We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Especially Good if you have your own car” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Estancia La Quinta

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Estancia La Quinta
Ranked #12 of 19 Hotels in El Chalten
Bogota, Colombia
Level Contributor
264 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Especially Good if you have your own car”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2013

We enjoyed our stay and the use of the grounds as there was a nice hike up the back hill that afforded great views of Fitz Roy. Out front of the estancia is another walk that takes you to where you can see Lake Viedma. And there are friendly cows and dogs around which is endearing. We partook of the free mate ceremony course and the tour of the old house out back-enjoyed both but neither is a "must do." My impression of the estancia got better the longer we were there and I ended up really liking it. I will say that there was too much of a perfume (cleaner?) smell in the air that, had my mother been there, would've given her a splitting headache. The room was a little too purple/red for my taste but the overall experience was positive and I'd stay again.

Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank namchegompa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    104
    40
    8
    6
    6
See reviews for
30
100
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
93 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2013

We stayed here for five nights and although it was out of town, we were very glad that we did as the hosts and the property made for an excellent stay.

The property is located just outside of El Chalten town. El Chalten is the capital of trekking in Argentina but if you don't like walking into town from your hotel, this won't be for you, as it is about a 4km walk up the drive and down the road. We didn't have a car and didn't find this to be a problem as the hosts provide a courtesy shuttle service at 9am each morning and 6pm in the evening (both ways), and the other times we enjoyed the walk.

El Chalten is a new town with variable quality buildings and a desolate feel - we much preferred staying out at the Estancia with the beautiful views over the hills and the horses and cows wondering around in the front garden - beautiful!

The accommodation itself is very comfortable - the bed was soft and a good size, the room was also a decent size, though the bathroom was slightly on the small size. Everything was in good working order in the room. There are also lots of different common areas in the hotel to sit and relax. Each day the hosts run a brief tour of the property and talk in the history which we found very interesting, and also loved getting to feed the calf and George the lamb!

The hosts really make this property special and after experiencing universally average service everywhere else in Argentina, it was a real breath of fresh air to receive the warm, friendly service here. You could tell that they genuinely wanted to do everything they could to make your stay as good as possible.

For dining in the evening, you either need to do the walk into town and back, organise a taxi, or there is a restaurant on the property. Breakfast is served in the main building, and was the best buffet selection we had seen on our Argentina trip so far.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lodges_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2012

Me, my wife and our 6 year old daughter stayed in Estancia La Quinta in December 2012. The room was clean and the surrounding was beautiful. It was quiet and had lots of privacy. My daughter played with the horses, the lamb and the cows there. The shuttle was 8am from the hotel and 6pm from town back to the hotel. At times, we missed the shuttle back and my family just strolled our way back to the hotel from the town or we just took a cab.the walk back was easy. Alfreddo and his wife were helpful and kind and shared lots of story and history of the whole town and the trails. He told us about a nice trail behind the Estancia which ended at the park administrator.Their hospitality was great. We loved,enjoyed and miss our stay there. Thanks Alfreddo and Patricia.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Zahrah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2012

We loved it! I decided to book Estancia La Quinta based on the tripadvisor reviews, and was so happy that I did!

It is not the most modern or luxurious place I've stayed, but it is truly incredible and enhanced our overall experience in Argentina and Patagonia! The Estancia is very warm and charming, set just outside of the town. We were two of probably six guests during our two night stay so it is a very personal and intimate experience unlike any other. The hosts are extremely friendly, helpful, and accommodating!

They offer everything you should need to be comfortable in a place like El Chalten without going over the top - including a complete breakfast and they offer bag lunches for day excursions.

We really enjoyed:
1. The hospitality of the owners who graciously gave us recommendations, helped us make bookings, and offered us rides to and from town for convenience - they are exceptional!!
2. The mate ceremony they shared with us.
3. Taking short hikes directly behind the Estancia with spectacular views
4. The history of the Estancia which has been there since before the town was founded
5. The live animals present on the Estancia

This was truly a unique experience I would recommend to anyone! It was a major highlight of the entire trip for me! Alfredo and Patricia are out of this world!! Highly recommend!! :)

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maya M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2012

Spent three nights here on a recent trip to Patagonia. Chalten was a delightful town and Estancia la Quinta, which is just outside of the town, was a gem. The proprietors and the staff could not have been more professional, more friendly, or more helpful.

Thanks to all for the hospitality, the fantastic afternoon snacks, the great breakfasts, the many moments of pleasant conversation, and sharing your knowledge of the area.

Room Tip: Our group booked superior rooms and all rooms were absolutely pleasant. There's a corner room on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Exco1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoboken, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2012

Stayed at estancia la quinta on our honeymoon back in january and it was truly lovely. It is slightly outside of town but worth the view from the top of the hill. The owners are incredibly kind and knowledgeable about the area. The rooms are basic, but who is inside in a place like Chalten anyway? The common areas were just wonderful, warm, inviting, and homey. We loved it! We did have to walk back one night bc we decided to stay in town to eat after a long hiking day and didnt want to call/wait for a cab. The walk took about 40-45 minutes. We didnt mind it, but I think it can be a deceiving distance. We dont recommend the restaurant. There are so many great options in town and the owners know their restaurant is convenient, so there are not many choices and the food is just ok. We really did love our experience and cant wait to return, but the distance and restaurant are our reason for a "very good" score instead of an "excellent" score.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
77 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2012

Alfredo and his wife Patricia were so hospitable! They drove us into town any time of day and always picked us up when we called. We got soaked from the rain after one hike and Patricia did our laundry immediately so we would have everything ready for the next day. The estancia is such a unique place to stay- beautiful mountainside location on a working ranch with 800 cows! We had hare and guanaco ham for breakfast, as well a fruit salads picked from fruit grown on the farm! Alfredo is also very honest, giving me lots of advice about hikes and other activities in the area- whether a guide is needed, what activities are worth doing! All in all, such a wonderful experience with a personable and amiable host couple!

Only negatives- farther from town, but Alfredo drives you around for free if you don't have a car. Water temperature is variable- changes from hot to cold to hot quickly. The estancia is ran on self-generated power so the power is turned off between midnight and 6AM- not really a problem since most people are sleeping during those hours, but something to keep in mind so you charge your phones/cameras earlier!

Overall, I would highly recommend staying here! It has so much character and is beautiful with a view of Fitz Roy towering over. The town is small so I actually preferred staying out on the ranch rather than in town.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jennifer L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these El Chalten hotels
2.2 mi away
Don Los Cerros Boutique Hotel & Spa
1.8 mi away
Hosteria Senderos
Hosteria Senderos
#4 of 19 in El Chalten
4.5 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
2.1 mi away
Chalten Suites Hotel
Chalten Suites Hotel
#1 of 19 in El Chalten
5.0 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Hotel Destino Sur
Hotel Destino Sur
#6 of 19 in El Chalten
4.5 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
1.2 mi away
Aguas Arriba Lodge
Aguas Arriba Lodge
#3 of 19 in El Chalten
5.0 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hosteria El Puma
Hosteria El Puma
#5 of 19 in El Chalten
4.5 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Estancia La Quinta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Estancia La Quinta

Property: Estancia La Quinta
Address: El Chalten 9301, Argentina
Phone Number:
Region: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Santa Cruz > El Chalten
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in El Chalten
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Estancia La Quinta 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, HostelWorld, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Estancia La Quinta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta El Chalten
El Chalten La Quinta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing