We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
explora Rapa Nui - All Inclusive
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Easter Island
Certificate of Excellence
Chileno en Paris
Level Contributor
61 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fantastic Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

Fantastic hotel however you must understand the spirit of the Explora...This is not a luxury hotel. The service is wonderful on this eco-friendly place. All is built with natural materials, lava rock and wood. Located far from Hanga Roa town, if you are looking for peace and silence this is the place to stay. The hotel offers a variety of 15 excursions, all guided. So be prepare to walk and enjoy the spirit of Easter Island. Iorana !

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JPLChilenoenParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    320
    50
    19
    6
    5
See reviews for
70
204
43
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Level Contributor
57 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2013

Rapa Nui is a special place and Explora is a special hotel. These are high end accommodations, but you get a lot for the money being an all-inclusive. They pick you up at the airport and return you there at the end of your stay. Staff seems totally focused on making your stay comfortable and enjoyable. Food is wonderful and service is superb. Each day, a professional guide meets with you and maps out your hikes for the day. Usually there is a hike in the morning, then they return you to the hotel for lunch. Then there is a second hike in the afternoon, with you being returned in time for dinner. Courteous drivers take you out to the start of your hike in a van, and are waiting for you at the end of the hike. You are always offered a Pisco Sour on your return. Don't pass these up! Lunch one day was set up outdoors in a park adjacent to the coast and a beach. Very relaxing. There is a nice pool and spa, but we did not use due to the time of year and cooler weather.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ERVIN R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
34 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

This place is perfect. Easter Island has a unique feel - it has a very relaxed and low key vibe in a very exotic and wild location. Explora adds to that, great food and wine in a very comfortable setting. We stayed four nights and each day we really did feel we discovered something fresh. The walks were just tough enough to get a real sense of achievement and it was great to be able to return to such a comfortable spot and have a few glasses of good wine and a good meal. A visiting archaeologist gave some evening talks which added even more to the stay. Our onward flight did not leave until late in the evening and they were still welcoming and relaxed about giving us meals, having our rooms open for us as long as we wanted and letting us go out on afternoon trips. Much appreciated.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Northlondontripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013

When I first opened the door and walked into my room, I thought I had died and gone to heaven. Absolutely beautiful. The view from my room was awesome - I could see the waves crashing on the coast. The food was great and I am a picky eater!! Everyone was nice. I think I was sent there by fate- my daughter passed away in January - she was there in spirit. I was just a very special place. the pool was also a good relaxing place to be after a day of visiting the moai.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank janelle50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2013

We've just returned from a two week trip to Chile - first week in Atacama and second in Rapa Nui - both with Explora - and we cannot recommend Explora highly enough!

Rapa Nui is a very special place - and the team at Explora really help you to see it at it's best. Explora is not cheap, but when you consider what's included it is great value.

All the team are fantastic - fully dedicated to customer service and genuinely dedicated to making sure that get the best from your trip. The excursions are top quality - all of the guides are well trained, very knowledgeable and many are local which really helps you to get to know what Easter Island is all about.

It's hard to pull out one team over the rest - but the restaurant and kitchen brigade really do deserve a special mention. The food is truly outstanding - and the kitchen dealt with my special dietary requirements better than anywhere else I have stayed.

Many thanks

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fiona B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
exploraSA, CEO / Gerente General at explora Rapa Nui - All Inclusive, responded to this review, 27 September 2013
Dear traveler,

Thank you very much for your very kind review of your explora Rapa Nui and explora Atacama experience.

explora always aims to customize each an every explora travel experiences, and I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your journey AND your meals.

Please know that after visiting one explora lodge, you are entitled to the benefits of our CESA, a recognition program with benefits including rate discounts of 10% and room upgrades for repeat travelers. For information, kindly visit our website.

Thank you again for your review and we look forward to seeing you in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Jesús Parrilla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
72 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

We came here for 3 nights , not knowing what to find and our stay at Explora has now raised our level of expectation at any hotel in the world. The service is absolutely outstanding, catering to any of our requests. Upon our arrival, I had mentioned that am a vegetarian and the chef prepared menus just for me ! this was overwhelmingly thoughtful . On our last day, we had a late flight departing Easter island and the manager, Claudia, told us to keep the room as long as we needed it. We even went on a bike tour late afternoon , with a guide, eventhough we had checked out. To top it, the chef asked us if we wanted a quick bite before leaving for the airport. The guides were great and shared with us their love of the island.We had a lecture from an archeologist, dances performance. My only regret is that we did not stay longer.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jomit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
exploraSA, CEO / Gerente General at explora Rapa Nui - All Inclusive, responded to this review, 27 September 2013
Dear traveler,

Thank you very much for your very kind review of your explora Rapa Nui experience.

I am simply delighted to read you exuberant review and to hear about the outstanding efforts and service of the explora Rapa Nui team.

The explora team aims to customize each an every explora travel experiences and I delighted to read that you enjoyed yours.

Please know that after visiting one explora lodge, you are entitled to the benefits of our CESA, a recognition program with benefits including rate discounts of 10% and room upgrades for repeat travelers. For information, kindly visit our website.

Thank you again for your review and we look forward to seeing you in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Jesús Parrilla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rueil-Malmaison, France
Level Contributor
277 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

My husband and I were traveling with two friends and we had a perfect time.

Firstly the service was great. ALL the staff were super friendly and helpful.

Claudia the manager is super nice and takes time to get to know her guests.

The guides for the excursions were nice, friendly and informed on the history of the Island, with many being Rapa Nuians. Our guides for the 5 days (Carlos and Nuku) were the BEST, but all the guides are super nice!
There were many excursions, explained really well the evening before and the next day. We added two great Americans to our group, whom we spent the week with with total flexibility to our needs.

The food is exquisite, hats off to the Chef/s and kitchen staff, 5* dining!

The bar staff were great and thanks to Carlos the king of the Pisco Sour!

The rooms are great and we were so glad there was no TV, it made for a better holiday!
Every evening the beds were turned back ready for bed, a really nice touch!

Thank you to the whole team for making our stay PERFECT.
We would recommend (and will do when we return home) to any and every one.
Expensive, yes, but worth every penny!!!
Karen & Stefano

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
exploraSA, CEO / Gerente General at explora Rapa Nui - All Inclusive, responded to this review, 27 September 2013
Dear traveler,

Thank you very much for your very enthusiastic review of your explora Rapa Nui experience.

I am very happy to read comments and the outstanding efforts of the explora Rapa Nui team.

Our no-TV policy started with our very first explora lodge, explora Patagonia, exactly 20 years ago. The explora founder never felt that there could be anything that would compete with the spectacular beauty of nature in which all explora lodges are situated - or the company of other like-minded travelers, of course.

Thank you very much for your very kind comments about the explora Rapa Nui cuisine, which I will make sure to pass on to the team.

The explora team aims to customize each an every explora travel experiences and I delighted to read that you enjoyed yours.

Please know that after visiting one explora lodge, you are entitled to the benefits of our CESA, a recognition program with benefits including rate discounts of 10% and room upgrades for repeat travelers. For information, kindly visit our website.

Thank you again for your review and we look forward to seeing you in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Jesús Parrilla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Easter Island hotels
5.0 mi away
Hotel Hangaroa Eco Village & Spa
4.5 mi away
Hotel Puku Vai
Hotel Puku Vai
#2 of 15 in Hanga Roa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hare Noi
Hare Noi
#3 of 15 in Hanga Roa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Taura'a Hotel
Taura'a Hotel
#4 of 15 in Hanga Roa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
4.8 mi away
Taha Tai Hotel
Taha Tai Hotel
#7 of 15 in Hanga Roa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hotel Altiplanico
Hotel Altiplanico
#8 of 15 in Hanga Roa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to explora Rapa Nui - All Inclusive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about explora Rapa Nui - All Inclusive

Property: explora Rapa Nui - All Inclusive
Address: Te Miro Oone S/N, Easter Island 2770000, Chile (Formerly explora Rapa Nui)
Phone Number:
Region: Chile > Easter Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Easter Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — explora Rapa Nui - All Inclusive 4.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our lodge was the first in South America to obtain LEED (Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design) certification from the United States Green Building Council.Our lodge, which opened in December 2007, was built on 9.6 Hectares (23.7 Acres) of land situated on a hill in the Te Miro Oone area, and overlooks the ocean. This is in south-eastern Rapa Nui, 8 kilometers (4.9 Miles) from Hanga Roa, the most populated part of the island.All of the 30 rooms, which extend to the north and south from a central building, have excellent ocean views. The lodge has welcoming indoor spaces which integrate aspects of the local culture.The design is intended to have minimal impact on its surroundings. The lodge is built on a site which is inappropriate for agricultural use and has no archaeological remains. The flora surrounding the lodge has been maintained intact. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your explora Rapa Nui - All Inclusive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Explora Rapa Nui - Posada De Mike Rapu Hotel Easter Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing