Pilar for the 3 days we stayed there and loved it. One tip is that there is no Wifi here, as are most places in El Chalten given the remoteness. But in a way we really liked it as it gave you a chance to shut off from facebook, instagram, blackberries and just enjoy nature and your fellow companion.

The Rooms
The rooms are really spacious, with large bathrooms and huge beds, and are very warm. Which means you are spoilt for space as you lay out your trekking poles, and equipment. Rooms are decorated in a charming traditional style. Normally I love modern 5* hotels but wouldn't swap the rooms at El Pilar as they were so charming with a great view of the forest or mountains.

The Staff & Service
The staff here is amazing, lovely, friendly, funny and charming. We loved talking to them everyday! They are all outdoorsy people who go climbing/trekking in the area a lot so they are full of good advice. They also monitored the weather closely everyday so we were able to ask them which day was the best to do the important treks such as Laguna Los Tres. They were able to show me the cloud coverage by the hour!

In conclusion, when we had to leave El Pilar for the last night (as they were closing for the season) and we had to stay at another hotel in town, we felt a bit lost and really missed El Pilar. I still think of the place now that I am back from my travels. From an OCD traveller who likes her holidays to be perfect, I highly recommend it.

Book it, and you will be glad you did.

Thank you Guillermo, Christina, Tomaso, and everywhere from El Pilar!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Snowazzzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (189)
There are newer reviews for Hosteria El Pilar
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 189 reviews

Reviewed 11 March 2014

I had an excellent stay at Hosteria El Pilar. Spotless rooms, extremly welcoming and helpful staff, reliable pick up service, really nothing to complain about. Perfect location for honeymooners and nature lovers.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wickisitolindo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

We loved Hosteria El Pilar! Walk out from El Chalten - most people go via the mountain and the national park, but we took the road which mostly follows the river, and it was lovely - either option is an adventure. The river route also meant we got to stop at the quirky and delightful little Bonanza campground (who also do quad bike tours of the back country), where the lovely Rebecca had been baking and we took some time out from the wind for some pastries and a picnic before tackling the remaining few kms to El Pilar. Guillermo, Christina, Tomaso and the team at El Pilar are just great - welcoming, excellent English should you need it, and happy to give walking advice, have a general chat, and be flexible with transfer arrangements. And its location cannot be matched (we were so glad we'd made that choice, rather than staying in Chalten for the four nights we had in the area). It's warm, it's lovely and clean, it's comfy, it's peaceful, and the food was delicious (especially dinner - breakfast is fairly standard South American fare ... think lots of queso and jamon and not-very-interesting bread, but still OK to set you up for a day's walk). Make sure you try their home-made beer - also delicious and a welcome treat in front of the fire after a long day's walking and nice hot shower. The walking is simply spectacular - you can easily fill three days with nice long hikes - the Senda El Pilar and points beyond (Los Tres, Laguna Capri etc) are beautiful (with lots of FitzRoy, Poincenot to see), but I think our highlight was a rainy day's walk to Piedra del Fraile ... lots of time in the forest, lots of river and mountain views, and a lovely little restaurant at the campamento at the end to reward us with lentil stew and a cosy half-hour in front of the fire. Everything comes in by quad bike to Piedra del Fraile ... and it's a long way from anywhere. Make sure you look at the registration book while you're there, where all the serious climbers sign-in on their way to tackle FitzRoy or Poincenot or one of the other legendary climbs in the heart of the mountains - a real United Nations of courage! So sad to leave El Pilar, but the trip back to Chalten with the gorgeous Guillermo yielded some good stories about local life, the environment, and the climbing culture. Thanks for having us ... I hope to be back one day.

Room Tip: Upstairs at the back has lovely views of the garden and the range. Downstairs at the front has garde...
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Janet H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Besides the spectacular setting, El Pilar adds value to any trip to El Chalten and the Southern Patagonian Ice-Field by being incredibly warm and comfortable (which is important in a place where even high-summer weather conditions can be pretty harsh). The staff are friendly and knowledgable, the atmosphere is cosy and relaxing, the rooms are very affordable given the high-season costs of Patagonian accommodation, and the food is helluva tasty. To be honest, the day I spend indoors by the wood fire reading a book was almost as enjoyable as the days I spent outdoors walking and climbing in the surrounding mountains, using El Pilar as a wonderful base-camp. I can't recommend this place more highly – though prickly travellers hung up on modern conveniences should be warned that there is no wi-fi here, and the challenges of local power generation mean you might face the occasional and very brief blackout. If this happens perhaps you should look around you, reflect for a second on the context of this magnificent location, and think twice before complaining.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank StephenPhelan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

We had such a wonderful stay at El Pilar for 3 nights, surrounded by amazing and peaceful scenery. The location is really the highlight since we were literally in the mountains next to the beautiful Rio Blanco. The hosteria is Eco-friendly since all the power comes from a hydro-generator. Our room #5 was large and quiet, with a luxurious bathroom and view of Mt. Fitz Roy. The staff is so friendly and welcoming, we felt at home immediately. Guillermo suggested a great hike for us the second day (after Laguna de Los Tres) since we wanted to go into town for dinner that night. We hiked for 5 hours to Laguna Torre and then hiked back to El Chalten, which was perfect. We were concerned about being so far away from town, but calling a cab to take us back was super easy. We ate at El Pilar for 2 nights, the food and wine were great and the vegetarian option
was awesome. My only wish was that the lunch boxes were a bit cheaper, but it was definitely convenient for our long day hikes. They have an adorable fat cat named Coca, and we enjoyed relaxing in the living room by the fireplace with our wine. Overall I would stay here again in a heartbeat!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Riesenblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

We only had 2 nights, so 1 full day to trek, and were given excellent advice by the staff on whatthebest options for us were to get the most out of the time we had there. As mentioned in other reviews they are located outside of town on the start of the hike route for Los tres! We hiked to there and then on into el chalten to see as much as possible in our time.
The rooms in el pilar are large clean and have the most comfortable beds we have experienced in Argentina, perfect after a 8 hour hike.
The food was also very good and well priced. The staff also make this comfortable location what it is! Highly reccommended

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Bazonhols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

This place deserves its rave reviews!!! It is in a beautiful location and our room could see the mountains. It's very quaint and feels really warm and cozy. The staff is phenomenal and I have absolutely no complaints. I would absolutely recommend this property!!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these El Chalten hotels
7.1 mi away
Hosteria Senderos
Hosteria Senderos
#4 of 19 in El Chalten
343 reviews
6.7 mi away
Don Los Cerros Boutique Hotel & Spa
13.3 mi away
Aguas Arriba Lodge
Aguas Arriba Lodge
#3 of 19 in El Chalten
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Chalten Suites Hotel
Chalten Suites Hotel
#2 of 19 in El Chalten
225 reviews
6.4 mi away
Hotel Destino Sur
Hotel Destino Sur
#5 of 19 in El Chalten
263 reviews
6.5 mi away
Hosteria El Puma
Hosteria El Puma
#6 of 19 in El Chalten
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hosteria El Pilar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hosteria El Pilar

Address: Ruta Provincial 23 km 17, El Chalten Z9301AAE, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Santa Cruz > El Chalten
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in El Chalten
#7 Family Hotel in El Chalten
Price Range: £159 - £161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hosteria El Pilar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hosteria El Pilar Hotel El Chalten
Hosteria El Pilar Chalten

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing