We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tranquil Posada”
Review of Posada De La Plaza

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Posada De La Plaza
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 January 2013

This is a lovely, tranquil spot. The rooms surround a lovely garden and courtyard. The design and furnishing are tastefully done. It is an easy walk to the centre of town and restaurants and shops.The hostess was extremely accommodating and helpful - offering us helpful information on exchange rates, allowing us to leave our bags after check out as well as offering a place to rest during siesta and coffee while we waited for our bus. I highly recommend this lovely place.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank drcj1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (156)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 156 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2012

This posada has a great garden were it is very quiet and we had a room in the back of the garden. The rooms are very big and have a nice bathroom. We could sit in front of the room and enjoy the gardens. There is no restaurant in the hotel but everything is in walking distance because it's just a few blocks from main square. Breakfast is ok but could be better.
Tesse from the hotel is very very helpful. We were there because of the jearly gaucho festival in november and that also is great because the parade passes the front of the hotel and they put some chairs and snacks for you along the street so that you can enjoy the parade.
We had a wonderful time

Room Tip: We enjoyed the rooms in the back of the garden. You can sit in front oy your room and enjoy the gar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Larera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2012

Beautiful hotel with large grounds located a couple of blocks back from the centre of town. Very large rooms with nice bathrooms although the WIFI signal is a little weak in the room. The people running it are very nice and helpful. For the price breakfast is a little spartan but adequate.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DSWorldAdventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2012

For celebrating birthday on our long trip as backpackers, we once didn't look too much on our budget and booked three nights at this beautiful Posada. It's very close to the center and has a beautiful garden and patio to relax – a very good combination! The rooms are nicely furnished and have comfortable beds. The bathroom seemed to be an original one, not modern but it fitted well into the old house and was working perfectly.
Breakfast is served in the bright breakfast room and consists of different bread, cornflakes, fruits etc. all served in beautiful dishes and silverware as maybe our grand-grandmother had.
We enjoyed our stay in this well-kept atmosphere very much and are now back into the backpacker's life...

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChMBK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2012

We stayed in the apartment with two bedrooms, across the garden, not in the main rooms of the hotel. The hotel is lovely, and the apartment is great too, but it was SO noisy all night long, nobody was able to sleep AT ALL. This is the reason I give only 2 stars, otherwise I'd given it 4 or 5.

Room Tip: Never stay in the apartment that is inside the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Antoine_K_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2012

As an alternative to staying at an estancia this would now be our preferred option. After a travel snafu we decided to return to San Antonio de Areco , one of our favourite locations in Argentina rather than staying in BA.

The posada is very comfortable on a huge block with lovely garden and within 20 mins walk of the main square.

The welcome is extremely warm and both roberto (the owner) and anna (the manager) could not have been more helpful. For example apart from some great recommendations for restaurants and a local show, anna was more than happy to put through a load of laundry (appreciated after 3 weeks on the road!).

We enjoyed the freedom of staying in town and having the opportunity of trying some great restaurants ( Almagem de Ramos Generales, Tokio, Esquina la Merthi) whilst still enjoying the surrounding estancias through day trips. We visited La Portenia and El Ombru , thoroughly enjoying both days. In future we will definitely stay in the posada rather than at an estancia as it gives a great relaxed and more flexible way of enjoying San Antonio de areco and it's surroundings. We will return! 

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stuffmatters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2012

I spent two nights at this Posada. The location is unbeatable. It faces a quiet Plaza (square) full of beautiful trees. It has an inside park that invites moments of reflection and relax. My room (Bach) was outstanding, located in front of the main garden, ideal for couples looking for a bit of privacy. It has enough parking space to leave a car (or in my case, a motorcycle). Reception by Mrs. Ana was polite and efficient at once. Maid and breakfast service was great. There is excellent attention to detail in the decoration without overding it. If you are a piano player, you are invited to use it at leisure. It is located only four blocks from the main center/square which makes this an ideal location to escape from the noise (if it at all happens) during the weekends. One thing is to be noticed: breakfast is not abundant in variety or quantity. This is not North America nor Europe. It is just fine, served in a beautiful dining room overlooking both the attactive patio and the inviting spacious garden. I would go again for sure. I paid the equivalent of US$100 in pesos. It is worth it. Pablo

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Antonio de Areco hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel y Spa San Carlos
Hotel y Spa San Carlos
#5 of 9 in San Antonio de Areco
223 reviews
5.8 mi away
Estancia El Ombu de Areco
Estancia El Ombu de Areco
#1 of 9 in San Antonio de Areco
284 reviews
0.4 mi away
Patio de Moreno
Patio de Moreno
#6 of 9 in San Antonio de Areco
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Estancia La Portena de Areco
Estancia La Portena de Areco
#4 of 9 in San Antonio de Areco
255 reviews
4.5 mi away
Pampas de Areco Resort de Campo & Spa
Pampas de Areco Resort de Campo ...
#2 of 9 in San Antonio de Areco
307 reviews
0.3 mi away
Antigua Casona
Antigua Casona
#5 of 20 in San Antonio de Areco
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada De La Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada De La Plaza

Address: Alvear 480, San Antonio de Areco 2760, Argentina
Phone Number:
Region: Argentina > Central Argentina > Province of Buenos Aires > San Antonio de Areco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in San Antonio de Areco
Price Range: £89 - £217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Posada De La Plaza 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Posada de la Plaza opened in December 2008. We have 10 rooms, all with en suite bathroom, TV, heating, air conditioning, Wi-Fi and safe deposit box. We are only five blocks away from the main square in the historical center of town. Everyone is welcome to come and stay or just visit the place, enjoy the extensive garden and the comfortable places. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Posada De La Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing