We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THE EXPLORA EXPERIENCE”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
explora Rapa Nui - All Inclusive
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Easter Island
Certificate of Excellence
Casablanca, Chile
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“THE EXPLORA EXPERIENCE”
Reviewed 5 May 2014

The Explora Experience is something you must live through to realize what it is like. I guess the best way to put it is that it brings the best out of you and out of everyone around you, fellow guests, the staff, everyone you meet.

It might feel a bit expensive and in some sense the premises might feel a little bit basic but the outcome is perfect. This was my fourth time in Easter Island and stayed for a full week and Explora made it every bit of it a new experience.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PITIO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
explorachile, Brand Manager at explora Rapa Nui - All Inclusive, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear Traveler,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review on your explora Rapa Nui experience. I really enjoyed the comment stating that explora “brings the best out of you and everyone around you”. Here you have echoed one of the elements of the explora founder`s vision as we seek to withdraw from everyday life and bond with nature and culture in its most genuine form.

Although it was your forth time returning to Easter Island, I was delighted to read that explora provided you with an experience that felt “new”. At explora, no two days are the same, as our programs are catered to provide travelers with an experience that is unconventional, unique and enriching.

I would like to take this opportunity to make you aware of the benefits of our Former explora traveler benefit, a recognition program with benefits including rate discounts and room upgrades for repeat guests. More information can be found on our website.

We look forward to welcoming you back to explora soon.

Best,
Richard Sharman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

423 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    337
    53
    21
    6
    6
See reviews for
75
210
48
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

This is a very special place. The staff are so attentive, no request was a problem and they seem to enjoy being part of the explora Rapa Nui. If you are looking for 5 star stiff and stuffy hotel service this is not the place for you. It is laid back and very comfortable , just right after a days exploring the wonderful island and its history. There is no pressure to join in all of the excursions and they are happy to offer options geared to your needs. The food is lovely and well presented . The rooms not fancy but are spotlessly clean with fabulous views from the picture windows.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank magifood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
explorachile, Brand Manager at explora Rapa Nui - All Inclusive, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear Traveler,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a very kind review on your explora Rapa Nui experience. First and foremost, I am delighted to read that the explora Rapa Nui team were able to customize your trip to your liking. Providing our guests with an outstanding service is of paramount importance to us, therefore we will do everything we can to meet each and every guests` individual requests.

It was a pleasure to read your comments on the cuisine offered at our explora Rapa Nui lodge. Based on our luxury of the essential philosophy, we seek to offer pure flavors from quality ingredients, always ensuring delicious and varied menus.

Our explora hotels offer luxury in a laid back and comfortable environment, perfect for travelers who are seeking to be active while exploring a remote and fascinating destination. In order to retreat from everyday life, it is important to leave the everyday life behind. It is for that reason that our explora rooms are designed to take full advantage of the silence, privacy and spaciousness of the surrounding landscape, ensuring deep rest after a long day of exploration.

I would like to take this opportunity to make you aware of the benefits of our Former explora traveler benefit, a recognition program with benefits including rate discounts and room upgrades for repeat guests. More information can be found on our website.

We look forward to welcoming you back to explora soon.

Best,
Richard Sharman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London UK
Level Contributor
67 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Obviously I cannot really say that as I have not stayed at any of the other hotels/guest houses, but it certainly felt like that. We had just come from Explora Patagonia, and the underlying concept and approach is very similar so it felt like a home from home.
Both the staff in the hotel and the guides were extremely friendly and enthusiastic, and the guides were knowledgeable and passionate about their subject, which was great in bringing the mysteries of their culture to life. I particularly wanted to see Tongariki at dawn and although this was not an excursion included in the hotel’s schedule, they were happy to organise it for us. I cannot think of anything which could have improved our stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cityman02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
explorachile, Brand Manager at explora Rapa Nui - All Inclusive, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear Traveler,

Thank you very much for your very kind review detailing your experience at explora Rapa Nui. I was particularly happy to read your comment that explora feels like a “home away from a home”, as we aim to make our guests feel welcome and `at home` while staying at our lodges.

Thank you for highlighting your satisfaction with our lodge staff and guides. At explora, offering guests an impeccable service is important to us and I am glad that you found our staff enthusiastic and our guides knowledgeable and passionate.

We strive to make every guests` stay memorable and will do everything that we can to meet any requests they may have. I am therefore delighted that the management was able to organize an excursion for you to see the Tongariki at dawn.

I would like to take this opportunity to make you aware of the benefits of our Former explora traveler benefit, a recognition program with benefits including rate discounts and room upgrades for repeat guests. More information can be found on our website.

We look forward to welcoming you back to explora soon.

Best,
Richard Sharman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CT
Level Contributor
158 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Rapa Nui was a bucket list destination for us. It didn't disappoint. Explora is amazing. The rooms are attractive, the bathrooms divided into three sections: toilet, sink and Jacuzzi/shower rooms. The food is delicious. But the best feature at Explora is the staff who are caring and helpful and charming and happy to tailor excursions to every personal taste and ability, and who all speak excellent English. Guides are knowledgable and informative. Excursions and bar are all included. Laundry service is slow, but good.

Room Tip: There are only 30 rooms, all the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DEngelJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rancho Santa Margarita, California
Level Contributor
50 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

We recently stayed at the Explora for three nights, following a stay at the Explora in Patagonia. The difference in service levels was very noticeable. There were only ten guests in the lodge during our stay. We were forced to be part of a group for our activities, even though we weren't traveling together and we didn't necessarily have the same interests. Our choices for excursions were very limited. The service in the dining room was very slow and inconsistent. However, our biggest complaint is with management. I told the front desk that our phone had rung at 1:45 a.m. and the response was "Yes, we know. We have a problem with the phones." I expected at least an apology. The same thing happened to another guest two nights in a row and he finally unplugged his phone. There are roosters roaming around the hotel for no apparent reason and they begin crowing way too early in the morning. The receptionist said that everyone complains about the roosters. It was a pretty disappointing experience. Given the price that the hotel charges per night one expects good service and it simply was not there.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank laurie087
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
148 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014 via mobile

This is one of the great hotels in the world in one of the great places in the world. The feel is relaxed, eco-tourism ; the rooms are superb - the hotel offers fantastic guided activities, almost all led by knowledgeable rapa nui experts. Easter Island itself is amazing, the explora hotel is the perfect place to see it from.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Spinoccio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
196 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Fantastic rooms and good service from Explora on Easter Island. The restaurant serves delicious meals for breakfast, lunch and dinner. The rooms are really nicely decorated with simple yet luxurious furnishing. There is ample storage in the rooms and they are well maintained during your stay.

Service throughout was friendly with some language issues but these were quickly overcome with the help of fellow staff members to help out. Excursions were well thought out although our welcome chat never materialized despite showing up at the time we were told to.

Wifi is a bit limited and temperamental and only available in the lounge area and one of the drivers was a bit of a miserable chap but this seemed isolated and our guides on excursions as well as the rest of the hotel staff were very good.

If we were heading to Easter Island again, which is well worth the five hour flight from mainland Chile, we would definitely stay at Explorer Rapa Nui.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank david p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Easter Island hotels
5.0 mi away
Hotel Hangaroa Eco Village & Spa
4.5 mi away
Hotel Puku Vai
Hotel Puku Vai
#2 of 15 in Hanga Roa
278 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hare Noi
Hare Noi
#3 of 15 in Hanga Roa
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Taha Tai Hotel
Taha Tai Hotel
#6 of 15 in Hanga Roa
377 reviews
4.6 mi away
Taura'a Hotel
Taura'a Hotel
#5 of 15 in Hanga Roa
438 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hotel Rapa Nui
Hotel Rapa Nui
#8 of 15 in Hanga Roa
324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to explora Rapa Nui - All Inclusive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about explora Rapa Nui - All Inclusive

Property: explora Rapa Nui - All Inclusive
Address: Te Miro Oone S/N, Easter Island 2770000, Chile (Formerly explora Rapa Nui)
Phone Number:
Region: Chile > Easter Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Easter Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — explora Rapa Nui - All Inclusive 4.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our lodge was the first in South America to obtain LEED (Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design) certification from the United States Green Building Council.Our lodge, which opened in December 2007, was built on 9.6 Hectares (23.7 Acres) of land situated on a hill in the Te Miro Oone area, and overlooks the ocean. This is in south-eastern Rapa Nui, 8 kilometers (4.9 Miles) from Hanga Roa, the most populated part of the island.All of the 30 rooms, which extend to the north and south from a central building, have excellent ocean views. The lodge has welcoming indoor spaces which integrate aspects of the local culture.The design is intended to have minimal impact on its surroundings. The lodge is built on a site which is inappropriate for agricultural use and has no archaeological remains. The flora surrounding the lodge has been maintained intact. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your explora Rapa Nui - All Inclusive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Explora Rapa Nui - Posada De Mike Rapu Hotel Easter Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing