We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A 5 star experience in one of the most remote places in the world”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
explora Rapa Nui - All Inclusive
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Easter Island
Certificate of Excellence
Austin, Texas, USA
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A 5 star experience in one of the most remote places in the world”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

Easter Island is incredible. The entire island is an archeological site and its magic is revealed gradually with exploration. Visitors who drop in just to see the Moai and leave are missing so much. We spent an amazing 5 days hiking the various parts of the island, and the Explora guides are the best. The food and service were wonderful at the lodge. The only negative was that the A/C wasn't working and it was very humid so our room was stuffy and damp. Management sent a fan in which alleviated this. You have to remember where you are, and repairs are not easy in such a remote location.

Room Tip: All the rooms are basically the same. There are a couple of suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mntngurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
explorachile, Brand Manager at explora Rapa Nui - All Inclusive, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Traveler,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review on your explora Rapa Nui experience.

At explora, we focus on providing our guests with the best possible service. I was sorry to read that the air conditioning wasn`t working in your room. Please note that this problem has now been taken care of. As you mentioned, operating in an isolated and remote location can prove to be difficult at times, however we always strive to do the best we can and resolve any difficulties or issues that may arise in a prompt and effective manner. I was pleased to read that management successfully resolved the problem with the air conditioning in your room.

I agree that Easter Island is incredible and that the magic is indeed revealed gradually with exploration. There is so much to be discovered on the island and we believe that in order to truly embrace the local experience, travelers require a minimum stay of 3 nights at our explora Rapa Nui lodge. In this way, guests can fully appreciate their surroundings and are thoroughly informed about the destination, its history and culture.

I would like to take this opportunity to make you aware of the benefits of our Former explora traveler benefit, a recognition program with benefits including rate discounts and room upgrades for repeat guests. More information can be found on our website.

We look forward to welcoming you back to explora soon.

Best,
Richard Sharman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    320
    50
    19
    6
    5
See reviews for
70
204
43
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oceanport, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

My husband and I enjoyed our time at Explora Rapa Nui immensely. The staff went out of their way to be accommodating; kudos to the chefs for great food and a wonderful outdoor barbecue; guides were knowledgeable and helpful. The ratio of price to benefits results in a high value, despite the high price. It is worth it. If you can go to Easter Island, do stay at Rapa Nui. You will not regret it.

Room Tip: All rooms seemed very good to me and all face the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank GrandmaCharlotte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
explorachile, Brand Manager at explora Rapa Nui - All Inclusive, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear Traveler,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay at explora Rapa Nui.

First and foremost, I would like to thank you for highlighting the cuisine offered at our explora Rapa Nui lodge. We seek to enhance the original flavors of selected ingredients, avoiding excess and alteration. Our cuisine offers pure flavors based on the best-quality ingredients, many of which are produced locally on Easter Island. I was also delighted to read that you found our outdoor barbecues “wonderful”.

We focus on providing the highest level of customer service and listen carefully to the voices of our guests, striving to cater to each and every individual request they may have. I am therefore delighted to read your satisfaction with our staff and that you found them to be very accommodating and attentive. I will be sure to pass your kind comments on to them

I would like to take this opportunity to make you aware of the benefits of our Former explora traveler benefit, a recognition program with benefits including rate discounts and room upgrades for repeat guests. More information can be found on our website.

We look forward to welcoming you back to explora soon.

Best,
Richard Sharman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

We were not sure we wanted to go to Easter Island, but as our flight from Tahiti to Santiago stopped there it seemed churlish not to get off. I was also rather intimidated by what I had read about the resort as I am not young and sporty, and enthusiastic reviews of long hikes leave those of us with 2 metal hips somewhat cold. However, our stay at Rapa Nui was a highlight of our 4 month Round the World trip. The island is amazing with wonderful scenery, and the Moai, and we had delightful weather. The guides were very good, tailoring trips to our limitations, but also ensuring that we saw all the major sights. Without exception, the guides were also extremely helpful if the walking got difficult.
The resort itself was outside of the main town, surrounded by farming country. As well as beautiful views, one lunchtime we got a display by "gauchos" in the sense that local farmers on horseback rounded up their cattle. There was also an abundance of bird life at the resort.
We were extremely comfortable in our room, the food was surprisingly sophisticated, and the bar produced a good pisco sour! It all added up to a wonderful few days.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank 476David
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
explorachile, Brand Manager at explora Rapa Nui - All Inclusive, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Traveler,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a very kind and positive review on your explora Rapa Nui experience. I am delighted to read that in spite of some initial doubts regarding Easter Island and the type of experience offered by explora, you had a great stay with us.

Thank you for highlighting the excursions offered at our explora Rapa Nui lodge and our team of guides. Our activities are designed to cater for all levels of ability. Our highly-trained guides positively encourage our guests to push themselves to new limits, while upholding the respective safety standards. We pride ourselves in making each explora experience active and memorable and our guests are never forced to undertake an activity they are not comfortable with. Our staff is largely composed of local Rapa Nui people and they take a lot of pride on their island, heritage and what they do. I will be sure to pass your kind comments on to our explora Rapa Nui team.

I would like to take this opportunity to make you aware of the benefits of our Former explora traveler benefit, a recognition program with benefits including rate discounts and room upgrades for repeat guests. More information can be found on our website.

We look forward to welcoming you back to explora soon.

Best,
Richard Sharman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

Amazing place with lots of activities to do. Perfect for those who enjoy walking, diving, horse riding, climbing volcanoes. The hotel offers great guides (the best) who accompany all these activities, and gives information about the history of the moai. Great food. For all ages, ideal for a family or group of friends.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Ana L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
explorachile, Brand Manager at explora Rapa Nui - All Inclusive, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Traveler,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review on your explora Rapa Nui experience. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay from beginning to end.

Thank you for highlighting the range of activities that we offer at our explora Rapa Nui lodge. We offer 18 different full-day and half-day explorations, perfect for travelers that enjoy being active and exploring unique and new surroundings. Our guides are all highly trained, and many of them are local to the island. I am delighted that you found them “the best” and will be sure to pass your kind comments on.

I would like to take this opportunity to make you aware of the benefits of our Former explora traveler benefit, a recognition program with benefits including rate discounts and room upgrades for repeat guests. More information can be found on our website.

We look forward to welcoming you back to explora soon.

Best,
Richard Sharman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

Our journey to Explora was outstanding in every respect! The excursions, the scenery and the food! It was a very restful and special experience in a beautiful isolated setting! I cannot receommend it highly enough!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank ColumbusGlobal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
explorachile, Brand Manager at explora Rapa Nui - All Inclusive, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Traveler,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review on your explora Rapa Nui experience. I am delighted to read that your journey to explora was outstanding in all aspects. Our locations are ideal for travelers that wish to experience a vacation that is different to any other in that although our guests participate in daily physical activities, they return home completely rested and revitalized.

I would like to take this opportunity to make you aware of the benefits of our Former explora traveler benefit, a recognition program with benefits including rate discounts and room upgrades for repeat guests. Further information can be found on our website.

We look forward to welcoming you back to explora soon.

Best,
Richard Sharman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

Great staff, with wonderful guides on two-a-day hikes. The food was quite good and the open bar great. Never feels crowded. Not great if you want to hang out in town, but if you are in Rapa Nui just to take in the wonderful environment with some sense of isolation from the crowd, this is the place.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
explorachile, Brand Manager at explora Rapa Nui - All Inclusive, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Traveler,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review on your explora Rapa Nui experience. I agree with your comment that explora Rapa Nui is ideal for travelers wishing to take in the wonderful environment and isolate themselves from large crowds. At explora, we combine nature and local cultures with relatively demanding physical activity, which is necessary if you want to see the best of what Chile has to offer. We are different in that we believe in providing our travelers with luxury in the remote and giving our guests an experience like no other.

I would like to take this opportunity to make you aware of the benefits of our Former explora traveler benefit, a recognition program with benefits including rate discounts and room upgrades for repeat guests. Further information can be found on our website.

We look forward to welcoming you back to explora soon.

Best,
Richard Sharman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

I'm sure Rapa Nui is on most people's bucket list and justifiably. Just as sensational as the island is the Explora lodge. The staff are friendly and efficient and the guides (all locals) are knowledgeable and personable. The highlight would have been the bbq lunch amongst the rocks on the south coast. Very highly recommended.

Room Tip: They are all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Trish B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
explorachile, Brand Manager at explora Rapa Nui - All Inclusive, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Traveler,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review on your explora Rapa Nui experience. I am delighted to read that you found the explora Rapa Nui lodge as “sensational” as Easter
Island itself.

Our team of guides are carefully selected and highly trained at our explora School of Guides. As you mentioned yourself, many are locals to the island therefore are able to give travelers valuable information and local knowledge on the culture and the island itself. Thank you for your kind comments regarding our staff. I will be sure to pass them on.

I would like to take this opportunity to make you aware of the benefits of our Former explora traveler benefit, a recognition program with benefits including rate discounts and room upgrades for repeat guests. Further information can be found on our website.

We look forward to welcoming you back to explora soon.

Best,
Richard Sharman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Easter Island hotels
5.0 mi away
Hotel Hangaroa Eco Village & Spa
4.5 mi away
Hotel Puku Vai
Hotel Puku Vai
#2 of 15 in Hanga Roa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hare Noi
Hare Noi
#3 of 15 in Hanga Roa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Taura'a Hotel
Taura'a Hotel
#4 of 15 in Hanga Roa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
4.8 mi away
Taha Tai Hotel
Taha Tai Hotel
#7 of 15 in Hanga Roa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hotel Altiplanico
Hotel Altiplanico
#8 of 15 in Hanga Roa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to explora Rapa Nui - All Inclusive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about explora Rapa Nui - All Inclusive

Property: explora Rapa Nui - All Inclusive
Address: Te Miro Oone S/N, Easter Island 2770000, Chile (Formerly explora Rapa Nui)
Phone Number:
Region: Chile > Easter Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Easter Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — explora Rapa Nui - All Inclusive 4.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our lodge was the first in South America to obtain LEED (Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design) certification from the United States Green Building Council.Our lodge, which opened in December 2007, was built on 9.6 Hectares (23.7 Acres) of land situated on a hill in the Te Miro Oone area, and overlooks the ocean. This is in south-eastern Rapa Nui, 8 kilometers (4.9 Miles) from Hanga Roa, the most populated part of the island.All of the 30 rooms, which extend to the north and south from a central building, have excellent ocean views. The lodge has welcoming indoor spaces which integrate aspects of the local culture.The design is intended to have minimal impact on its surroundings. The lodge is built on a site which is inappropriate for agricultural use and has no archaeological remains. The flora surrounding the lodge has been maintained intact. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your explora Rapa Nui - All Inclusive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Explora Rapa Nui - Posada De Mike Rapu Hotel Easter Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing