We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very warm and welcoming place”
Review of Hotel Lunajuim

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Lunajuim
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in El Chalten
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Lunajuim is one of those rare places where you feel at home instantly. The staff great everyone with smiles and kind words, and the relaxed atmosphere contributes to a feeling of well-being, especially after a day of hiking in the stunning mountains. The comfortable seating area encourages hikers of different nationalities to compare notes, and a stiff pisco sour only heightens the experience.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jancan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (318)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Lunajuim
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 318 reviews

Reviewed 24 February 2014

so i was booked here by the travel agency. had no idea what to expect. came in and was really pleasantly surprised.

first and foremost, you are in Chalten. literally off the face of the Earth. when i arrived to scope out mt. fitz roy. i did not know what to expect. i arrived late. the staff was ready, courteous, friendly and accommodating. they helped to get me situated. the rooms were cozy but unique. each has its own artwork. the beds were comfortable. the rooms very clean.

in the morning i had a chance to survey the place. i now understood. it is family owned and run. the family used to actually live upstairs. the hallways and the rooms are literally painted by the family. the artwork on the walls is theirs. the portraits are of the kids. incredibly charming.

as for the location, ideal. five minutes from everything. but in all fairness, the whole town is 5 minutes from everything. the whole town can be walked in 15 minutes. but from what i saw from the other hotels, this one was unique. it felt like home. to prove to that point, i arrived too late on two nights and afternoons to get any food. i asked. the owner actually went in the back and made me a sandwich. very sweet. and to not be undone, they actually had subzero fridges and all the different amenities for a great kitchen.

you will like this place. if you find yourself in chalten, drop by. i would recommend staying but if you do not, at least show up for dinner. you will understand. i promise.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shark4rk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

First impressions were that the rooms were maybe a little spartan and small, but in fact it was extremely comfortable. Beds with lovely big duvets, a great breakfast and a atmospheric living room which encouraged sitting and reading and card playing. Well located off the main road in Chalten. But the most exceptional aspect of the Lunajuim is the staff. Roxanna was tremendous, as was Juan. We highly recommend staying here - not the big tour bus hotels around the corner.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Betsy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

This hotel is ideally situated 5min away from the bus station and from most restaurants and travel agencies in town.
The rooms provide a very good standard. What I like most is the living room/dining room, which reminds me of a French chalet in the Alps. When we experienced a black out, this was the most romantic experience and atmosphere: sitting around the fire in the chimney with a few other guests and having a chat with a glass of wine.
The people working at reception were always very helpful each time we needed help. Finally, when I lost my wallet in town and I had already left El Chalten, the director drove 200KM to bring it back to me in El Calafate before I flew back to Buenos Aires. That's what I call pretty incredible Customer service!! Only downside: the wifi never worked whilst we were there.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WorldCitizenSteph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Just got back from El Chalten over the holidays and I was sooo pleased with this hotel. It is in the perfect part of town, and has a wonderful view of the massive peaks (when they are not shrouded in clouds). The hotel staff was extremely friendly (especially Joanna who works the desk), and very helpful with suggestions of where to eat, what to do, etc. The room was very nice and clean and had a great shower. The little fireplace/reading area was cozy and a great place to come back to after hiking all day. The breakfast was very ample for an included, continental-style breakfast. If you don't want to stay in a hostel or spend all of your money, this is the place to stay!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

Stayed for 1 night due to gap in availability of other hotel accommodation.

Positives:
* Great breakfast
* Clean, spacious room

Negatives:
* By comparison to other hostels / hotels, Lunajuim was expensive at USD 150+ for a room without tv (good for relaxing when weather turns bad) or mini-fridge (quite important for keeping hiking food). We stayed at another hotel for USD 80 which had these facilities
* Wifi not working but this appeared to be a provider issue

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SkyandRiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

It was December 28th when we accidentally lost our debit and credit cards on our way to National Park Los Glaciares with our 5 year old. There is no bank or Western Union at el Chalten and Internet access is a miracle. So forget about money transfers of any kind. Carlos, the owner of Lunajuim not only gave us a room for two nights when everybody else turned us down. He allowed us to have dinner and worked out a way for us to pay him when we could get a hold of our cards. His staff was amazing as well, they were all eager and willing to help. We will always be thankful to Carlos and his staff. We would've had to turn around and forget about Fitz Roy and all the other amazing places we visited if it wasn't for them.

Beyond the fact that they were so helpful and considerate, the hotel was great. The room and bathroom were nice and impeccable and the beds were very comfy. I slept like a baby those two nights. The breakfast buffet (included) was varied and delicious. The social/lounge area was cozy and nicely decorated and we felt at home.

There are more trendy (and expensive) places to stay in town that may have fancy spa's and what not. At Lunajuim you will find true hospitality. Carlos, the owner, runs the place himself and he's is always there to greet you, accommodate you and perhaps share a story or two. He knows the area very well as he's been there for decades.

I hope we can one day return to this beautiful and remote place and stay with our friends at Lunajuim.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mapisita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these El Chalten hotels
0.2 mi away
Hosteria Senderos
Hosteria Senderos
#4 of 19 in El Chalten
343 reviews
0.0 mi away
Chalten Suites Hotel
Chalten Suites Hotel
#2 of 19 in El Chalten
225 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Destino Sur
Hotel Destino Sur
#5 of 19 in El Chalten
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Don Los Cerros Boutique Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Hosteria El Puma
Hosteria El Puma
#7 of 19 in El Chalten
157 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Poincenot
Hotel Poincenot
#12 of 19 in El Chalten
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lunajuim? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lunajuim

Address: Calle Trevisan 45, El Chalten Z9301ACB, Argentina
Phone Number:
Region: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Santa Cruz > El Chalten
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in El Chalten
#3 Family Hotel in El Chalten
#8 Romantic Hotel in El Chalten
Price Range: £99 - £220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Lunajuim 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Downtown located, the hotel is ideally placed with a privileged view of the Fitz Roy and Torre peaks, some of the enchanting stone giants which dominate and captivate those who look at them. After an exciting journey through the mountains, you will find in Lunajuim, the perfect place to relax and enjoy a quiet stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Lunajuim reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada Lunajuim El Chalten

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing